生物制药

生物工艺愿景 - 问题 1 - 2011 年 4 月



区域版本 (PDF):

市场趋势

流体输送过程中减少风险的无菌断开器

一次性生物工艺系统的趋势使得对一次性组件的需求不断增加。其中一个例子就是对安全断管装置的需求,这种装置可消除夹紧及切割相关的风险、保持产品的完整性、提高了操作人员的安全性以及减少产品浪费。管道分离前后,应保持无菌流体路径的完整性。

行业要求对一系列应用进行无菌和生物负载管理,这些应用包括培养基制备、生物反应器之间的产品转移、缓冲液制备、废物清除以及产品中间体或散装产品的保存。

断开设备应确保流动路径在断开后无法重开或重连,从而进一步确保产品的完整性。

断开应该能通过几个简单的步骤快速实现,单独的流体路径应全程保持无菌或密封。工艺应与一次性或混合系统兼容。其中一个例子是将产品装入生物容器,随后产品在容器中冻结,再然后产品又返回受控环境,以便进行进一步加工。

Kleenpak 无菌断开器的推出是无菌断开器领域的创新解决方案,适用于任意工作环境,代表着一次性技术在无菌工艺中领域中的一次重大改进。该装置可用于工艺的所有阶段,尤其对于上游及制剂和灌装应用特别有价值,在这些应用中,易用性和无菌保证至关重要。

更多信息

产品新闻

简化工艺开发

微尺度生物工艺开发向前迈进了一大步。现在,采用方便的一次性结构的全新 Micro-24 微型生物反应器系统可为早阶段工艺开发提供真正的高吞吐能力。克隆选择、介质优化和设计空间定义。由于可以对每个微型生物反应器进行独立控制,Micro-24 系统的结果可轻松扩展到较大的生物反应器结构,大大降低了工艺开发时间。整个系统的设计便于在标准的实验室环境中实现易用性和简单部署。

特性:

  • 一次性 24 孔膜包可实高通量和快速转向
  • 对每孔温度、pH 值和溶解氧进行独立控制
  • 台式结构,可轻松部署到实验室环境中
  • 膜包可实现微生物或哺乳动物细胞培养应用

更多信息

行业首个单通 TFF 技术

颇尔的新型 Cadence 单通 TFF 系统可消除在传统切向流过滤中对于再循环回路的需要,从而有效实现流程简化。该系统可实现直流操作,系统截留量大幅减少,简化了下游工艺。



 

Cadence 单通 TFF 系统可:

  • 与其他下游工艺步骤直接耦合
  • 提高回收能力 (> 98 %)
  • 加工剪切敏感型产品
  • 提高能力、降低成本
  • 消除对昂贵储罐的需要
  • 降低系统持液体积

Cadence 组件能够与颇尔久经验证并采用 Delta 再生纤维素膜的 T 系列膜包相集成,提供高流量、高选择性和低蛋白结合特性等优点。

更多信息

应用

层析吸附剂筛选服务

现在,您可以为您的净化需求加快层析工艺的开发。颇尔的层析吸附剂筛选服务将 96 孔滤板与任意吸附剂配合使用,并结合有快速分析功能。这种保密服务可为您的每个单独应用提供快速、安全的最佳层析吸附剂测定。所有服务均包括带有项目总结详细数据的综合报告。

颇尔层析吸附剂筛选服务可提供:

  • 生物工艺的高通量吸附剂筛选
  • 个人选择的吸附剂类型
  • 两天内完成筛选
  • 有限样品消耗综合报告

有关更多信息,请发送电子邮件至 bpvision@pall.com

访谈

质量源于设计 (QbD)

Richard Francis 在工艺开发和制造方面拥有 27 年多的经验,并曾参与许多重大商业生物制药产品的开发。Richard 是 Francis Biopharma——一家咨询公司——的董事,该公司专注于促进生物医药产品的研发,在“质量源于设计”方面的特定专长。

什么是“质量源于设计”

QbD 是一种开发和深化工艺和产品知识的系统方法。该方法可方便强大的商业生产工艺操作,持续提供所需的优质产品。

为什么 QbD 很重要?

知识是重要的可交付成果。所获得的知识可能来自成百上千次小规模实验,这些实验为 DOE(实验设计)数据处理软件提供了数据。此类知识可使制药工艺不断得到改进,可以被视为是设计空间,在这种空间中,当工艺在预定义的工艺条件下进行时,会产生具有所需属性的产品。

QbD 可用于哪些阶段?

QbD 可用于工艺开发的所有阶段。它使企业可以开发医药产品,以向监管机构和客户展示工艺知识。它可以确保这些产品符合质量规范,从而实现临床应用价值。定义产品特性之后,工艺开发可专注于数据生成,以加深对产品/工艺的理解。它将“工艺即产品”的旧模式变为“工艺知识即产品”的新模式。

实施 QbD 的重要工具是什么?

QbD 要求集中对有关质量属性工艺参数的影响进行评价。知识的产生(而非数据生成)是关键的驱动因素。QbD 要求通过可以测量定义的产品属性的分析方法合理利用按比例缩小的工艺模型。在发展基于对工艺的理解的理性知识的过程中,需考虑并审核所有工艺数据。

在今后 5 年,QbD 将吸收哪些新内容?

