Centrisep EAPS 是一种可适应各种气候环境的自清洁型“安装即忘记 (fit-and-forget)”过滤系统,可防止直升机发动机受到污染。该设备采用了涡流分离器,可通过持续扫除进气中的污染物,并将其排出,以达到保护发动机的目的。该流程最大程度地减少意外的发动机杂物清除,从而降低了劳动力和相关成本。同时,发动机的可靠性、操作有效性、性能及安全性均得到提升。

有关更多问题、洽询及意见,请联系我们

问题 1:我需要多高的颗粒清除效率才能保护我的发动机?

现场经验(包括在伊拉克、阿富汗和巴黎达喀尔拉力赛获得的经验)已表明,大于 96% 的颗粒清除效率(利用 ISO 粗试验粉尘进行测试)足以防止发动机受到侵蚀破坏。请注意,Centrisep EAPS 的清除效率在使用期间保持不变。相比之下,浸油型入口屏障过滤器 (IBF) 的效率则主要取决于以下各种因素:
  • 使用后,必须正确地对 IBF 进行清洗和上油。如果现场没有机库设施,则可能很难做到。
  • 因为清洗后元件不可能回到初始状态,所以要对 IBF 限定最大清洗次数。
  • 如果旁通门运行,则 IBF 的过滤清除效率为零。

返回顶部

问题 2:如果我的发动机内带有入口颗粒分离器 (IPS),那么我需要 Centrisep EAPS 吗?

在为 NH90、Merlin 和阿帕奇直升机研发 RTM322 发动机的过程中,透博梅卡公司针对 IPS 系统对 Centrisep EAPS 设备进行了评估。他们研究了用于保护发动机第一个压气机盘——最容易发生侵蚀——的最佳系统。根据透博梅卡公司的报告1:“研究证实,相比采用传统 IPS 的发动机,由涡流分离器保护的发动机拥有更长的大修周期。”

机比采用 IPS 的发动机,采用涡流分离器的发动机的使用寿命将延长二至五倍(取决于使用的试验粉尘)。根据此测试,Centrisep EAPS 是 NH90 直升机的标准选择。

返回顶部

问题 3:直升机发动机中发现的粉尘都非常细。Centrisep EAPS 能分离超细粉尘吗?

是的。到达发动机入口的粉尘颗粒非常之细。转动旋翼的下洗流导致大颗粒发生扰动并在空气中传播;而更大的颗粒则很快沉降下来。只有极小的颗粒(通常为 1-150 微米)会运动到足够高的空中被主旋翼重新捕获并降至发动机进气口处。为验证 Centrisep EAPS 的性能,我们采用了一种称为“ISO 粗试验粉尘”的标准粉尘。现场采样——通过探头或袋式过滤器收集进入发动机的空气样本——情况已表明,现场的实际粉尘颗粒分布与 ISO 粗试验粉尘非常类似。百分之十二(按重量计)的粉尘尺寸在 0-5 微米之间,比红细胞更小!我们仍然能够分离相当大比例的上述微观粒子。为了解决直升机向遭受酸雨侵袭的雨林进行石灰喷洒的具体问题,我们甚至已利用石灰、以极高的效率对 Centrisep EAPS 进行了测试。

返回顶部

问题 4:在零能见度情况下,沙尘的浓度极高。是不是有可能使 Centrisep EAPS ‘饱和’,从而降低其效率?

不是。颇尔已利用高达 5 克/立方米空气的粉尘浓度对 Centrisep EAPS 进行了测试,证明该效率仍保持恒定(在实际的直升机飞行中,并不存在如此高的粉尘浓度)。在纳米比亚的沙漠飞行时,已记录的粉尘浓度最高为 2.5 克/立方米空气(美洲豹直升机有地效悬停二十分钟!)因此,Centrisep EAPS 在此类极端环境中仍能全面运转。

由英国国防部公布的国防标准 00-34 第 4 部分将 2 g/m3 的粉尘浓度定义为“代表与飞机、特殊直升机作业相关的最艰苦的环境。”

注意事项:浸油型 IBF 的制造商给出如下建议:“在沙尘量较大的环境中作业时,可能需要根据与环境的接触时间和环境的恶劣程度频繁地对过滤器组件进行维修。因此,应在运行限制范围内,最大程度地减少或避免进入可能导致“零能见度”的环境中进行任何作业。”

返回顶部

问题 5:需多久清洁一次 Centrisep EAPS?

