生物制药

生物工艺愿景 - 第 3 期 - 2012 年 4 月

区域版本 (PDF):


市场趋势

您通往生物工艺的成功之路

颇尔生命科学将在即将到来的两个国际展会上展示旨在改善生物工艺的最新尖端产品和服务组合。在 Interphex 和 Achema 展会上,公司将展示用于药物开发和生产的上下游工艺技术,演示这些技术如何成为“您通往生物工艺的成功之路”。Interphex 将于 5 月 1-3 日在美国纽约举行;Achema 将于 6 月 18-22 日在德国法兰克福举行。参观颇尔公司展位的访客可以在这里探索生物工艺的关键步骤,找到针对工艺每个步骤的快速、灵活的解决方案:灵活的培养基制备、可靠的细胞培养、简便的细胞澄清和细胞收获、可放大下游工艺、安全的杂质控制和精纯、连贯的制剂灌装和药物质量控制。我们非常乐意与您一起探讨这些问题。

接下来的内容中,您将看到大量适合您现有工艺或新工艺的新产品。在 Interphex 和 Achema 展会上,我们将展示这些新产品以及其他突破性的创新,其中包括新型生物反应器技术、新型层析吸附剂、新型膜过滤器和新型一次性设备,例如一次性针头以及塑料和运输容器。

我们为我们产品的设计、制造和服务提供可靠和完全集成的解决方案。这些解决方案能帮助您及时开发生物制药工艺,获得产品性能带来的优势。希望能尽快在 Interphex、Achema 或者我们所参加的世界各地的其他活动上与您见面!

有关更多信息:Achema 信息

产品新闻

Allegro 一次性 TFF 系统

此系统将自动化系统工程设计与 Allegro 一次性组件的优势结合起来,可对制造过程中的关键参数进行可靠的控制,同时实现易用性。

采用一次性 TFF 系统能够降低:
  • 系统准备和清洗时间及成本
  • 生产区停工时间
  • 批次污染或交叉污染的风险
  • 验证时间与成本
系统带有 12 英寸管件和容量为 1000 升/小时的进给泵。系统可以与 20 升或 100 升进给生物容器协同运行,可在批次进料模式下运行,以加工更大体积。

一次性 TFF 组件:
  • 经过伽马辐照
  • 包含经过预先校准的一次性检测仪
  • 安装简单(15 分钟)
有关更多信息: 一次性 TFF 系统

新版 Kleenpak 无菌断开器

两款小直径版 Kleenpak 无菌断开器,直径分别为 14 英寸和 38 英寸,采用倒刺接头结构,应用潜力非常广泛。

  • 典型应用包括:
    • 样本生物容器
    • QC 检测分离
  • 分离生物反应器上的液体处理组件
  • 进行离线完整性测试时除菌过滤器的断开
  • 从已过滤缓冲液或培养基中移除除菌过滤装置
Kleenpak 无菌断开器可对一次性系统进行分离,同时维持分离后各部分的无菌性,或对分离后各部分内部的一般生物负荷水平进行控制管理。对集成了无菌断开器的一次性系统的需求正快速增长,新的尺寸变型促进了这些使能技术的广泛应用,进一步简化了操作和提高了工艺安全性。

有关更多信息:KLeenpak 无菌断开器

面向一次性系统的 Allegro 生物工艺站

颇尔的新型 Allegro 生物工艺站能为一次性系统的操作和活动提供极大的简便性。可应用这些工作站的典型应用包括:
  • 澄清和产品存储:使用 Stax 深层过滤器组件
  • 进行缓冲液过滤和存储时对过滤器和一次性系统提供支持。
  • 下游操作中的层析组分收集和存储
  • 在线完整性测试和产品存储提供除菌过滤支持
这些工作站有两种基本型号(单柱或双柱宽度),并且可搭配各种设备架扩展装置、塑料托盘和支持性硬件(例如过滤器支撑和文件夹),这些小车能在安全搬运、保护和一般灵活性方面提供极大的帮助,用于各种操作,包括小规模的开发活动和大规模的生产活动。