我希望 QbD 成为产生知识的源地——产生工艺和产品知识的综合中心,以支持整个产品生命周期。我希望公司积极进取,真正了解他们准备用于制造产品的工艺,这些产品将要向市场发售,并将为他们未来的成功打下基础。

有关本通讯内任何文章的更多信息,或者如需对未来版的“生物工艺愿景”的主题提出意见,请与我们联系

Bioprocess Vision - Issue 1 - April 2011



Regional Versions (PDFs):

Market Trends

Sterile Disconnectors for Risk Reduction During Fluid Transfer

The trend towards single-use systems for bioprocessing creates an increasing demand for single-use components. One example is the need for a secure tubing disconnection mechanism that removes the risks associated with clamping and cutting, preserves product integrity, improves operator safety, and reduces product waste. It should maintain the integrity of sterile fluid paths before and after separation of tubing.

Industry is asking for sterility and bioburden management around a range of applications including media preparation, product transfer between bioreactors, buffer preparation, waste removal, and holding of product intermediates or bulk product.

A disconnection device should ensure that flow paths cannot be reopened or reconnected following disconnection, thus further securing product integrity.

Disconnection should be able to be performed in a few simple steps in a quick manner, and sterility or containment of the separate fluid paths should be maintained throughout. The process should be compatible with single-use or hybrid systems. One example is the filling of a product into a biocontainer, where it is then frozen and later returned to a controlled environment for further processing.

The launch of the Kleenpak™ Sterile Disconnector as an innovative solution for sterile disconnection, even in uncontrolled environments, represents a major improvement to single-use technology in aseptic processing. It can be used at all stages of the process, but will be particularly valuable in upstream and formulation & filling, where both ease of use and sterility assurance are critical.

More information.

Product News

Process Development Simplified

Microscale bioprocess development makes a leap forward. Now, in a convenient, disposable format, the new Micro-24 MicroReactor system offers true high-throughput capability for early stage process development: clone selection, media optimization, and design space definition. With independent control of each microreactor, Micro-24 system results are easily scalable to larger bioreactor formats, dramatically decreasing process development time. The entire system is designed for ease-of-use and simple deployment in standard laboratory environments.

Features:

  • Disposable 24 well cassettes for high throughput and rapid turn-around
  • Independent control of temperature, pH, and dissolved oxygen in each well
  • Benchtop footprint for easy deployment into laboratory environments
  • Cassettes for microbial or mammalian cell culture applications

More information.

Industry's First Single-Pass TFF Technology

Pall’s new Cadence™ single-pass TFF system eliminates the need for a recirculation loop in conventional tangential flow filtration for process simplification. It enables direct flow operation with a substantial reduction in system holdup volume in order to streamline downstream processing.



 

Cadence single-pass TFF systems enable:

  • Direct coupling with other DSP process steps
  • Improved recovery capabilities (> 98 %)
  • Processing of shear-sensitive products
  • Increased capacity at reduced costs
  • Elimination of costly storage tanks
  • Reduced system hold-up volume

Cadence modules incorporate Pall’s proven T-Series cassettes with Delta regenerated cellulose membrane, which provides high flux, high selectivity, and low protein binding characteristics.

More information.

Application

Chromatography Sorbent Screening Services

Now you can accelerate the development of chromatography processes for your purification needs. Pall's Chromatography Sorbent Screening Services use 96 well filter plates with any choice of sorbent chemistries in combination with fast analytics. This Confidential service provides you with fast and secure determination of the best chromatography sorbent for each individual application. All services include a comprehensive report with detailed data to summarize the project.

Pall Chromatography Sorbent Screening Services provide:

  • High-throughput sorbent screening for bioprocessing
  • Individual choice of sorbent chemistries
  • Screening completed in two days
  • Limited sample consumption Comprehensive report

For more information email bpvision@pall.com.

Interview

Quality by Design (QbD)

Richard Francis has over 27 years experience in process development and manufacturing and has been involved in the development of many significant commercial biopharmaceutical products. Richard is Director of Francis Biopharma, a consulting company focused on facilitating biopharmaceutical product development, with specific expertise in quality by design.

What is Quality by Design

QbD is a systematic approach to the development and maturing of process and product knowledge. It facilitates the operation of a robust commercial manufacturing process consistently delivering the required quality product.

Why is QbD Important?

Knowledge is the critical deliverable. It might be derived, for example, from hundreds of small scale experiments feeding DoE (Design of Experiments) data crunching software. Such knowledge can lead to a continual improvement of pharmaceutical processes and can be considered as the design space, in which a process when operated to pre-defined process conditions will yield a product with the required attributes.

Where Can QbD be Applied?

QbD can be applied throughout all stages of process development. It allows companies developing pharmaceutical products to demonstrate process knowledge to regulatory agencies and customers. It assures these products meet quality specifications and hence clinical utility. After definition of the product characteristics, process development can focus on data generation for in depth product / process understanding. It takes the old paradigm of "the process is the product" to "the process knowledge is the product".

What Tools are Important for Implementing QbD?

QbD asks for an intensive evaluation of the effects of the process parameters on quality attributes. Knowledge generation instead of data generation is the key driver. QbD requires a rational utilization of scale down process models with analytical methods capable of measuring the defined product attributes. All process data need to be considered and reviewed in the development of a rational knowledge based understanding of the process.

What Will be the Uptake of QbD Within the Next 5 Years?

I hope that QbD becomes the hub of process knowledge generation, an integrated effort to generate process and product knowledge to support the complete product lifecycle. I hope that companies would have a passion to actually understand the processes they intend to use to manufacture the products they intend to commercialize and base their future success upon.

For further information on any of the articles within this newsletter, or to suggest topics for future editions of BioProcess Vision please contact us