疫苗分类



Edward Jenner 的故事众所周知,虽然一种有意转移脓或疤天花的疫苗形式的应用早在16 世纪中期甚至更早的时候已出现于中国,并在17 世纪中期传到欧洲。 这是 Jenner 进行探索的基础,也是活病毒疫苗的示例——天花是由天花 DNA 病毒 (Variola) 引起,而类似的牛痘病毒会引起牛痘。在过去的一年中,这个故事重新回到原点,因为早在 1980 年已被根除的天花可能会被用作生物恐怖剂,这种可能性使得人们不得不再次生产和储存天花疫苗。

 











然而,在 Jenner 之后的两百年,天花病毒和牛痘病毒的全基因组已经测序完成。 我们了解蛋白质和其他病毒滤壳组件的结构,并有可能生产比原有病毒疫苗特性更好、生产工艺更安全和简单、还可能更容易储存的重组疫苗。然而,就当前所需而言,目前的天花疫苗——来自源于原有皮肤生长 Dryvax 疫苗的牛痘株——均在 Acambis 的细胞培养基中生长,降低了脑炎等副作用的风险。在欧洲,北欧巴伐利亚也生产细胞培养的牛痘。

这些病毒均可逐渐减弱。也就是说,它们的毒性在经过多次细胞培养周期后会逐渐减弱。对于腮腺炎病毒疫苗而言,在通过鸡胚细胞培养后,其毒性会受到影响。其他毒性减弱的疫苗可能已经过化学或物理处理。死亡和灭活疫苗相似;通常经过福尔马林处理,但仍然有注入完整有机体的效应机理。脊髓灰质炎就是此类疫苗的示例

细菌疫苗可能是完整有机体,例如,另一种“旧”疫苗——卡介苗——一种用于肺结核的减毒杆菌,但更常见的是抗原或亚单位疫苗。产生毒素的细菌可发展类毒素——通过修饰蛋白质消除毒素影响的修饰毒素——例如白喉疫苗。抗菌血症感染的疫苗通常会使用细菌细胞的组成部分——壁蛋白或多糖,例如脑膜炎疫苗。

直至二十世纪八十年代中期,市面上基本涵盖了这类常规疫苗,包括世界上大部分最严重的感染性疾病。然而,仍然有很大人群没有得到相对常见疾病的免疫保护。尤其是幼儿,他们无法有效接种针对常见儿童疾病的疫苗。例如嗜血杆菌感染。这是因为尽管有可用疫苗,但具体效果还取决于机体能否对细菌胞壁多糖产生免疫应答。大龄儿童和成人的免疫系统已经非常成熟,可对多糖产生反应,引起非 T 细胞依赖的B 细胞反应,但对婴幼儿而言却并非如此。

对免疫系统作用机制的研究使人们发现,一旦触发反应,依赖于 T 细胞的抗体反应就会产生针对任何与主触发器相关的外来物质的抗体。因此,如果将你期望对其产生免疫反应的胞壁多糖与能够引起反应的适当分子相关联,就会产生针对这两种分子的抗体。这就是使儿科疫苗接种计划发生革命性变化的结合疫苗大获成功的基本原理。目前市场上已经有各种各样的这类疫苗,第一个是b 型嗜血杆菌疫苗。仅仅三年的时间,这些新型疫苗就取代了传统的多糖疫苗。

将两种或以上的不同分子通过共价键连接的结合技术目前正广泛应用于多种疫苗中。针对多种血清型的肺炎球菌感染以及更多类型脑膜炎的结合疫苗也已上市。

结合疫苗还有望解决伴随古老疾病而产生的各种问题。例如,用于肺结核的 BCG 疫苗无法用于免疫抑制性疾病(如通过 HIV 感染的疾病),因为它是一种完整的、活的减毒细菌疫苗。但是,适当类毒素和肺结核胞壁糖类的结合可提供一种相对简单、稳定且特征明显的疫苗,能够量产并对这种目标群体效果显著。

Classes of Vaccines



The story of Edward Jenner is well known, although a form of vaccination deliberately transferring smallpox from pus or scabs was in use in China in the mid 16th century, or even much earlier, and arrived in Europe in the mid 1700’s.  This was the basis for Jenner’s discovery and an example of a live viral vaccine – smallpox is caused by an orthopox DNA virus, Variola, while the similar Vaccinia virus causes cowpox. In the past year, this story has come full circle because smallpox, having been eradicated in 1980, presents a potential to be used as a bioterrorism agent that has led to a need to manufacture and stockpile smallpox vaccines once again.

 











Two hundred years after Jenner, however, the complete genomes of both Variola and Vaccinia have been sequenced.  We know the structure of the proteins and other virus coat components and can potentially produce recombinant vaccines that are better characterized, produced more safely and easily and are also potentially easier to stockpile than the original viral vaccines. For the immediate needs, however, current smallpox vaccines, from a Vaccinia strain derived from the original skin-grown Dryvax, are grown in cell culture by Acambis and have less risk of side effects such as encephalitis. In Europe, Bavarian Nordic also produces cell-grown Vaccinia.

These viruses are attenuated. That is, their virulence is reduced by being passed many times through multiple cell culture cycles. In the case of mumps virus vaccine, attenuation is effected by passage through chick embryo cell culture. Other attenuated vaccines may have been chemically or physically treated. Killed and inactivated vaccines are similar; often formalin treated, but still have the effector mechanism of injection of a whole organism. Polio is an example of such a vaccine

Bacterial vaccines may be whole organism, such as another “old” vaccine – BCG – an attenuated Bacillus used for TB, but are more commonly antigen or subunit vaccines. Toxin-producing bacteria have vaccines developed from toxoids – modified toxins where the toxic effect is eliminated by modification of the protein – such as diphtheria. Vaccines against bacteraemic infections typically use a component of the bacterial cell -  wall protein or polysaccharide, for example meningitis vaccine.

Until the mid 1980s, these were essentially the only types of vaccines available and a wide selection of the worlds worst infectious diseases were largely covered. However, there were still large groups within the population that were left unprotected against relatively common diseases. In particular, young children could not be efficaciously vaccinated against common childhood complaints such as Haemophilus. This is because, although a vaccine was available, it relied on the development of an antigenic response to the bacterial cell wall polysaccharides. In older children and adults, the immune system is mature enough to develop a response to polysaccharides, which invoke a direct B-cell response, i.e. are T-cell independent, but in infants this is not the case.

Research on mechanism of action of the immune system led to the discovery that once a response was triggered, the T-cell dependent antibody response would generate antibodies to any foreign material associated with the principal trigger. Consequently, if the cell wall polysaccharides that you required an immune response against were linked to a suitable molecule that would develop a response, antibodies against both molecules would be produced. This is the basis of operation of the hugely successful conjugate vaccines that have revolutionized pediatric vaccination programs. A variety of these vaccines are now available, the first being Haemophilus influenzae B (meningitis) vaccines. In only three years, these new vaccines displaced the traditional polysaccharide vaccines.

Conjugation, linking two or more dissimilar molecules together by covalent bonding, is now being applied to a wide range of vaccines. Conjugate vaccines against multiple serotypes of pneumococcal infections are available, as well as against further types of Meningitis.

Conjugate vaccines also hold promise for emergent problems with old diseases. For example, the BCG vaccine for tuberculosis cannot be used in those immunosuppressed, for such as through HIV infection, because it is a whole, live, attenuated bacterial vaccine. However, a conjugate of a suitable toxoid with a tuberculosis cell wall saccharide could provide a relatively simple vaccine that would be stable, well characterized, able to be made in quantity and which could be effective in this target population.