有关更多信息:Allegro 生物工艺站

Palltronic AquaWIT IV 过滤器完整性测试系统

水侵检测是针对疏水性过滤器的最方便的在线完整性测试。但是,只有通过合适的测量方法和严格控制的灌装和温度条件,才能获得可靠、可再现的结果。

颇尔的新型 Palltronic AquaWIT IV 系统采用机载 Flowstar IV 检测仪作为控制器,最多可控制独立于测试过滤器的 3 个气动阀门,向滤壳/囊式过滤器中注水,并自动执行整个完整性测试。该系统还可执行液体过滤器的全自动前进流或起泡点试验。

特点
  • 全自动准备和测试疏水性或亲水性过滤器
  • 可控制所有关键测试参数,确保测试结果的可重现性
  • 完全支持 21 CFR Part 11 规定的电子签名
  • 内部开放式工艺控制(OPC)服务器,为工艺控制系统提供通信服务
有关更多信息:Palltronic Aquawit IV

5 英寸Fluorodyne EX 除菌级过滤器

内置预过滤层的高容量 Fluorodyne EX 过滤器最新推出 5 英寸滤芯和滤囊两种款式。这可以减小 10 英寸或双级过滤系统的尺寸,从而降低过滤成本。

0.2 微米的 Fluorodyne EX 级 EDF 膜式过滤器一般被推荐用于细胞收获、工艺中间体的除菌过滤,以及其他小型应用,例如疫苗生产中脂质体的过滤。

0.1 微米的 Fluorodyne EX 级 EDT 膜式过滤器拥有高容量性能的同时更加强了安全性。这两款产品拥有出色的支原体去除效率,可过滤莱氏无胆甾原体 (A. laidlawii)口腔支原体 (M. orale)(通常 > 10 LRV),优先推荐用于对用作生物容器进料和无菌灌装验证中使用的细胞培养液或生长培养基进行过滤。

有关更多信息:EDT 膜EDF 膜

Pegasus 级 SV4 小病毒清除过滤器

即将推出:新型 Pegasus SV4 小病毒清除过滤器提供恒定、稳定的流速性能和出色的通量能力,从而为过滤提供最佳经济性。该过滤器可高效清除小型‘无包膜’病毒和大病毒,与稀释或合成/浓缩生物流体搭配使用时,可展现恒定、稳定的流速。它还能在合成或浓缩度更高的进给中提供稳定的压力/通量能力,有助于提高高浓度蛋白质溶液中病毒过滤的经济性。在各类不同的工艺条件下以及更长工艺处理时间内,也可将因滤膜堵塞和凝胶极化导致的流量衰减情况保持在最低水平。将所有这些因素加以结合,可确保 Pegasus SV4 病毒清除过滤器成为一种可在实现高度的病毒安全性同时显著降低加工成本的平台技术。

有关更多信息:Pegasus 级 SV4

工艺开发中的膜层析应用

Mustang XT Acrodisc 是最新的 颇尔 膜吸附装置,有 Q 和 S 两种化学性质可供选择。它们设计的特点在于快速、易用,是各种应用中缩减工艺开发的理想选择。这些应用包括研究实验室中的蛋白质纯化和样本制备、生物技术和血浆分离中的杂质清除以及疫苗生产中的杂质清除和大分子捕获。这些新产品可轻松地连接到低压层析系统上,在各种流速下都能提供卓越的性能。

特性:
  • 设备体积 < 1 毫升,最大程度降低样本要求
  • 一致的 16 层膜结构,使工艺易于放大
  • 低压降情况下流速可达到 10 MV/分钟
  • 内螺纹 Luer旋扣出/入口连接
有关更多信息:膜层析

Sentino 微生物检测一体泵

Sentino 泵使用将液体直接引导至出口的小型蠕动泵替代传统的真空过滤系统,简化分析过程。简单的操作、紧凑的设计和便携性让此产品能在狭小空间中使用,节省宝贵的实验台空间,实现更高的工作流效率。一次性液体导管让装置便于维护,帮助繁忙的微生物实验室实现卓越的污染控制——无需对堆积如山歧管进行清洗、包裹或高压除菌。

特点
  • 尺寸紧凑 — 占用空间少
  • 便携性 — 可充电电池或使用标准电源插座
  • 简化操作 — 简化了验证所需的编程或数据存储
  • 蠕动设计 — 单向液体流动
  • 一次性液体软管 — 可替换,避免生物膜累积造成的污染
有关更多信息:Sentino 泵