“安装即忘记 (fit and forget)”型 Centrisep EAPS DOES 无需清洁。污染物不断被扫出,这意味着系统具有“无限的容尘能力”。

返回顶部

问题 6:Centrisep EAPS 提供异物损坏 (FOD) 保护吗?

提供。Centrisep EAPS 提供强大的 发动机 FOD 保护。(链接至 FOD 页面)。该设备满足 FAR 27 及 FAR29 鸟撞要求。对于其他空气过滤系统,经常安装和拆卸滤芯可能造成额外的 FOD 危害。

返回顶部

问题 7:为什么 Centrisep EAPS 没有装备选旁通系统?

Centrisep EAPS 不会发生堵塞,因此无需旁通系统和警示灯。请注意,在其他空气过滤系统中,一旦旁通门开启,就失去了防风沙保护。

返回顶部

问题 8:Centrisep EAPS 会造成什么样的功率损失?

每台直升机的功率损失都有很大不同。在某些直升机上,Centrisep EAPS 实际上增加了直升机的可用功率。这是因为,相比基本的直升机发动机进气系统,压缩机入口平面的气流和气压分布得到改善。在其他直升机上,由于安装限制,因压降和扫气系统产生的功率损失可能非常之高。然而,相比因发动机过早受到侵蚀而导致的功率损耗,这种损失仍然很小,并且该设备拥有恒定的压降,这样飞行员就可以准确把握预计的性能状况。相比基本的直升机进气系统,在最新的‘先进’Centrisep 设计上,通常无法检测出悬停时的功率损失。前飞时功率损失可能更为明显,可能会导致油耗略有增加。

返回顶部

问题 9:Centrisep EAPS 会影响发动机 TOT 吗?

涡轮机出口温度 (TOT) 与压降 (DP) 成正比。每个过滤系统均有压降 (DP)。有一些恒定,有一些则可变。Centrisep EAPS 设计拥有恒定的 DP,这样飞行员就可以准确把握预计的性能状况。相比之下,屏障过滤器的 DP 则可变。过滤器发生阻塞时,压降上升,从而导致 TOT 增加。

返回顶部

问题 10:我何时需要激活排沙系统?

排沙系统(无论包含 P2 引气引射射器还是电排沙扇)必须呈“开启 (ON)”状态,以便 Centrisep EAPS 发挥其高效性。这就意味着,排沙系统必须在直升机进入多尘环境之前已处于通电状态。如果启动过晚,系统的效率会急剧下降。

在沙漠环境中,即使处于非常高的高度,也可能会遇到粉尘。在此类环境中,我们建议始终开启排沙系统。

下大雨时也需要排沙,因为 Centrisep EAPS 可将一定比例的雨水分离,以防止发动机熄火。

在海洋环境中,始终需要排沙。设备可将大量盐分离,以防止发动机产生飞行污垢及造成功率损失。

值得一提的是,冰雪在进入涡旋管前已被捕获,因此在此类环境中无需排沙风扇。

返回顶部

问题 11:装有 Centrisep EAPS 的飞机在海洋环境中运行时,应多久清洗一次发动机?

答:尽管 Centrisep EAPS 可以清除相当比例的盐成分,但仍然有必要在每日结束海洋作业后对发动机进行冲洗。为方便冲洗,我们的部分 Centrisep EAPS 带有内置的发动机清洗连接器。

返回顶部

问题 12:相比 Centrisep EAPS,安装入口屏障过滤器 (IBF) 时的气流情况更好?

