生物制药

生物工艺愿景 - 第 4 期 - 2013 年 3 月

区域版本 (PDF):


市场趋势

适用于实验室生产套件操作的改进型生物反应器设计

XRS 20 生物反应器系统当今的生物技术生产者正在迅速将一次性技术运用于生产工艺中的几乎所有单元操作中。上游细胞培养发酵操作也是如此;生产者正开始越来越多地将第一代一次性生物反应器系统从研发设施转移到中试和大规模生产设施中。随着这些系统应用范围的日益广泛,耐用性、生产效率和整体易用性方面的不足正在受到更多关注。

生物反应器系统为易用性和耐用性方面带来了挑战。这些系统在生物技术操作方面几乎可谓独一无二,因为这些操作需要将运动部件(搅动系统)、多个参数测量和控制装置以及多个气体/流体添加/抽取端口都集成到一个易于安装并在预期使用寿命中保持 100% 液体/气体完整性的一次性生物容器上。

颇尔公司深知市场对“新一代”高性能一次性生物反应器系统的需求,努力推出新型生物反应器设计以满足各种一次性上游应用。第一款产品 XRS 20 生物反应器系统是一种摇臂式生物反应器,专为种子罐、小规模 GMP 操作和一般实验室需求等对控制系统性能有较高要求的应用领域而设计。XRS 系统利用双向摇摆对现有摇臂式生物反应器设计加以改进,其所产生的三维漩涡运动可在提高搅动效果的同时为培养物输送充足氧气。

有关此新系统的更多信息,请联系您当地的颇尔代表或 bioreactors@pall.com

产品新闻

一次性灌装针

Allegro 一次性灌装针您不再需要清洗和反复使用不锈钢非标记分析钢针,或进行任何相关验证。也不再需要丢弃不锈钢以避免交叉污染的风险。Allegro 一次性灌装针是一种功能强大且完全合格的工程塑料替代方案,可在精确度和灌装准确性方面达到或超过不锈钢针的水平。通过预组装到一次性灌装系统中就可以提供无菌的成品组件(利用γ 辐照),在分离器中将管路与灌装针相连并需要保持连接期间无菌性的操作方式已经不再需要。无热原和内毒素的申明(USP 85) 和颗粒释放申明 (USP 788) 是针对 Allegro 一次性灌装针的独特要求。
  • 市面上唯一可进行高压灭菌和 γ 辐照的灌装针
  • 完全生物相容性材料;符合USP <87> 和 <88>对 VI-121 °C 类塑料的要求
  • 完全的可追溯性,每个灌装针均标有产品编码和批号
  • 适用于各种灌装体积
  • 管腔直径为 0.8、1.6 或 3.2 mm
有关更多信息,请访问 Allegro 一次性灌装针产品页面

耐盐阴离子交换层析填料

HyperCel STAR AX 层析填料新型的 HyperCel STAR AX 层析填料是一种多功能、高效率的阴离子交换填料,针对各种稀释或非稀释的生物原料均保持较高的蛋白结合能力。它可应用于通过细胞培养、细菌发酵、血浆或其它原料获得的蛋白质的捕获、纯化或精纯。

这种新型填料基于业界公认的 HyperCel 基质,并可提供如下优势:
  • 在进样液电导率为2-15 mS/cm 的范围内进行有效的蛋白质捕获,实现高灵活性
  • 可在 1-2 分钟的停留时间内发挥良好的动态结合能力,实现高效率
  • 具有更好的工艺经济性,无需使用 UF/DF 或稀释等单元操作
  • 可轻松装填/拆装和在线清洗 (1 M NaOH)
有关更多信息,请访问 HyperCel STAR AX 产品页面

来自 ForteBio 的 Octet:实时非标记分析领域领导者

Octet 系统作为颇尔生命科学的子公司,ForteBio 致力于开发和制造分析系统以提供有关蛋白定量或生物分子相互作用特征的快速实时结果,从而在各种应用中提供有关亲和力、动力学和浓缩方面的有用信息。