面向 LC/MS 应用的 Acrodisc MS 针头式过滤器

Acrodisc MS 针头式过滤器在低溶出物方面经过专门设计并具有证明文件,适用于高效液相色谱/质谱仪分析 (LC/MS) 应用。此过滤器可提高测试的精确度及 LC/MS 性能,并延长敏感的测试检测仪的使用寿命。低析出物水平可让电离过程的干扰最小化,减少重复测试。这些特性可在降低成本的同时,避免了检测仪由于意外污染而导致不能运作。

特点
  • 经过 LC/MS 低水平溶出物验证
  • 极低离子浓度的影响(抑制或增强)
  • 采用水浸润性 PTFE 膜,拥有绝佳的化学耐受性
  • 低蛋白结合率
有关更多信息:Acrodisc 注射器

应用

我们的出色业绩表现在……颇尔 客户获得 2012 FOYA 大奖

国际制药工程协会 (ISPE) 每年都会颁发年度厂商大奖。2012 年,两个类别的奖项被颇尔的客户夺得,向这两家客户提供大量创新的设备和支持。

Rentschler Biotechnologie GmbH(德国劳普海姆)获得了“设备创新”1奖,引用颁奖方的话:“联合开发是一种高度自动化的除病毒过滤方法,适用于各种生产条件。”颇尔还提供了许多其他系统。
 
Rentschler 在国家生物工艺培训研究所(NIBRT)在都柏林举行的一次大会上谈到了这些系统,而 NIBRT 获得了“新型合作”类大奖2。颇尔与 NIBRT 之间的合作在最近的一则新闻3中得到了披露,文中将此次合作描写为“生物制药开发与生产过程中一次性系统运用的大师级水平”。
1 www.facilityoftheyear.org/foyawinners2012#Rentschler
2 www.facilityoftheyear.org/foyawinners2012#NIBRT
3 news.pall.com/article_display.cfm?article_id=4614

有关更多信息:bpvision@pall.com

访谈

两个过滤器比一个好?

世界各地的监管机构要求制药厂进行风险评估,以确保药物生产的安全性。我们采访了 Jerold Martin,让他谈一谈有关监管机构的问题。

Jerry,非最终灭菌产品在监管规定方面会有怎样的变化?
这些产品依然需要采用除菌过滤的方法。美国食品药品管理局 (FDA) 要求除菌过滤能在最恶劣条件下进行验证(颇尔提供此类服务)。EMA 接受了此规定,但是欧洲的 GMP 同时推荐使用第二级除菌过滤器(精度通常为 0.2 微米)以获得更高的无菌保障。

使用两级过滤器来做一份工作似乎有点多余,监管机构要求这样做吗?
只是有选择性的要求这样做。美国的 FDA 指南中此项规定是可选的,欧洲的 GMP 指南并不要求整个欧洲强制采用此标准。但是,有些欧洲国家的检查员会要求制药企业这样做。

两级过滤器是否需要进行完整性检测?
监管机构始终要求对终端除菌过滤器进行使用后完整性测试。但不一定是“双”(串行)过滤方案的测试。如果第一级过滤器被用作预过滤器,那么就无需进行完整性测试,因为终端过滤器的上游产品必须进行生物负载采样。采用冗余方案时,如果第二级(终端)过滤器经过了使用后完整性测试,那么无需对第一级除菌过滤器进行测试,产品就能被认定为已除菌。冗余过滤器的优势在于如果终端过滤器过滤器无法通过完整性测试,而第一级过滤器通过了完整性测试,则产品将依然可被视为已除菌。如果两个过滤器都需要进行除菌,那么两级过滤器都需要进行完整性测试,至少在使用后要进行完整性测试。

使用前测试呢?
虽然一些欧洲检查员要求在蒸汽除菌之后进行使用前测试,但是使用前测试不会影响病人的安全,这样做主要是出于业务因素考虑,为了避免批次损失,或在出现不完整的过滤器时避免进行重复工作。这样做能确保运输、搬运和安装以及除菌过程能正确执行。

最后,这些测试程序是否能用到一次性系统中?
当然可以。对于一次性系统,颇尔可以提供满足监管机构的要求的标准及定制化设计,同时还能提供过滤系统设计、安装和完整性测试的咨询和培训讲座,为众多用户带来实实在在的益处。

参考:
PDA 技术报告 TR26 (2008)

