切向流过滤组件

膜包

超滤(UF)膜

Omega 膜
颇尔的 Omega 聚醚砜 (PES) 膜可提供高流量和多种选择。这类膜已进行专门改进,可最大限度地降低表面蛋白质结合量以及膜的填隙结构。由于 PES 的独特化学特性,这种高分子膜具有稳定的抗生物和物理降解性能。

Omega 膜在多孔非织造聚烯烃支架上铸造而成。这类膜拥有各向异性结构、一层薄如皮肤的顶层以及多孔底层支持。外皮结构决定了膜的多孔性和渗透性特征,与拥有均匀次微米深层结构的膜相比,其能更快且亦更易于进行清洁。 这类膜可与酸、碱以及各类其他清洁剂兼容,以优化清洁程序。

Omega 膜可提供从 1 – 1,000 kDa 不等的各种标称截留分子量 (MWCO)。

再生纤维素膜
再生纤维素膜表面具有亲水性,并展现出低蛋白结合特性。使用低浓度苛性碱溶液通常可完好清洁这类膜。尽管其水通量通常低于 PES 膜,但工艺流量可能更具可比价值。

微滤(MF)膜

Supor TFF 膜
Supor TFF 膜是一种具有均匀深度结构的聚醚砜膜。膜的孔隙度已进行优化,可用于微滤 TFF ,包括收获、浓缩和细胞培养液和发酵液澄清。目前有0.1、0.2、0.45、0.65微米孔径大小的膜可供使用用户可利用 Supor TFF 膜收获细菌、哺乳动物和昆虫细胞;从血红蛋白中分离红细胞;澄清酵母发酵液和细菌裂解液。
 

















TFF 膜包

Minimate 切向流囊式过滤器
 Minimate TFF 滤囊操作简便,是进行实验室级别的较小规模切向流过滤工艺试验的有力工具。这种多功能的“即插即用”型独立设备(无需支架)可与 Minimate TFF 系统 Minim II 切向流过滤配合使用。设备随附配件和管道,可轻松安装至大多数小型过滤系统中。可迅速将1升的样品浓缩至5 mL ,且整个操作过程基本无需人为参与。可在同一设备和系统中依次进行样品浓缩和洗滤(脱盐),从而节省时间,并避免因样品转移导致的产品损失。Minimate TFF 囊式过滤器采用颇尔的专利 Omega 低非特异吸附性 UF 膜,提供各种截留分子量,可有效提高产品回收率。Minimate TFF 囊式过滤器可用于生物技术、分子生物学、蛋白质化学、微生物学和免疫学等领域的各种 TFF 应用。

Omega T 系列膜包
T 系列膜包代表了颇尔在切向流过滤技术上的领先地位。这些膜包采用颇尔的专利 Omega 膜,并在材料和设计方面做了重大改进,有效优化了分离效率。Omega T 系列膜包已在我们的 Centramate™ 和 Centrasette™ 筛网通道形式的产品中成功应用。

Omega C & F 系列膜包
面世已久的 C & F 系列 TFF 膜包采用 Omega UF 膜或 Supor TFF MF 膜。这些膜包提供 Centramate、Centrasette、Maximate 或 Maxisette 几种滤膜选项,并可选择筛网和悬浮筛网形式。

Centramate 切向流过滤膜包
Centramate™ TFF 膜包十分适合实验室规模和 TFF 工艺的开发应用。小面积膜包(0.019 米2)可用于Centramate™ LV 切向流过滤膜包夹具,处理量可从几毫升到数升。

较大面积的 0.1 米2 膜包适合多种 Centramate 夹具,这些夹具最多可叠加五个膜包,处理量从1 升到 50 多升不等。在 Centramate 膜包上进行开发时可通过在 Centramate 夹具上叠加膜包或转换至具有相同膜材、路径长度和流道模式的 Centrasette 膜包形式而轻松放大。

Centrasette 切向流过滤膜包
Centrasette TFF 膜包可提供与 Centramate 膜包相同的滤膜和筛网形式,但其体积及膜面积更大,是各种切向流过滤进行中试或大规模生产作业的理想选择,例如生物制药行业中的浓缩和洗滤。这些膜包可提供膜面积为 0.5 米2和 2.5 米2 的多种结构膜包可叠放于夹具上以构建膜面积大于 80 米2 的系统。