ForteBio 利用其专利生物膜层干涉 (BLI) 技术和随时可用的 Dip and Read 一次性生物传感器,以经济高效的方式准确测量关键样品的浓缩和动力学速率,甚至在天然培养基中也可使用。Octet 系统在短短几分钟之内就可完成整个分析。ForteBio 的出色分析能力可在现有方法,如HPLC、ELISA 和 SPR 等,因通量、性能和成本受到限制的应用中发挥更大作用。

目前,ForteBio 已被公认为大型制药、生物技术和学术研究机构的重要供应商。迄今为止,公司已售出 500 多套系统和 5 百万个 Dip and Read 生物传感器,标志着基于 BLI 的非标记工具正被迅速采用。

有关更多信息,请访问 Octet RED384 和 Octet QK384 系统产品页面

应用

Seitz 过滤器系列的新产品

SUPRAcap 50 囊式深层过滤器SUPRAcap 50 囊式深层过滤器是 SUPRAcap 囊式系列的重要补充,能够提供可靠的可放大性,实现从研发到中试规模再到大规模生产的成功产品转移。SUPRAcap 50 囊式过滤器的设计原则与 SUPRAdisc 和 Stax 等较大规格的深层过滤器型号相同,并采用相同的内外流动专利设计。
  • 相同的流动阻力
  • 相同的流动路径配置
  • 充分利用整个过滤器面积
这些特性在实验室规模的小型评估中使用,将赋予深层过滤更高的可放大性。得益于严格控制的基材生产,这种新型 SUPRAcap 50 囊式过滤器可确保拥有与较大规格的 SUPRAcap 和 Stax 囊式过滤器相媲美的可靠结果,为您的全新过滤项目提供完美开端。

有关更多信息,请访问 Supracap 50 囊式深层过滤器产品页面

访谈

使用 Allegro 一次性系统加工用于人体细胞培养的替代型生长添加剂

犹他大学研究科学家 Mariluz Henshaw 使用 Allegro 一次性系统加工用于人体细胞培养的替代型生长添加剂

作为犹他大学的细胞疗法和再生医学计划中的组成部分,一个旨在开发一种用作商业细胞培养基添加剂并具有明显特征的人体血小板裂解液 (PL)的项目被启动。该添加剂的供应对于临床级人间质干细胞 (hMSC) 的培育具有重大意义。犹他大学与颇尔生命科学共同开发了一套包括相关生物容器在内的全封闭过滤系统,用于单批处理,目的是为了在清除因血小板冻融裂解而产生的沉淀物时最大程度地保护生长因子。

选择颇尔生命科学作为此项目的供应商时您做了哪些考虑?

颇尔向您提供了团队合作成果。产品供应是关键,但服务和支持也同样重要。

您以前如何评估不同的过滤器类型的?

在我们测试生长因子时,颇尔的过滤专家通过观察浊度和处理量来评估过滤器的性能。最佳的过滤器随后被纳入到一个由颇尔 专家团队定制设计的全封闭一次性 (SU) 系统中而应用于 PL 生产。包括集中袋、过滤系列、已过滤产品收集袋和用于产品再分配的系列采样袋。

颇尔的 Allegro 生物容器, Kleenpak 囊式过滤器和管道套件的灵活性是如何满足一个随时可用的密闭系统的要求的?

颇尔产品的可放大性允许我们在较小的规模上进行验证,无需任何进一步的工艺开发工作。管道套件的定制设计让我们克服了工艺的局限性。使用 Kleenpak 无菌连接器连接子系统,为产品在转运过程中保持无菌提供了简单的方法。

何种验证和技术支持对于您而言是重要的?

颇尔技术团队对我们的工艺目标十分了解,确保优良的工程和设计。我们从早期开发直至完成工艺验证的整个过程中得到了巨大的支持。

帮助和协助的程度远远超出了我的期望。

在运用 Allegro 系统进行制备后,作为产物的培养基添加剂在您培养靶细胞过程中表现如何?