FDA 行业指南 — 无菌药品工艺指南 — 药品生产质量管理规范(2004 年 9 月)

欧共体 GMP 指南 — 附件 I 修订版 — 无菌药品制造(2008 年 2 月修订版 — 2009 年 3 月生效)

EMEA 专利药物委员会 (CPMP)。最终药物剂型生产指南注意 (CPMP/QWP/486/95)(1996 年 4 月)
有关更多信息:bpvision@pall.com

网络集锦

生物制药网络讲座系列

颇尔生命科学的网络讲座系列旨在详解最新的行业趋势,提供新技术新闻,同时提供教育机会并传播信息。由生物制药行业的领导者和专家主讲。您错过了一堂实时网络讲座?没问题。只要您方便,您可以随时观看所有颇尔生物制药网络讲座。最新的网络讲座直播目录见右侧。

更多信息和注册事宜请访问 www.pall.com/biopharmwebinars

生物制药网络讲座系列(当前主题)

  • 膜层析 — 针对快速清除杂质的灵活解决方案
  • 蛋白质稳定性与聚合分析——改进配方的指引
  • 来自一次性系统的溶出物∕析出物测定
  • 一次性系统伽马辐照除菌
网络讲座主题将在讲座开播前几周内公布。如果您想接收讲座通知或对未来的网络讲座有任何建议,请发送电子邮件至 bpvision@pall.com

即将开始的网络讲座主题包括:
  • 除菌级过滤器的灭菌后/使用前完整性测试:法规要求、技术问题和颇尔建议
  • 复杂的一次性装置的操作:使用一次性切向流过滤设备替代传统设备的工艺及经济效益

网络讲座系列——近期举行的网络讲座

膜层析 — 针对快速清除杂质的灵活解决方案
持续改善上游工艺能获得更高的蛋白质表达水平,让下游滴定量达到 1 克/升以上,甚至达到 10克/升。上游的改善会直接对下游工艺产生影响,导致下游出现潜在瓶颈。然而,在生物制药行业,人们越来越倾向于使用选择性更佳的更高容量的层析吸附剂,以及膜层析等一次性技术。

从此类工艺中高效去污极具挑战性,经证实,这是一种膜层析非常受欢迎的应用。它易于操作、速度快且效率高​​,有助于缩短加工时间和成本,同时提高整个工艺生产率。此网络讲座将介绍膜层析的基本原则,并对特定客户就这项技术与工艺结合后如何节省时间和成本进行阐述。

此网络讲座可按要求向您提供,网址为 www.pall.com/biopharmwebinars。

更多信息

有关本新闻通讯中文章的更多信息,请访问 www.pall.com/biopharm 或发送电子邮件至 bpvision@pall.com 联系我们

Bioprocess Vision - Issue 3 - April 2012

Regional Versions (PDFs):


Market Trends

Your Path to Bioprocess Success

Pall Life Sciences will showcase its newest lineup of leading-edge products and services to enhance bioprocessing workflows at two upcoming international conferences. The company will demonstrate how its technologies for upstream and downstream processing can be "Your Path to Bioprocess Success" in drug development and production at Interphex and Achema. Interphex takes place May 1-3 in New York, USA; Achema will be held June 18-22 in Frankfurt, Germany. Visitors to Pall's booths will explore critical steps in bioprocessing and discover fast and flexible solutions at every stage of the process: Flexibility in Media Prep, Reliability in Cell Culture, Simplicity in Cell Clarification and Cell Harvest, Scalability in Downstream Processing, Safety in Contaminant Control and Polishing, and Consistency in Formulation, Filling, and Pharma QC. We are happy to explore all this together with you.

On the following pages you will find numerous new products worth considering for existing or new processes. At Interphex and Achema, all these will be featured together with other groundbreaking innovations, amongst them new bioreactor technologies, new chromatography sorbents, new membrane filters and new disposable devices such as single-use needles and plastic and transportation totes.

We are happy to provide reliable and fully integrated solutions for the design, manufacturing, and service of our products. All these will help you to ensure timely biopharmaceutical process development and procurement of production capacity. We are looking forward to seeing you soon at Interphex, Achema, or one of the many other events we attend all over the world!

For further information: Achema info

Product News

Allegro Single-Use TFF System

The system combines the advantages of Allegro single-use manifolds with an engineered automated system design, providing reliable control of key parameters and ease-of-use in manufacture.

