生物制药

生物工艺愿景 - 第 2 期 - 2011 年 10 月

区域版本 (PDF):

市场趋势

新型一次性混合器提高了工艺效率

在过去的几年中,一次性产品市场从简单的液体过滤和容器应用向日益复杂的工艺操作发展。一次性混合应用领域在这方面进步明显,得到广泛报道。

从上游培养基、下游缓冲液的制备,到注入前的最后配制,制造过程全程采用一次性混合来执行各项操作。

与其它一次性技术一样,实施一次性混合显著节省了清洁和清洁验证成本,为溶液制备提供了更快、更灵活的方法,并通过加强密封安全改进了风险管理,避免了交叉污染。

颇尔 Allegro 200 升一次性混合器应根据经认证的工程原则设计一次性混合设备,以提供高效、稳定的混合性能。由于操作员与这些类型系统的交互增强,因此它的设计还应尽可能智能化(应当能轻松、迅速地安装和拆除混合器的一次性组件)。

新型 颇尔 Allegro 200 升一次性混合器采用与现有 200 升生物容器和箱柜产品相同的设计原理和薄膜材料,可确保高度的易用性和材料一致性,从而有效减少验证要求。机械耦合的低剪切斜叶叶轮可在制剂等关键应用中提供出色的混合性能。

有关更多信息:Allegro™ 200 升一次性混合器

产品新闻

先进的生长培养基过滤

用于细胞培养或无菌工艺验证的生长培养基可能会受到支原体——能够穿透 0.2 微米额定除菌级过滤器的细胞壁自由菌——的污染。为了最大程度降低这些液体的污染风险,颇尔建议使用经验证可用于清除缺陷短波单胞菌和莱氏衣原体等支原体的 0.1 微米额定除菌级过滤器。

Fluorodyne® EX EDT 过滤器
这些创新的除菌过滤器在双层的 0.1 微米 PVDF 薄膜上整合了高度不对称的上游 PES 预过滤层。它们具有 254 毫米(10英寸)亚组装形式的“覆盖褶层”独特结构,采用小核设计使每个滤芯具有最高效的过滤区域。创新功能的这种滤材组合为中高污浊的培养基提供了最佳过滤性能,并且能将多级过滤系统的规模减小到单级过滤系统。除了具备工艺经济性的优势,这些功能还能将除菌过滤器引入一次性系统中。

Fluorodyne II DJL 过滤器
透过 0.2 微米/0.1 微米的双层 PVDF 薄膜,这些除菌级过滤器能提供最高的流速和充分的容量,非常适合用于低污浊成分限定生长培养基。

有关更多信息:除菌过滤和微生物负载控制

GMP 应用的层析系统

PKP层析系统PKP 层析系统设计用于在灵活的 GMP 操作环境中提供最佳性能,这些系统可提供各种各样的流量范围,能确保最大的再现性和产量。对于产品质量和吞吐量为首要重点的中试规模,系统的多功能性至关重要。PKP 层析系统可促进小规模生产中的传统层析或膜层析,同时非常适合工艺优化研究。




特性:
  • 由 3 个系统组成的系列包罗 1-150 升/时的流量范围
  • 模块化系统设计
  • 不锈钢结构符合 cGMP 规范
  • 最佳的原位清洗 (CIP) 设计
  • 软件自动化符合 21 CFR 第 11 部分的规范
  • 颇尔 PKP 和 PK 层析系统涵盖 1-4000 升/时的流量范围,确保了所有生物层析应用稳定的操作和灵活性。

有关更多信息:PKP 层析系统

中试级层析柱

颇尔的 Resolute FM 柱颇尔的 Resolute FM 柱专门为从研发到小规模 GMP 生产的纯化工艺而设计。这些柱的多个创新功能都能确保易用性、最佳装填和性能。独特的倾斜机构可促进排除空气并消除人工操作调节器的麻烦,以提高安全性。