与未处理的 PL 材料相比,使用经过滤的 PL 添加剂在三个验证批次中,生长的 hMSC 保留了 90% 的活性。这是具有良好特性的 PL 产品达到商品化的第一步。我们预计临床级 hMSCs 的生产需求将日益增加,因此 PL 的供应将对该工艺起到至关重要的作用。

网络集锦

在当前提高生产效率的行业环境中,颇尔生命科学认识到让您了解最新的行业问题、趋势和创新的重要性,而且现在就为您提供这样的良机,请您参加一系列定期的和按需的现场或网络教育活动。我们提供各种研讨会、展览和网络讲座,现在就根据您的需求进行选择!

生物制药网络讲座系列
生物制药网络讲座系列详细介绍了最新的行业发展趋势并提供新技术的最新消息,极富教育意义且引人入胜。由生物制药行业的领导者和专家主讲。您错过了一堂实时网络讲座?没问题。如需更多信息及注册近期和按需网络讲座,请访问 www.pall.com/biopharmwebinars

未来的邮件将通知近期有关上游、下游及灌装操作的一次性主题。网络讲座主题将在讲座开播前几周前公布。注册加入我们的邮件列表,请访问 www.pall.com/opt-in

生物制药研讨会系列
我们的生物制药研讨会系列将涉及到互动讨论、演示、最尖端的领先技术以及覆盖上游细胞培养、下游纯化直至配制和灌装的一系列专业知识,是您及时了解发展迅猛的多元化生物制药市场的良机。颇尔诚邀您从各种研讨会中进行选择,这些研讨会将为您提供教育、支持和灵感,从而帮助您实现目标,且无需任何费用便可轻松参与。如需更多信息、注册预先安排的活动或提交让颇尔拜访您的申请,请访问 www.pall.com/biopharmseminars...

“探索您的未来…始于今日!”是为期一天的定期系列研讨会,您将可借此特殊机会听到生物技术方面区域性思想领导者对于关键问题的看法,并找出如何利用最新的技术创新,提高您实验室规模工艺的效率和质量的方法。目前在欧洲提供

“技术展示”提供从实验室到生产的多样化产品、服务和专业技术意见,在您和您的团队最方便的日期和时间,到您的所在地进行。这一极具灵活性的活动旨在满足您的特定需求,节省了您离开所在地的时间和花销。全球范围内提供

“灵活思考”是集信息模块、演示和讨论为一体的特殊一日活动,将向您展示一次性技术的最新发展概况。我们的专家将现场帮助您解决工艺问题,并讨论如何最好地执行一次性系统的验证。目前在欧洲和美洲提供

有关我们的网络讲座和研讨会的更多信息,请联系 bpvision@pall.com

Bioprocess Vision - Issue 4 - March 2013

Regional Versions (PDFs):

Market Trends

Improved Bioreactor Design for Laboratory to Production Suite Operations

XRS 20 Bioreactor systemBiotech manufacturers today are rapidly adopting singleuse technologies for almost every unit operation in the manufacturing process. Upstream cell culture fermentation operations are no exception; manufacturers are increasingly moving the first generations of single-use bioreactor systems from the R&D facility into pilot scale and full production scale facilities. As these systems are more widely used, shortcomings in robustness, productivity, and overall ease-of-use are receiving more attention.

Bioreactor systems offer challenges from the ease-of-use and robustness perspective. These systems are almost unique in biotech operations in the requirement to integrate moving parts (the agitation system), multiple parameter process measurement and control, and multiple gas/fluid for additions/withdrawal - all into a single-use biocontainer that is easy to install, and maintains 100% fluid/ gas integrity during the expected service life in use.

Recognizing the need for a "next generation" of high performance single use bioreactor systems, Pall Corporation is working to bring to market new bioreactor designs for a variety of single-use upstream applications. The first product, the XRS 20 Bioreactor system, is a rocker style bioreactor designed for seed trains, small scale GMP operations, and general laboratory needs where high capability control systems are required. The XRS system improves on existing rocker-style bioreactor designs with 2 axis rocking, creating a three-dimensional swirling motion for improved agitation and superior oxygen transfer to the cultures.