Adopting a single-use approach for TFF can provide reductions in:
  • System preparation and cleaning time and costs
  • Downtime in the production area
  • Risk of batch or cross contamination
  • Validation time and costs
The system has 12-in. tubing and a feed pump capacity of 1000 L/hour. It can be run with 20 L or 100 L feed biocontainers, and run in fed batch mode for processing larger volumes.

Single-use TFF manifolds:
  • Are supplied gamma-irradiated
  • Incorporate pre-calibrated single-use instruments
  • Require simple installation (15 minutes)
For further information: Single-use TFF System

New Variants for Kleenpak Sterile Disconnectors

The addition of two smaller diameter versions of the Kleenpak sterile disconnector, 14 in. and 38 in. hose barb formats, provides users with a wider range of application potential.

  • Typical applications include:
    • Sample biocontainer
    • Separation for QC testing
  • Separation of fluid handling assemblies around bioreactors
  • Disconnection of sterile filters for offline integrity testing
  • Removal of sterile filtration sets from filtered buffer or media
The Kleenpak sterile disconnector allows for the separation of single-use systems, whilst maintaining the sterility of, or managing the general bioburden levels within, the separated sections. The demand for single-use systems integrating sterile disconnectors is increasing at a fast rate and the new size variants facilitate wider application of these enabling technologies, to further simplify operations and improve process safety.

For further information: KLeenpak sterile disconnectors

Allegro Bioprocessing Workstations for Single-Use Systems

The new Allegro bioprocessing workstations from Pall provide extreme ease-of-use around operations and activities that utilize disposable or single-use systems. The typical applications that these workstations can be used for include:
  • Clarification and product storage: using Stax™ depth filter modules
  • Filter and single-use system support for buffer filtration and storage.
  • Chromatography fraction collection and storage around downstream operations
  • Sterile filtration support with in situ integrity testing and product storage
Available in two basic formats (single or double column width) and with a range of frame extensions, plastic trays and supporting hardware (such as filter supports and document holders), these workstations can greatly assist in the safe handling, protection and general flexibility for a wide range of operations from small scale development activities through to full scale production.

For further information: Allegro bioprocessing workstations

Palltronic AquaWIT IV Filter Integrity Test System

Water Intrusion Testing is the most convenient in situ integrity test for hydrophobic filters. However – reliable, reproducible results can only be achieved with suitable measurement methods and tightly-controlled filling and temperature conditions.

Pall's new Palltronic AquaWIT IV system utilizes the on-board Flowstar IV instrument to control up to three pneumatic valves to isolate the test filter, fill the housing/capsule with water and perform the entire test automatically. The system can also perform a fully automated Forward Flow or Bubble Point test for liquid filters.

Features
  • Fully automated preparation and testing of hydrophilic or hydrophobic filters
  • All critical test parameters controlled to ensure reproducibility of test results
  • Fully supports electronic signatures according to 21 CFR Part 11
  • Internal open process control (OPC) server for communication with process control systems
For further information: Palltronic Aquawit IV

5 in. Fluorodyne EX Sterilizing Grade Filters

High capacity Fluorodyne EX filters with built-in prefiltration are now available in 5 in. filter cartridge and filter capsule configurations. These allow for the downsizing of single 10 in. or dual stage filter systems, and as a result, lower filtration costs.

0.2 μm-rated Fluorodyne EX grade EDF membrane filters are recommended for the sterile filtration of cell harvest, process intermediates, and for some niche applications such as the filtration of liposomal fluids in vaccine manufacturing.

0.1 μm-rated Fluorodyne EX grade EDT membrane filters combine high capacity performance with additional safety. With outstanding mycoplasma removal efficiency for A. laidlawii and M. orale (typically > 10 LRV), they are a primary recommendation for filtering cell culture media or growth media as bioreactor feeds and used during aseptic filling validation.