特性:
  • 独特的恒定压缩装柱调节器密封装置简化了操作
  • 三种柱尺寸:100、140 和 200 毫米直径
  • 能在层析柱灌装前轻松排出空气
  • 层析柱可以在不将装柱器拆离柱体的情况下进行装填
  • 装填压缩系数为 x1.2cf

Resolute FM 柱是较大的 Resolute DM/DP 柱(280-2000 毫米)的补充它们与 PKP 或 PK 层析系统平台结合,可为生物层析应用提供综合解决方案。

有关更多信息:Resolute® FM 层析柱

应用

颇尔科学与实验室服务 (SLS) 部门可为药物开发以及临床与生产制造运营中所使用的 Allegro 一次性处理系统提供技术和验证支持。服务包括研究设计和执行,含支持用于以下内容的监管意见书的协议和报告:

  • 溶出物/析出物测试(包括NVR、FTIR、TOC、GC/MS、LC/UV/MS/MS 和 ICP/MS)
  • 除菌过滤器验证
  • 过滤器和系统兼容性
  • 运输研究
  • 颗粒与内毒素分析
  • 支原体和噬菌体控制试验 

Allegro 一次性系统验证服务所有试验均遵照行业最佳实践进行,其中包括注射药物协会 (PDA) 和生物工艺系统联合会 (BPSA) 的建议。由科学家和工程师组成的全球性团队能在本地快速响应您的 GMP 验证需求。

有关更多信息:一次性系统的验证





访谈

注射用水 (WFI) 和工艺流体注入 Allegro 生物容器

Hameln pharmaceuticals gmbh 是注射剂的签约制造商。该公司提供注射用水 (WFI) 和其他多种流体产品,所有产品均根据 cGMP 的规范制备。这些产品达到高 QA 标准,适合用于生物制药开发和生产。所有液体封装在颇尔 Allegro 一次性系统中配送。

哪些客户使用袋装的注射用水 (WFI) 和缓冲液?
主要是对高质量的溶液有需要,但可能没有技术、设备、能力或时间依照 cGMP 的规范来生产 WFI 或缓冲液的生物制药公司。这些公司发现使用一次性用品的好处众多:容易使用、系统设计非常灵活、快速到货等——这些可能都与各个项目的需求有关。这些公司发现,一次性系统能最大程度降低交叉污染风险,并且减少了对于使用后清洁和清洁验证的需要。因此,一次性系统也能显著降低成本。

您对您的设备有哪些要求?
我们对自身与我们的供应商提出了一样的质量要求。关键的一个方面就是遵守法规要求,在 FDA 或 ANVISA(巴西国家卫生监督局)等管理机构进行的多次审查中,我们多次证明了我们自己。全面的验证数据同样非常重要。

您选中颇尔的原因是什么?
颇尔的产品质量非常契合我们的要求。Allegro 一次性系统的设计灵活,广泛应用相同的膜材料带来了重要的可扩展效益。Kleenpak 无菌连接器和 Kleenpak 无菌断开器是在产品转运过程中保持无菌状态的理想选择。

定制解决方案方面如何?
这是我们的常规性工作:我们的大部分客户需要的是个性化的解决方案,这不是现成的产品所能提供的。颇尔的 Allegro 理念提供了此类设计的多功能性和范畴,我们的服务还包括定制的稳定性研究以及客户的袋装储存。

您对未来有何期望?
生物制药市场呈发展之势,促使对高品质的特殊工艺方案的需求不断增加。我们要根据行业的发展来进行调整:凭借我们在 cGMP 合规生产以及无菌液体灌装方面的丰富经验,对我们的服务范围进行正常地扩展。我们期待与颇尔更进一步成功合作!