For more information about this new system, please contact your local Pall representative, or contact

Product News

Single-Use Filling Needles

AllegroTM single-use filling needlesNo more washing and reusing stainless Label-Free Analysis steel needles and performing associated validation. No more having to throw away stainless steel to avoid the risk of cross contamination. Allegro™ single-use filling needlesare a robust, fully qualified engineered plastic alternative that matches or exceeds stainless needles in precision and fill accuracy. By pre-assembling into single-use filling manifolds that can be supplied sterile (by gamma irradiation), attaching tubing to needles in the confines of an isolator and maintaining sterility during connection becomes a thing of the past. A pyrogen-free & endotoxin claim (per USP 85) and a particle release claim (USP 788) is unique to the Allegro single-use filling needle.
  • Only commercially available needle that can be autoclaved & gamma irradiated
  • Fully biocompatible materials; meet USP <87> and <88> for Class VI-121 °C plastics
  • Full traceability, each needle labeled with part number and batch number
  • Suitable for a broad range of filling volumes
  • Lumen diameters of 0.8, 1.6 or 3.2 mm
For further information visit the Allegro™ Single-Use Filling Needles product page.

Salt Tolerant Anion Exchange Chromatography Sorbent

HyperCelTM STAR AX chromatography sorbentThe new HyperCel™ STAR AX chromatography sorbent is a versatile, high productivity anion exchange sorbent that maintains high protein binding capacity with various diluted or non-diluted biological feedstocks. It can be used for capture, purification or polishing of proteins from cell culture, bacterial fermentation, plasma or other feedstock.

Based on the industry-proven HyperCel matrix, the new sorbent provides:
  • Efficient protein capture with feedstock conductivities of 2-15 mS/cm for high flexibility
  • Superior dynamic binding capacities at 1-2 min residence time for high productivity
  • Better process economics to eliminate unit operations like UF/DF or dilution
  • Easy packing/unpacking and cleaning in place (1 M NaOH)
For further information visit the HyperCel™ STAR AX product page.

Octet from ForteBio: A Leader in Real-Time No more washing and reusing stainless Label-Free Analysis

Octet systemForteBio, a Division of Pall Life Sciences, develops and manufactures analytical systems to provide rapid, real-time results for protein quantification or characterization of bio-molecular interaction providing information on affinity, kinetics, and concentration in a wide variety of applications.

ForteBio utilizes proprietary Bio-Layer Interferometry (BLI) and ready-to-use Dip and ReadTM disposable biosensors to measure concentrations and kinetic rates of critical samples, even in crude media, in a cost effective format. An entire analysis can be completed on the Octet system within minutes. ForteBio's analytical capabilities provide greater value in applications where existing methods such as HPLC, ELISA, and SPR have limitations in throughput, performance, and cost.

ForteBio is now recognized as an important enabler in major pharmaceutical, biotech and academic research departments. Greater than 500 systems and 5 million Dip and Read biosensors have been shipped signifying rapid adoption of BLI based label-free tools.

For further information visit Octet® RED384 and Octet QK384 Systems product page.


New member of the Seitz® filter family

SUPRAcap 50 depth filter capsulesSUPRAcap 50 depth filter capsulesrepresent an important addition to the SUPRAcap capsule range and enable reliable scalability for the successful product transfer from R&D through pilot scale and on to full scale production. SUPRAcap 50 capsules incorporate the same design principles as the larger scale depth filter formats like SUPRAdisc™ and Stax™ and feature the same patented inside-outside flow design.
  • Identical flow resistance
  • Identical flow path configuration
  • Full utilization of the entire filter area
These attributes utilized in small bench scale evaluation will allow for even further improved scalability in depth filtration. Supported by tightly controlled media manufacturing to ensure reliable results each and every time comparable to larger scale SUPRAcap and Stax capsules, the new SUPRAcap 50 capsules will make for a perfect start into your new filtration project.

For further information visit the Supracap™ 50 Depth Filter Capsules product page.


