生物制药

微生物培养工艺

查看流程图

长久以来,细菌一直用于生产蛋白质治疗产品,而重组胰岛素则是此类大规模生产的首选蛋白质。颇尔 过滤器在工艺开始阶段中用来对细菌生长所需的大量空气或氧气进行消毒,收获细菌并纯化所得提取的产品,直至完成对大剂量药物的除菌处理。

尽管某些细菌目前正处于研发阶段,以期在培养基或壁膜间隙中表达蛋白质,但在大多数情况下,蛋白质、质粒、多糖和其他生物技术分子已成型并通常以不溶性包涵体存留于细菌细胞中,而在进入下游纯化之前必须从包涵体中提取出来。

相对于动物细胞而言,细菌似乎更可靠且在大量高密度培养条件下更经得起检验。但是,在大多数情况下,因为生产的蛋白质不会按哺乳动物蛋白质的方式折叠或糖化,因此需进一步进行工艺处理,以便其更适于使用。将使用化学工艺以按要求再折叠蛋白质。细菌遗传工程方面的前沿发展正在应对这些不足。

细菌广泛用于生产重组疫苗成分(蛋白质和多糖)以及过敏原和诸多用于治疗、预防、诊断和美容的其他分子。

某些酵母也以相同方式使用。用于抗生素等小分子生产的细菌和真菌涵盖于原料药部分。

返回顶部

  生物技术介绍
生物技术能力
生物技术:动物细胞培养工艺
生物技术:微生物培养工艺
生物技术:基因改造工艺

生物技术:分离与净化
生物技术:培养基制备
细胞收获及产品回收
缓冲液过滤及制备
生物技术:产品纯化
生物技术:污染清除
生物技术:制剂和灌装

返回顶部

Microbial Culture Processes

View Process Diagram

Bacteria have long been used to manufacture protein therapeutics, with recombinant insulin being the first protein manufactured this way in large-scale production. Pall® filters are used to sterilize the large volumes of air or oxygen needed to support bacterial growth at the start of the process, harvesting the bacteria and purifying the resulting extracted product all the way through to sterilizing the bulk drug.

Although some bacteria are now being engineered to express protein into the culture medium, or into the periplasmic space, in most cases proteins, plasmids, polysaccharides and other biotechnology molecules are formed and remain within the bacterial cell – often as insoluble Inclusion Bodies, from which they have to be extracted before downstream purification.

Bacteria tend to be more robust and more amenable to large volume high density culture than animal cells. However, in most cases, the proteins produced need further processing to render them suitable for use, as they may not be folded or glycosylated in the same way that mammalian proteins are. Chemical processes are then used to refold the proteins as required. Advances in bacterial genetic engineering are starting to address some of these shortcomings.

Bacteria are widely used to produce recombinant vaccine components (proteins and polysaccharides), as well as allergens and many other molecules used for therapeutic, prophylactic, diagnostic and cosmetic uses.

Some yeasts are used in the same way. Bacteria and fungi cultured for the production of small molecules such as antibiotics are covered in the Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients section.


  Biotechnology Introduction
Biotechnology Capabilities
Biotechnology: Animal Cell Culture Processes
Biotechnology: Microbial Culture Processes
Biotechnology: Transgenic Processes

Biotechnology: Separation and Purification
Biotechnology: Culture Media Preparation
Cell Harvesting and Product Recovery
Buffer Filtration and Preparation
Biotechnology: Product Purification
Biotechnology: Contaminant Removal
Biotechnology: Formulation and Filling