有关更多信息:bpvision@pall.com

网络集锦

生物制药网络讲座系列

我们很高兴举行系列网络讲座,这些讲座的目的是介绍行业的最新趋势,提供新技术的最新信息。由生物制药行业的领导者和专家主讲。您错过了一堂实时网络讲座?没关系,所有的颇尔生物制药网络讲座都可以按需提供。最新的网络讲座直播目录见右侧。

更多信息和注册事宜请访问 www.pall.com/biopharmwebinars

生物制药网络讲座系列(当前主题)

  • 来自一次性系统的溶出物∕析出物测定:颇尔生命科学如何帮助用户花费最少的试验时间和资金并同时满足法规要求
  • 一次性系统伽马辐照除菌:颇尔生命科学如何保证辐照系统无菌

 其他网络讲座的主题将在举行实时讲座前几个星期在网上公布。如果您对今后的网络讲座主题有任何建议,请发送电子邮件至 bpvision@pall.com

即将开始的网络讲座主题包括:

  • 除菌级过滤器的灭菌后/使用前
  • 完整性检测:法规要求、技术问题和颇尔建议
  • Mustang® 膜层析——针对快速清除污染物的灵活解决方案
  • 蛋白质的稳定性与聚合——改进配方的指引

网络讲座系列——近期举行的网络讲座

一次性系统伽马辐照除菌:颇尔生命科学如何保证辐照系统无菌
在医疗器械和保健品行业,伽马辐照除菌已有逾 25 年的历史。然而,对于许多生物制药行业的人士而言,伽马辐照是一种“全新”的除菌方法,与湿热除菌和验证程序有着很大不同。随着一次性系统越来越多地被应用于关键的无菌产品制造工艺中,用户有必要清楚地了解设计用于确保药品无菌的程序和质量体系。

此网络讲座介绍了伽马辐照,以及如何根据一致的行业标准验证灭菌以遵守 cGMP 的无菌作业要求。讲座的主题涵盖系统评估、确定生物负载水平、最低剂量验证、无菌保证水平、辐照器设计、剂量定量和分布图、负载密度效应、剂量与无菌审查。

有关更多信息:生物制药网络讲座系列

有关本通讯内任何文章的更多信息,或者如需对未来版的“生物工艺愿景”的主题提出意见,请与我们联系

Bioprocess Vision - Issue 2 - October 2011

Regional Versions (PDFs):

Market Trends

New Single-Use Mixer Improves Process Efficiency

The single-use market has developed over the last few years from simple liquid filtration and containment applications to progressively more complex process operations. One area where such progress has been widely reported is in the applications of single-use mixing.

Single-use mixing is used throughout manufacturing processes to perform a variety of operations from preparation of upstream media and downstream buffers, to final formulation prior to filling.

As with other single-use technologies, implementing single-use mixing provides significant savings relative to cleaning and cleaning validation costs, as well as providing faster, more flexible methods for solution preparation and improved risk management through added safety for containment and removing risks of cross-contamination.

Pall Allegro 200 L single-use mixerA single-use mixing device should be designed based on proven engineering principles to provide efficient, robust mixing performance. It should also be designed to be user-friendly, due to the increased interaction of operators with these types of systems (installation and removal of the single-use component of the mixers needs to be easy and quick).

The new Pall Allegro 200 L single-use mixer incorporates the same design principles and film material as our existing 200 L biocontainer and tote products, providing extreme ease-of-use and materials consistency for reduced validation requirements. The mechanically coupled low shear pitched blade impeller provides exceptional mixing performance in critical applications, such as formulation.

For further information: Allegro™ 200 L Single-Use Mixer

Product News

Advanced Filtration for Growth Media

Growth media used in cell culture or for aseptic process validation may be susceptible to contamination with mycoplasma - cell-wall free bacteria capable of penetrating 0.2 micron (μm) rated sterilizing grade filters. To minimize the risk of contamination of these fluids, Pall recommends 0.1 μm rated sterilizing grade filters validated for removal of both Brevundimonas diminuta bacteria and mycoplasma such as Acholeplasma laidlawii.