Maximate 切向流过滤膜包
Maximate TFF 膜包提供与 Centramate/Centrasette 膜包同样的滤膜、筛网和悬浮筛网形式。它们可为小规模膜包模拟较大 Maxisette 膜包的性能提供可靠参考。Maximate 膜包的独特优势使它们可作为较大规模 TFF 工艺的开发工具。

Maxisette 切向流过滤膜包
Maxisette TFF 膜包与 Maximate 膜包具有同样的优势,适合在规模更大的工艺处理过程。 所需体积流量与 Centrasette 膜包相比低 40%。 Maxisette 中的较大端口(几乎大 50%)可降低对高进料低流量的阻力,从而降低压降并使清洁变得更为轻松。 Omega UF 或 Supor TFF MF 膜包可提供筛网和悬浮筛网两种形式。

切向流过滤膜包夹具

颇尔® TFF 夹具专为获得最佳性能和产品回收率而设计,可提供多种尺寸以充分满足各种应用需求。

Centramate™ LV 切向流过滤膜包夹具
不锈钢 Centramate LV 夹具最多可容纳两个 Centramate 0.019 米2 的膜包。 该夹具可整合到由储存容器、泵以及管道、阀门、配件和压力表等附件组成的系统中。该支架通常用于 Minim II 切向流过滤系统,也可整合到 Minimate TFF 系统中。

Centramate PE 切向流过滤膜包夹具
Centramate PE 支架设有一根 ¼ 英寸的聚乙烯导流管。NPT-螺纹端口夹于 304 不锈钢外板中间,适合于非金属接触类的应用。Centramate PE 夹具特别适用于将 0.1 m2 的膜包用作一次性组件的应用,可免除清洁和清洁验证。该夹具最多可容纳四个筛网通道膜包,并可提供两个或三个压力表装配套件。泵和储存容器(Ultralab 系统)的添加使系统更加完善。

Centramate 不锈钢 (SS) 切向流过滤膜包夹具
Centramate 不锈钢膜包夹具 (316L) 的进料和滤过端配有 ½ 英寸卫生级法兰接口。最多可容纳五个 0.1 m2 筛网通道膜包。该夹具可提供两至三个压力表装配套件。泵和储存容器(Ultralab 系统)的添加使系统更加完善。Centramate SS 夹具还可整合到 Centramate™ 500 S 台式切向流过滤中。

Centrasette™ LV 不锈钢切向流过滤膜包夹具
Centrasette 5 夹具采用 316L 不锈钢制成,精细抛光。这些夹具特别适合安装 0.5 m2 至 2.5 m2 膜面积的中试规模和生产规模应用。该夹具的进料、回流和渗透端口使用 ¾ 英寸卫生级法兰接口,可轻松连接至卫生系统并减少系统滞留量。

Centrasette™ 5 不锈钢切向流过滤膜包夹具
Centrasette 5 夹具采用精抛光 316L 不锈钢制成,安装的膜包面积为0.5 m2 至 5 m2 ,适合中试规模和生产规模应用。夹具还提供自动转矩和不锈钢活塞泵液压系统,以使安装的膜包受到均匀的挤压。 可提供两个和三个压力表装配套件。

Centrasette™ P 切向流过滤膜包夹具
Centrasette P 夹具设有聚丙烯导流板和端板,若您的产品对于金属敏感,这些夹具便是最佳之选。 导流管和底板封装于不锈钢板中间,以提供高压操作条件下所需的硬度。  ¾ 英寸卫生级聚丙烯Luer 端口可用于连接塑料压力传感器。 经济高效的塑料歧管和端板可用作一次性组件,以便免除清洁和清洁验证的必要性,还可帮助预防样品交叉污染。

Maximate™ 不锈钢切向流过滤膜包夹具
Maximate 夹具采用精抛光 316L 不锈钢制成。 该夹具适合研发和中试规模应用,特别是那些可扩展至整合了 Maxisette 结构的系统的应用。最多可容纳六个 0.18 m2 筛网通道膜包。该夹具进料和回流端为 ¾ 英寸卫生级法兰口,透过端为½ 英寸法兰口,可轻松连接至卫生系统并减少系统滞留量。系统可装配两至三个压力表的卫生级装配套件,泵和储存容器的整合可使系统更加完善。