不是,安装 Centrisep EAPS 时的气流情况更好。涡旋管的涡流运动可确保流入发动机进气口的气流均匀、稳定。这可以最大限度地减少热气体吸入 (HGI) 造成的任何不利影响 - 链接至 HGI 页面。

页首 

概述
洁净空气系统-对直升机发动机的终极保护
洁净空气系统-对直升机发动机的终极保护
为什么选择洁净空气系统?
为什么选择洁净空气系统?
洁净空气系统为直升机发动机提供终极保护
应用
应用
50 多种个不同设计已通过认证
洁净空气系统工作原理
它如何工作?
颇尔洁净空气系统培训计划
威胁防护
威胁防护
洁净空气系统保护直升机发动机不受到外来物威胁
设计和测试
设计和测试
颇尔的设计和工程专业知识
洁净空气系统服务
洁净空气系统修理和支援服务
维护保养指南和全球联系方式

The Centrisep EAPS is an all-weather, self-cleaning, fit-and-forget filtration system that protects helicopter engines against contaminants. It uses vortex separators to provide engine protection by continuously scavenging the contaminants from inlet air and expelling them overboard. This process minimizes unscheduled engine removals, keeping labor and associated costs down. It also results in greater engine reliability, increased operational availability, enhanced performance, and safer operation.

For further questions, queries, and comments, please contact us.

Q1: What particulate removal efficiency do I need to protect my engine?

Field experience, including operations in Iraq, Afghanistan and the Paris-Dakar rally, has shown that a particulate removal efficiency of greater than 96% (tested with ISO Coarse Test Dust) is more than adequate to protect the engine from erosion damage. Note that the Centrisep EAPS removal efficiency remains constant throughout its life. In contrast, the efficiency of oil wetted inlet barrier filters (IBFs) is critically dependant on a number of factors:
  • The IBF must be correctly cleaned and oiled after use. This can be difficult in the field if hangar facilities are not available.
  • IBFs are given a maximum number of cleanings because it is not possible to return the element to the original state after cleaning.
  • If a bypass door is operated, the filtration removal efficiency of the IBF is zero.

Top

Q2: Do I need a Centrisep EAPS if I have an inlet particle separator (IPS) within the engine?

During the development of the RTM322 engine for the NH90, Merlin, and Apache helicopters, Turbomeca evaluated a Centrisep EAPS unit against the IPS system. They investigated the best system for protecting the engine's first compressor wheel, which is the one most prone to erosion. According to the Turbomeca report1: "Research has confirmed that engines protected by Vortex Separators have longer overhaul lives than those with a conventional IPS."

The engine life increase with a vortex separator compared to an IPS was two to five times, depending on the test dust used. Based on this testing, the Centrisep EAPS is the standard option on the NH90 helicopter.

Top

Q3: The dust found in a helicopter engine is extremely fine. Can extremely fine dust be separated with a Centrisep® EAPS?

Yes. The dust particles that reach an engine intake are very fine. Large particles become disturbed and airborne by the turning rotor's downwash; these larger types of particles settle very quickly. Only the very small particles - typically from 1-150 microns - travel high enough in the air to be re-captured by the main rotor and fall on the engine intake. To validate the performances of our Centrisep EAPS, we use a standard dust called "ISO Coarse Test Dust". Field sampling, where samples of the air entering the engine were collected by means of a probe, or bag filters, has shown that the particle distribution of the actual dust in the field was very similar to ISO Coarse Test Dust. Twelve percent of the weight of this dust ranges from 0-5 µm, which is smaller than a red blood cell! We are still able to separate a significant percentage of these microscopic particles. And to address the specific problems of lime spraying by helicopters on forests suffering from acid rain, we have even tested the Centrisep EAPS with lime, with remarkable efficiencies.

Top

Q4: In brownout conditions, the concentration of sand and dust is extremely high. Is it likely to 'saturate' the Centrisep EAPS, thus reducing its efficiency?

No. Pall has tested the Centrisep EAPS with dust concentrations of up to five grams per cubic meter of air, proving that the efficiency remains constant. (Such a high dust concentration simply does not exist in real helicopter operation). During desert operations in Namibia, dust concentrations of up to 2.5 grams per cubic meter of air have been recorded, but this was with a Puma helicopter, hovering in ground effect, for twenty minutes! So the Centrisep EAPS remains fully operational in these extreme conditions.

Defence Standard 00-34 Part 4 published by the UK Ministry of Defence defines a dust concentration of 2 g/m3 as "representative of the most arduous conditions associated with aircraft, particularly helicopters, operations."

Note: The manufacturers of oil wetted IBFs advise the following "When operating in an environment of high sand and dust levels, frequent servicing of the filter assembly may be required based on the time exposure and severity of the environment. Any operations in an environment that can result in "brownout" conditions should therefore be minimized or avoided to the maximum extent possible within the constraints of the operation."