Fluorodyne® EX EDT Filters
These innovative sterilizing-grade filters incorporate a highly asymmetric upstream PES pre-filtration layer over dual 0.1 μm PVDF membrane layers. They feature a unique “laid-over pleat” construction in 254 mm (10 in.) sub-assembly formats, with a narrow core design for the highest effective filtration area per device. This combination of innovative features allows for optimal filtration performance for moderate to high fouling complex culture media, and can enable the downsizing of multi-stage filter systems to single stage operations. In addition to enabling process economical advantages these features facilitate the introduction of these sterilizing-grade filters into single-use systems.

Fluorodyne II DJL Filters
With a 0.2 μm/0.1 μm dual PVDF membrane layers, these sterilizing-grade filters offer the highest flow rates and good capacity - well suited for low-fouling, defined growth media.

For further information: Sterile Filtration and Bioburden Control

Chromatography Systems for GMP Applications

PKP Chromatography SystemsDesigned for optimum performance in a flexible GMP operating environment, the PKP Chromatography Systems are offered in a broad flow range that ensures maximum reproducibility and yield. System versatility is key at pilot scale, when product quality and throughput are top priorities. PKP Chromatography Systems facilitate either conventional or membrane chromatography in small-scale production, as well as being highly suitable for process optimization studies.




Features:
  • Family of 3 systems encompassing a flow range of 1-150 L/h
  • Modular system design
  • Stainless steel construction is cGMP compliant
  • Optimized clean-in-place CIP design
  • 21 CFR Part 11 compliant software automation
  • The Pall PKP and PK Chromatography Systems cover a flow range of 1-4000 L/h, ensuring robust operation and flexibility for all biochromatography applications.

For further information: PKP Chromatography Systems

Chromatography Columns for Pilot Scale

Pall’s Resolute FM columnsPall’s Resolute FM columns are specifically designed for purification processes from development to small-scale GMP production. Several innovative features of these columns ensure ease-of-use combined with optimal packing and performance. A unique tilt mechanism facilitates air removal and eliminates manual handling of the adjuster for improved safety.






Features:
  • Unique constant compression adjuster seal simplifies operation
  • Three column sizes: 100, 140 and 200 mm diameter
  • Easy air removal prior to column packing
  • Adjuster enables packing without removal from the column
  • Packing compression factor to x1.2cf

Resolute FM columns complement larger Resolute DM/DP columns (280-2000 mm). In combination with the PKP or PK Chromatography system platform, they provide comprehensive solutions for biochromatography applications.

For further information: Resolute® FM Chromatography Columns

Application

The Pall Scientific and Laboratories Services (SLS) department provides technical and validation support for Allegro single-use processing systems used in drug development as well as clinical and production manufacturing operations. Services include study design and execution, with protocol and reports ready to support regulatory submission for the following:

  • Extractables / Leachables Testing (incl. NVR, FTIR, TOC, GC/MS, LC/UV/MS/MS, and ICP/MS)
  • Sterilizing Filter Validation
  • Filter and System Compatability
  • Shipping Studies
  • Particle and Endotoxin Analyses
  • Mycoplasma and Bacteriophage Retention Testing 

Validation Services for Allegro Single-Use SystemsAll testing is conducted in accordance with industry best practices, including Parenteral Drug Association (PDA) and BioProcess Systems Alliance (BPSA) recommendations. Our global team of scientists and engineers provides rapid local response to your GMP validation needs.

For further information: Single-use Validation





Interview

WFI and Process Fluids Filled into Allegro Biocontainers

hameln pharmaceuticals gmbh is a contract manufacturer of parenteral solutions. Within a diverse product range they offer water for injection (WFI) and process fluids, all prepared to cGMP. High QA standards are applied to these products making them suitable for use in biopharmaceutical development and production. All fluids are distributed in Pall Allegro single-use systems.