For further information: EDT membrane and EDF membrane

Pegasus Grade SV4 Small-Virus Removal Filters

Coming soon: The new Pegasus SV4 small-virus removal filter offers constant, stable flow-rate performance and outstanding throughput capacity, enabling maximum filtration economy. It demonstrates highly-efficient clearance of both small 'non-enveloped' viruses and large viruses, even showing constant, stable flow-rate performance when used with either dilute or complex/concentrated biological fluids. It also offers stable pressure/flux capability in more complex or concentrated feeds, helping improve virus filtration economy in highly-concentrated protein solutions, without unnecessary product dilution. Flow decay caused by unwanted membrane 'plugging' and gel polarization is also kept to a minimum over a wide range of process conditions and extended process times. All of these factors combine to ensure that Pegasus SV4 virus removal filters can be established as a platform technology enabling high virus safety and significantly reducing processing costs.

For further information: Pegasus Grade SV4

Membrane Chromatography in Process Development

Mustang XT Acrodisc units, the latest addition to Pall's membrane adsorbers, are available in Q and S chemistries. They have been designed to be fast, easy to use, and ideal for scale-down process development in a variety of applications. These include protein purification and sample preparation in research laboratories, contaminant removal in biotech and plasma fractionation as well as contaminant removal and large molecule capture in vaccines manufacturing. The new units can be easily connected to low pressure chromatography systems and offer excellent performance over a broad range of flow rates.

Features:
  • Device volumes <1 mL to minimize sample requirements
  • Easy scale up due to consistent 16 membrane layer format
  • Flow rates of up to 10 MV/min at low pressure drop
  • Female Luer Lock inlet/outlet connections
For further information: Membrane chromatography

Sentino Microbiology Pump

The Sentino pump streamlines analysis by replacing the traditional vacuum filtration system with a small peristaltic pump that channels fluid directly to drain. Simple operation, compact design, and portability make it easy to use in confined spaces and frees valuable benchtop space for better workflow efficiencies. The disposable fluid path provides easy maintenance and superior contamination control in a busy microbiology laboratory - no more cleaning, wrapping or autoclaving a bulky manifold.

Features
  • Compact Size - takes up less space
  • Portable - rechargeable battery or use a standard electrical outlet
  • Simple Operation - no programming or data storage to validate
  • Peristaltic Design - fluid flows in one direction
  • Disposable Fluid Path - replace before biofilm build-up becomes a problem
For further information: Sentino pump

Acrodisc MS Syringe Filter for LC/MS Applications

The Acrodisc MS syringe filter is the first syringe filter specifically designed and certified for low extractables in high performance liquid chromatography/mass spectrometry (LC/MS) applications. The filter improves the accuracy of testing, enhances LC/MS performance, and extends the longevity of sensitive testing instrumentation. The low extractable levels minimize interference with the ionization process and reduce the need for re-testing. These features lower costs while minimizing instrumentation downtime due to unexpected contamination.

Features
  • Certified low in LC/MS extractables
  • Low in ion suppression and ion enhancement
  • Excellent chemical resistance due to water wettable PTFE membrane
  • Low protein binding
For further information: Acrodisc syringe

Application

The Results are in.... Pall customers excel in 2012 FOYA

Every year, the International Society for Pharmaceutical Engineering (ISPE) makes awards in their Facility of the Year competition. For 2012, two category awards went to facilities where Pall played an extensive role in providing innovative equipment and support.

For "Equipment Innovation"1, Rentschler Biotechnologie GmbH (Laupheim, Germany) was the winner, with the citation concluding "Jointly developed was a highly automated skid for virus filtration that can accommodate a wide variety of manufacturing protocols." Pall also provided many other systems.
 
These systems were discussed by Rentschler at a conference hosted by the National Institute of Bioprocessing Research and Training (NIBRT) in Dublin, who won the "Novel Collaboration" category2. Pall's work with NIBRT was featured in a recent press release3 describing the "master class on the use of single-use systems in the development and manufacturing of biopharmaceuticals."
1 www.facilityoftheyear.org/foyawinners2012#Rentschler
2 www.facilityoftheyear.org/foyawinners2012#NIBRT
3 news.pall.com/article_display.cfm?article_id=4614

For further information: bpvision@pall.com

Interview

Two filters better than one?

Regulatory authorities around the world promote risk assessment to ensure drug product safety. We interviewed Jerold Martin about recent discussions with regulators.

Jerry, how is the expectation of regulators changing with regard to drug products that cannot be sterilized in their final container?
Sterilizing filtration is still the norm for these products. US FDA requires that sterilizing filtration be validated under worst case conditions (a service provided by Pall). EMA accepts this, but European GMP also recommends use of a second sterilizing filter (usually 0.2 micron rated) for added sterilization assurance.