Maxisette™ 不锈钢切向流过滤膜包夹具
Maxisette 夹具专为在大规模生产设计,以便实现最优性能,其所有液体接触表面均为电解抛光的 316 L 不锈钢。更小巧的占地面积使其成为工艺研发和生产的理想套件。进料流道由下至上,可使空气轻松排出系统。 夹具还提供带液压系统的自动转矩,以确保安装的膜包受到挤压最小且均匀。

装配包和组件

可为大多数膜包支架提供包括滤液歧管、压力表、阀门、软管连接器、垫圈和夹具的完整装配套件。预订整套装配套件及膜包夹具可简化系统安装并避免因缺少组件而导致的工艺延期。

中空纤维

颇尔的 Microza 聚合物中空纤维膜采用耐用纤维制成,可提供各种截留率、聚合物和尺寸。应用范围多种多样,包括细胞培养液澄清、关键哺乳动物细胞培养灌注中的长期无菌维护、散装酶溶液的浓缩和纯化、缓冲液和活性成分过滤,内毒素去除,及重组蛋白质的浓缩和洗滤。

可用截留精度涵盖低分子量超滤和微滤。所有 Microza 膜皆以独立膜柱形式提供,对滤壳无额外要求,简化系统设计。膜柱可经高压蒸汽处理,甚至可承受在线蒸气灭菌 (SIP)以保障无菌操作。Microza 膜表面可最大程度降低滞留并有助于清洁。

所有 Microza 膜皆一步生产成型,且不含叠层。膜和膜柱经严格质量控制,以确保性能稳定、经久耐用应用,在绝大多数情况下保持结构完整性。


中空纤维超滤膜柱

Microza 超滤膜柱由独特的双皮层专利膜组成,内部支撑密集多孔,可在较长的使用过程中提供良好的流量特征,保持纤维耐用性。Microza UF 膜可耐受双向流,可避免反压造成脱层或膜破裂等风险。实际应用中,在许多装置内,可使用反冲恢复和保持长期运行期间的流量。

SP 和 VIP 组件拥有聚砜 (PS) 膜,可提供 4 kDa、6 kDa 和 10 kDa 分子量截留,且尺寸范围为 170 cm2 (0.18 ft2) 至 5 m2 (54 ft2) 以上。这类组件满足 USP 有关 121ºC (250 ºF) VI 类塑料当前修订版所列的生物测试规范。膜柱可经高温高压消毒、蒸汽处理或化学消毒,适合各类制药应用中。生产规模膜柱可经 95 ºC (203 ºF) 的热水消毒。聚砜膜具有良好的抗压、耐温以及抵抗破坏性清洁等卓越性能,还可与 5000 ppm 次氯酸钠或 4% 氢氧化钠等各类清洁剂兼容。PS 膜具有极低的亲和力和吸收特性,保证了极高的产品回收率,并延长膜柱的使用寿命。

AP 和 AV 超滤膜柱使用聚丙烯腈 (PAN) 膜。这类膜可提供 6 kDa 和 13 kDa 分子量截留,过滤面积范围为 170 cm2 (0.18 ft2) 至 12 m2 (130 ft2) 以上。额定连续操作温度高达 50 ºC (122 ºF) 且满足 USP 有关 121 ºC (250 ºF) VI 类塑料当前修订版所列的生物测试规范。PAN 膜十分适合于如酶批量纯化等工艺应用。这类膜的高强度并配合高流量,可最大程度地降低安装尺寸。PAN 在这类应用中拥有低污垢积聚特征,可简化清洁。

中空纤维微滤膜柱

Microza 微滤膜内外膜层平滑多孔,对称支持,可提供高流量。这类膜柱还可进行反冲洗。

Microza 真空纤维微滤膜柱的 UJP 和 UMP 系列采用独特的专利低蛋白质结合聚偏二氟乙烯 (PVDF) 膜。可提供 0.2 μm 和 0.65 μm 纤维孔径,过滤面积范围为 0.02 m2 (0.21 ft2) 至 4.0 m2 (43 ft2),适用于实验室至生产规模的工艺应用。1.1 mm 和 1.4 mm 的纤维内径可降低细胞累计和堵塞纤维的可能性。这类膜柱可通过在线蒸气灭菌 (SIP) 或高温高压处理进行消毒。Microza HF 膜柱满足 USP 有关 121°C VI 类塑料当前修订版所列的生物测试规范。