Processing Alternative Growth Supplement For Human Cell Culture Using Allegro Single-Use Systems

Mariluz Henshaw Research Scientist University of Utah Processing alternative growth supplement for human cell culture using Allegro Single-Use Systems

As part of the Cell Therapy and Regenerative Medicine Program at the University of Utah, a project was initiated to develop a wellcharacterized human platelet lysate (PL) for use as a commercial cell culture media supplement. The availability of such a supplement is critical to manufacturing of clinical-grade human mesenchymal stem cells (hMSC). University of Utah worked with Pall Life Sciences to develop a fully closed filtration system with associated biocontainers for batch processing, with the objective to maximize the preservation of growth factors while removing precipitates resulting from freeze-thaw lysis of the platelets.

What were your considerations for selecting Pall Life Sciences as a supplier for this project?

Pall provided a collaborative team approach. Product availability is key, but the service and support are just as important.

How did you go about evaluating different filter types?

Pall's filtration experts looked at turbidity and throughput to evaluate the filters' performance, while we tested for growth factors. The optimal filters were then incorporated into a closed single use (SU) system for PL processing that was custom designed by Pall's team of experts. This consisted of a pooling bag, the filtration train, a collection bag for the filtered product and a series of sampling bags for product redistribution.

How did the flexibility of Pall's Allegro biocontainers, Kleenpak™ filter capsules and tubing sets meet the requirement of a closed, ready-to-use system?

The scalability of Pall products allowed us to do our validation runs at a smaller scale without need for any further process development work. Custom design of the tubing sets allowed us to overcome process limitations. Linking subsystems using Kleenpak sterile connectors provided a simple way of maintaining sterility during product transfers.

What validation and technical support is essential to you?

Pall's technical team's understanding of our process objectives enabled good engineering and design. We had tremendous support from early process development through completion of the process validation runs.

The extent of the help and assistance far exceeded my expectations.

Following preparation using the Allegro systems, how did the resulting culture media supplement perform in growing your target cell type?

The average hMSC growth over three validation runs with the filtered PL supplement retained 90% of the activity, compared to unprocessed PL material. This is the first step to having a commercially available well-characterized PL product. We anticipate a growing need to manufacture clinical-grade hMSCs, so availability of PL will be critical in the process.

Internet Highlights

In the current climate of improving manufacturing efficiencies, Pall Life Sciences recognizes the importance of keeping you informed on the latest industry issues, trends, and innovations and now offers you the opportunity to participate in a series of scheduled and on-demand educational events, either on location or via the web. Select from a variety of seminars, exhibits, and webinars that best meets your needs today!

Biopharmaceutical Webinar Series
Detailing the latest industry trends and providing updates on new technologies, the Biopharmaceutical Webinar Series is both educational and engaging. The presentations are given by biopharmaceutical industry leaders and experts. Have you missed one of our live webinars? Not a problem. Please visit for more information and to register for upcoming and on-demand webinars.

Future emails will notify you of upcoming single-use related topics specific to upstream, downstream, and filling operations. Webinar topics will be announced several weeks in advance of their live dates. To sign up for our mailing list, please visit

Biopharmaceutical Seminar Series
Interactive discussions, and presentations, state-of –the- art leading technologies and expertise from upstream cell culture through downstream purification to formulation and filling, our Biopharmaceutical Seminar Series is a great opportunity to stay informed in the diverse and rapidly expanding biopharmaceuticals market. Pall invites you to choose from a variety of seminars that will help educate, support and inspire you to achieve your goals at no cost to you and when it is most convenient. Please visit for more information and to register for a pre-scheduled event or submit a request for Pall to visit you...

Discover your Future... Today! is a series of one-day scheduled seminars offering you a unique chance to hear from regional opinion leaders in biotechnology on key issues and find out how the latest technical innovations can improve both the efficiency and quality of your laboratory scale processes. Currently being offered in Europe

Technology Showcase delivers a diverse portfolio of products, services, and technical expertise from the laboratory to production on-site at your location on the day and time that is most convenient for you and your teams. The flexibility of this event is designed to meet your specific needs without the time and cost of leaving your facility. Available Globally

Think Flexibly is a special day of informative modules, demos and discussion to provide an overview of the latest developments in single-use technology. Our experts will be available to help you address processing issues and discuss how to best perform validation of single-use systems. Currently being offered in Europe and the Americas

For further information on our webinars and seminars, please contact