Using two filters to do one job seems excessive, do the regulators mandate this?
Only selectively. It's optional under US FDA guidance and the European GMP guidance is not universally mandated across Europe. However, some European country inspectors do expect it.

Is integrity testing of both filters required?
Post-use integrity testing of the final sterilizing filter is always required. Testing of "double" (serial) filtration schemes, however, can vary. Where the first filter is used as a prefilter, it is not required to integrity test it because the product upstream of the final filter must be sampled for bioburden anyway. In a redundant scheme, if the second (final) filter passes a post-use integrity test, the product can be considered sterilized without testing the first filter. The benefit of redundancy is that if the final filter fails the integrity test, and the first filter passes, the product is still considered sterile. Where both filters are required for sterilization, then both will need to be integrity tested, at least post-use.

How about pre-use testing?
Although some EU Inspectors are requiring pre-use testing after steam sterilization, pre-use testing does not affect patient safety and is primarily a business decision to avoid loss of the batch or rework in the event of a non-integral filter. It can ensure that shipping, handling and installation, as well as the sterilization process, have been done correctly.

Lastly, can these test procedures be applied to single-use systems?
Certainly. For single use systems, Pall provides standard and customized designs suitable for use in compliance with regulatory requirements, as well as offering consultancy and training workshops on filtration system design, installation and integrity testing that many users find extremely beneficial.

References:
PDA Technical Report TR26 (2008)

FDA Guidance for Industry – Sterile Drug Products Produced by Aseptic Processing – Current Good Manufacturing Practice (September, 2004)

EC Guide to GMP - Revision to Annex I - Manufacture of Sterile Medicinal Products (Revised Feb, 2008 - Effective March, 2009)

EMEA Committee for Proprietary Medicinal Products (CPMP). Note for Guidance on Manufacture of the Finished Dosage Form (CPMP/QWP/486/95) (April, 1996)
For further information: bpvision@pall.com

Internet Highlights

Biopharmaceutical Webinar Series

Detailing the latest industry trends and providing updates on new technologies, Pall Life Sciences' series of webinars are both educational and informative. The presentations are given by biopharmaceutical industry leaders and experts. Have you missed one of our live webinars? Not a problem. All Pall Biopharmaceutical webinars are also made available on-demand to be viewed at your convenience. See information on right for the content of our most recent live webinar.

Please visit www.pall.com/biopharmwebinars for more information and to register.

Biopharmaceutical Webinar Series (current topics)

  • Membrane Chromatography – A Flexible Solution to High Speed Contaminant Clearance
  • Thermal Stability and Aggregation Analysis – Clues to Better Formulations
  • Determination of Extractables/Leachables from Single-use Systems
  • Sterilization of Single-use Systems by Gamma Irradiation
Additional webinar topics will be announced several weeks in advance of their live dates. If you would like to be notified or have suggestions for future webinar topics, please send an email to bpvision@pall.com

Upcoming webinar topics include:
  • Post-Sterilization / Pre-Use Integrity Testing of Sterilizing Grade Filters: Regulatory Expectations, Technical Issues and Pall Recommendations
  • Complex Single-Use Unit Operations: The Process and Economic Benefits of Replacing Traditional with Single-Use Tangential Flow Filtration

Webinar Series – Recently Held

Membrane Chromatography - A Flexible Solution to High Speed Contaminant Clearance
Continual improvements in upstream processing have led to higher protein expression levels, resulting in downstream titers in excess of 1g/L, even reaching 10g/L. These advances directly impact the downstream process, leading to potential bottlenecks. However, trends such as the use of higher capacity chromatography sorbents with improved selectivity, and an increase in the use of single-use technologies such as membrane chromatography, are gaining momentum in the biopharmaceutical industry.

Efficient contaminant removal from such processes is very challenging and this is an application where membrane chromatography is proving very popular. Its ease of operation, speed, and efficiency are helping to reduce processing time and cost, as well as improve overall process productivity. This webinar will provide the basic principles of membrane chromatography and illustrate specific customer applications of how this technology, when incorporated into the process, saves time and cost.

The webinar is now available on-demand at www.pall.com/biopharmwebinars.

Further Information

For further information on any of the articles in this newsletter, please visit www.pall.com/biopharm or email us at bpvision@pall.com