Top

Q5: How often does a Centrisep EAPS need to be cleaned?

The fit and forget Centrisep EAPS DOES NOT require cleaning. Contaminants are continuously scavenged overboard which means that the system has an 'unlimited dirt holding capacity'.

Top

Q6: Does the Centrisep EAPS provide foreign object damage (FOD) protection?

Yes. The Centrisep EAPS offers formidable protection against engine FOD. (link to FOD page). It is qualified against FAR 27 and FAR29 bird strike requirements. For alternative air filter systems, recurrent fitting and removal of filter elements could create additional FOD hazards.

Top

Q7: Why isn't the Centrisep EAPS fitted with a bypass system as a back up?

The Centrisep EAPS does not become blocked and therefore has no requirement for a bypass system and warning lights. Note that on alternative air filter systems when the bypass door is open, there is NO PROTECTION against sand and dust.

Top

Q8: What sort of power penalties does the Centrisep EAPS create?

Power penalties vary considerably from one helicopter to another. On some helicopters, Centrisep EAPSs actually increase the amount of available power for the helicopter. This is due to the fact that the air flow and pressure distribution at the compressor entry plane is improved compared to basic helicopter engine intakes. On other helicopters, the power penalty resulting from the pressure drop and the scavenge system can be fairly high because of installation constraints. However, the penalty is still small when compared to the power loss due to early engine erosion and the pressure drop is constant so the pilot knows what performance to expect. In contrast to basic helicopter intake systems, the loss of power typically cannot be detected in hover on the latest 'state-of-the-art' Centrisep designs. The penalty may be more noticeable in forward flight, perhaps resulting in a slight increase in fuel consumption.

Top

Q9: Does the Centrisep EAPS impact the engine TOT?

The turbine outlet temperature (TOT) is proportional to pressure drop (DP). Every filter system has a pressure drop (DP). Some are constant, some are variable. Centrisep EAPS designs have a constant DP so the pilot knows what performance to expect. In contrast, barrier filters have a variable DP. The pressure drop increases as the filter becomes blocked and hence the TOT increases.

Top

Q10: When do I need to activate the scavenge system?

The scavenge system, whether it involves P2 air activated ejectors or electrical fans, must be ON for the Centrisep EAPS to be efficient. This means that it is extremely important that the scavenge system is energized before the helicopter encounters dusty conditions. If activated too late, the efficiency of the system drops dramatically.

In desert environments, dust can be encountered at extremely high altitudes. In these conditions, we recommend that the scavenge system be on at all times.

Scavenge is also required under heavy rain, as a fair proportion of the rain can be separated by the Centrisep EAPS to prevent engine flame out.

Scavenge is required at all times in a marine environment. A good amount of the salt can be separated to prevent engine fouling in flight and the resulting loss of power.

It should be noted that ice and snow are arrested before they get into the vortex tube, so the scavenge fan is not required in these conditions.

Top

Q11: When I operate in a marine environment with Centrisep EAPS, how often should I flush my engine?

A: Although the Centrisep EAPS removes a fair proportion of the salt, daily flushing of the engine after marine operation is still desirable. To facilitate flushing operations, some of our Centrisep EAPSs feature built-in engine-wash connectors.

Top

Q12: Is the air flow better with an inlet barrier filter (IBF) than with a Centrisep EAPS?

No, the air flow is better with the Centrisep EAPS. The swirling motion of the vortex tubes results in uniform, stable air flow into the engine intake. This minimizes any detrimental effects of hot gas ingestion (HGI) - link to HGI page.

Top 

Overview
<em>PUREair</em> - The Ultimate in Helicopter Engine Protection
PUREair - The Ultimate in Helicopter Engine Protection
Why PUREair?
Why Choose <em>PUREair</em>?
PUREair offers the ultimate in helicopter engine protection
Applications
Applications
More than fifty different designs have been certified
How Does PUREair Work?
How Does it Work?
Pall PUREair training program
Threat Protection
Threat Protection
PUREair protects helicopter engines from external threats
Design and Testing
Design and Testing
Pall's design and engineering expertise
PUREair Services
<em>PUREair</em> - Repairs and Support Services
Maintenance guidelines and global contact details