结合疫苗的生产



结合疫苗生产步骤总结如下:

  • 蛋白质生产: 寄助物发酵、
    收集、清洁、均化、回收并纯化蛋白质
  • 多糖生产:供体发酵、破坏细胞、纯化多糖、水解(酸、高碘酸盐)缩减
  • 衍生化:使两种成分反应
  • 结合:使各成分共同反应
  • 纯化:清除不需要的化合物
  • 加工和装填:浓缩至终凝强度,渗析至适当溶质,按液体无菌装填或冻干
 











这些样品活动的每一项皆需采取诸多极为精准的中间步骤。

疫苗的衍生化和结合将使用许多试剂。尽管蛋白质的制备和纯化程序相对较简单,但是糖类成分的制备、添加以及随后试剂的清除工作则颇为棘手。

已纯化的散装糖类缩减后必须按尺寸分类以满足产品规格。该步骤可通过体积排阻层析完成,但可能产生更大容量的稀释材料,而需通过超滤进行浓缩。因此,许多疫苗按超滤膜大小进行生产,糖类混合物则通过两个或更多不同的超滤膜进行过滤。例如,50 千道尔顿 (KD) 膜可用于排除大型污染、多糖聚合物和较大的多糖分子。

然后,滤液将流经 10KD 膜,该步骤将清除工艺中所用的小型分子、盐和溶剂,留下两道滤膜之间所“捕获”且尺寸范围相对较窄的多种低聚糖。

衍生化后,未反应的种类还可通过 10KD 膜冲洗,且处理后的低聚糖将洗滤成适合于随后结合反应的溶液。

可采用相似过程清除蛋白质中不需要的试剂。结合完成后,结合物还可再次通过小型多孔性超滤膜以清除未反应的结合化学物,并再次将结合物浓缩或洗滤至最终制剂强度和载液,然后形成含任何所需佐剂和防腐剂的制剂。

对某些疫苗而言,本产品为多价产品,换言之,其由多种糖类血清型组成。在这种情况下,每种血清型均单独制备和结合,然后在最终制剂中将多种血清型混合。Prevnar (Wyeth) 就是这样一类疫苗,含七种不同的多糖 – 血清型 4、6B、9V、14、18C、19F 和 23F,代表着最常见的类型。正在开发中的全新育苗将针对更多的血清型。这将使生产过程进一步复杂化,因为每一种均须单独生产和控制。这种复杂性使这种疫苗在可使用此类疫苗的发展中地区的经济高效的运输成为一大难题,也为在没有世界卫生组织和世界银行等组织的干预下可能无法购买此类疫苗的人士带来不便。

但是,仍可使用一些简单设备,至少在某种程度上可减少该类成本,且实际上美国、印度和亚洲的一些疫苗制造商也已使用这类设备。平板膜包通常用于超滤阶段,每个使用阶段配有专用支架和系统。对于多价疫苗以及含诸多 UF 工艺步骤的疫苗(甚至是单个的血清型),则此类多系统的成本可能较高。连续大量生产某种给定疫苗时,则此类成本更易于合理化。一次性技术可实现多种试剂制备、除菌过滤和混合,而基本无需使用资本设备。但是,较大规模的 UF 系统目前暂无法提供一次性技术。可提供含塑料衬管的系统,因此,仅需一套不锈钢罐(不接触液体)和数套衬管,每套专门用于单独的工艺部分或甚至还可用作一次性产品。

Manufacturing of Conjugate Vaccines

The steps in the production of conjugate vaccines can be summarized as follows:

  • Protein production:  fermentation of host organism,
    collect, wash, homogenize, recover and purify protein
  • Polysaccharide production: fermentation of donor organism, disrupt cells, purify polysaccharide, trim by hydrolysis (acid, periodate)
  • Derivativization: make both components reactive
  • Conjugation: React components together
  • Purification: Remove unwanted compounds
  • Finish and fill: Concentrate to final strength, dialyse into appropriate solute, sterile fill as liquid or lyophilize

Each of these simple activities does require a number of very precise intermediate steps.

A large number of reagents are used to derivatize and conjugate these vaccines. While preparation and purification of the protein is a relatively straightforward procedure, preparing the saccharide components, adding, and then removing reagents is less so.

Purified bulk saccharides, when trimmed, have to be sorted into size classes to meet the specifications of the product. This can be done by size exclusion chromatography, but tends to result in larger volumes of dilute material, which needs to be concentrated by ultrafiltration. Many vaccines are therefore produced by ultrafiltration membrane sizing; the saccharide mixture is filtered through two or more different ultrafiltration membranes. For example, a 50 kiloDalton (KD) membrane may be used to exclude large contaminants, polysaccharide aggregates and larger polysaccharide molecules.

The filtrate is then passed over a 10KD membrane, which removes small molecules, salts and solvents that have been used in the process, leaving a range of oligosaccharides with a fairly tight size range “trapped” between these two membranes.

Upon derivativization, the unreacted species can also be flushed through the 10KD membrane and the treated oligosaccharides diafiltered into a solution appropriate for the subsequent conjugation reaction.

A similar process can be used to remove unwanted reagent from the protein. Once conjugation is completed, the conjugate can once again be passed over a small porosity ultrafiltration membrane to remove the unreacted conjugation chemicals, and once again concentrate or diafilter the conjugate into the final formulation strength and carrier fluid, before formulation with any adjuvants and preservatives that may be required.

For some vaccines, the product is multivalent – that is, it is comprised of mutltiple saccharide serotypes. In this case, each serotype is prepared and conjugated separately, and then the serotypes are mixed together in final formulation. Prevnar (Wyeth) is an example of such a vaccine, with seven different polysaccharides – serotypes 4, 6B, 9V, 14, 18C, 19F and 23F, representing the most frequently encountered. New vaccines are in development that address even more serotypes. This further complicates manufacturing, as each must be produced and controlled separately. This complexity is one barrier to transfer in a cost effective way of this type of vaccine to developing areas of the world that could use such vaccines, and who may not be able, without intervention of organizations such as WHO and the World Bank, to purchase such vaccines.

There is some simple equipment available, however, which can at least go some way to mitigating this cost and is, in fact, used in several vaccine manufacturers in the USA, India and Asia. For the ultrafiltration stages, flat sheet membrane cassettes are typically used with dedicated holders and systems for each stage of usage. For multivalent vaccines, and vaccines with many UF processing steps for even a single serotype, the cost of such multiple systems can be high. Such costs are more easily justified when producing large quantities of a given vaccine on a continuous basis. Disposable technologies allow the preparation of many of the reagents, sterile filtration, and compounding with little need for capital equipment. However, larger scale UF systems are not currently available as disposables. What is available are systems with plastic liners, so that only a single set of stainless steel tanks (which do not contact the liquids) is required, and numerous sets of liners used, each one dedicated to a single part of the process or even used as a disposable item.