Who are your customers for WFI and buffers filled into bags?
Mainly biopharmaceutical companies with a demand for high quality solutions, but they may not have the expertise, equipment, capacity or time to prepare WFI or buffers according to cGMP. They find a number of benefits in using disposable items: ease-of-use, high flexibility of system design and short timelines - all of which may be relevant to the demands of each project. They find that disposable systems minimize the risk of cross contamination, and reduce the demand for post-use cleaning and cleaning validation. Consequently, single-use systems also offer significant potential for cost reductions.

Which requirements do you have for your equipment?
We apply exactly the same quality requirements to our suppliers that we apply to ourselves. A key aspect is compliance with regulatory demands, which has been confirmed to us repeatedly in numerous audits by authorities like FDA or ANVISA (Agência Nacional de Vigilância Sanitária; National Health Surveillance Agency of Brasil). Comprehensive validation data is also extremely important.

Why did you choose Pall for your program?
The quality aspect of Pall’s portfolio fits perfectly with our own requirements. Allegro single-use systems are flexible in design and the application of the same film material across the range has important scalability benefits. KleenpakTM Sterile Connectors and Kleenpak Sterile Disconnectors are excellent options for maintaining sterility during product transfers.

What about customized solutions?
This is routine for us: most of our customers look for individual solutions that cannot be provided by off-the-shelf products. Pall’s Allegro concept offers versatility and scope for such designs, as our services also include customized stability studies and storage of bags for clients.

What do you expect in the future?
The market for biopharmaceuticals will grow and result in increasing demand for process specific solutions of the highest quality. It is our intention to align ourselves with the growth of the industry: it is a natural expansion of our service portfolio, building on our broad experience in cGMP-compliant production and filling of sterile solutions. We look forward to further successful collaborations with Pall!

For further information: bpvision@pall.com

Internet Highlights

Biopharmaceutical Webinar Series

We are pleased to offer a series of webinars designed to be educational and informative on the latest industry trends and to provide updates on new technologies. The presentations are given by biopharmaceutical industry leaders and experts. Have you missed one of our live webinars? Not a problem, as all Pall Biopharmaceutical webinars are also made available on-demand. See information on right for the content of our most recent live webinar.

Please visit www.pall.com/biopharmwebinars for more information and to register.

Biopharmaceutical Webinar Series (current topics)

  • Determination of Extractables/Leachables from Single-Use Systems: How Pall Life Sciences Helps Users Meet Regulatory Expectations While Minimizing Test Time and Cost
  • Sterilization of Single-Use Systems by Gamma Irradiation: How Pall Life Sciences Ensures Sterility of Irradiated Systems

 Additional webinar topics will be advertised on the web several weeks in advance of their live dates. Should you have any suggestions for future webinar topics, please email your ideas to bpvision@pall.com

Upcoming webinar topics include:

  • Post-Sterilization / Pre-Use Integrity Testing of Sterilizing
  • Grade Filters: Regulatory Expectations, Technical Issues and Pall Recommendations
  • Mustang® Membrane Chromatography - The Flexible Solution to High Speed Contaminant Clearance
  • Protein Stability and Aggregation – Clues to Better Formulations

Webinar Series – Recently Held

Sterilization of Single-use Systems by Gamma Irradiation: How Pall Life Sciences Ensures Sterility of Irradiated Systems
Sterilization by gamma irradiation has been well established for over 25 years in the medical device and healthcare product industries. However, for many in the biopharmaceutical industry gamma irradiation represents a “new” sterilization method with significant differences from moist heat sterilization and validation procedures. As single-use systems become more applied in critical sterile product manufacturing processes, it is important for users to have a clear understanding of procedures and quality systems designed to ensure drug product sterility.

This webinar provides an introduction to gamma irradiation and how sterilization is validated to meet regulatory cGMP requirements for sterile processing, according to harmonized industry standards. Topics include system evaluation and bioburden level determination, minimum dose verification and sterility assurance levels, irradiator design, dose quantification and mapping, load density effects, dose and sterility audits.

For further information: Biopharmaceutical Webinar Series

For further information on any of the articles within this newsletter, or to suggest topics for future editions of BioProcess Vision please  contact us.