对于灌注系统部分的澄清、浓缩或使用,Microza MF 膜柱旨在满足制药要求,从细菌、哺乳动物、昆虫和其他细胞的细胞培养/发酵液中回收产品。Microza MF 膜柱易于回收且可重复利用,是一种经济高效的工艺处理工具。

振动膜式过滤器 (VMF)

PallSep 振动膜过滤技术是一项适用于高要求工艺流程的使能技术,这种工艺需确保聚合物阻隔工艺的安全性,但复杂生物分子混合物的进料量很大,且粘度会有所提高。PallSep 过滤装置体现出膜过滤领域的重大创新。在所有膜工艺中,会在膜表面产生剪力以抵消膜污垢带来的影响。利用 PallSep 技术,通过进料流体,由膜元件水平振动(每秒 50 次以上)产生剪切力。该剪力大于传统切向流过滤 (TFF) 通常产生的剪力,限于膜表面上方的小型边界层且不适用于多数液体。这意味着,液体可以最低压降(甚至是跨膜压力分布)通过开放式流动路径以极其温和的方式处理成高悬浮固体水平 (>60% w/v)*。Biotech PallSep PS 50 装置由 0.2 微米聚醚砜 (PES) 膜元件(0.2、1 或 5 m2 的膜面积)的囊式堆叠构成,膜元件安装在扭杆上。小型电机产生的动能可有效转换成堆叠内的振动能量,而堆叠的振荡则受变频器控制。Biotech PallSep 装置通常用于 2 至 100 L 流体体积的工艺开发。

生物技术 VMF 系统的主要应用涉及鉴定细胞匀浆以及源自难以通过传统 TFF 或离心分离进行处理的植物和动物的提取物。应用实例包括直接处理未经预处理的菌丝发酵液以及从化学细胞裂解的重组细菌系统(用于生产治疗性疫苗)中回收细胞壁片段。

Tangential Flow Filtration Components

Membrane Cassettes

Ultrafiltration (UF) Membranes

Omega Membrane
Pall's Omega™ polyethersulfone (PES) membranes offer high flux- rates and selectivities. They have been specifically modified to minimize protein binding to the surface and interstitial structure of the membrane. This polymeric membrane is stable against biological and physical degradation due to the unique chemical properties of PES.

Omega membranes are cast on a highly porous, non-woven polyolefin support. They have an anisotropic structure, a thin skin-like top layer with a highly porous underlying support. The structure of the skin determines the porosity and permeability characteristics of the membrane and can typically be cleaned quicker and easier than membranes with a uniform, sub-micron depth structure.  This membrane is compatible with acids, bases and a variety of other cleaning agents to optimize for cleaning procedures.

Omega membranes are available in a wide range of nominal molecular weight cut-offs (MWCO) from 1 – 1,000 kDa.

Regenerated Cellulose Membrane
Regenerated cellulose membranes have hydrophilic surfaces and exhibit low protein binding characteristics. They typically clean up well with low concentrations of caustic solutions. While water fluxes are typically lower than PES membranes, the process flux can be more comparable.

Microfiltration (MF) Membranes

Supor® TFF Membrane
Supor TFF membrane is a polyethersulfone membrane with a uniform depth structure. The membrane porosity is optimized for microfiltration TFF applications including harvest, concentration and clarification of cell cultures and fermentation broths. It is currentlly available in 0.1, 0.2, 0.45, 0.65 micron pore size membranes. Use Supor TFF membranes to harvest bacterial, mammalian, and insect cells; separate red blood cells from hemoglobin; and clarify yeast broth and bacterial lysates.
 

















TFF Cassettes

Minimate™ Tangential Flow Filtration Capsules
The easy-to-use Minimate TFF capsule is a valuable tool for any laboratory requiring tangential flow filtration of small process volumes. This versatile, 'plug-and-play', self-contained device (no holder required) is designed to operate with the Minimate™ TFF System or Minim™ II Tangential Flow Filtration System. It comes supplied with fittings and tubing to simplify installation into most small filtration setups. Sample batch sizes of up to one liter can be reduced to as low as 5 mL quickly and with little user intervention. Sample concentration and diafiltration (desalting) can take place sequentially using the same device and system, saving time and avoiding product loss associated with transfer steps. Minimate TFF capsules contain Pall's proprietary Omega™ low non-specific adsorption UF membrane, available in a wide range of molecular weight cut-offs for improved  product recovery. Minimate TFF capsules can be used in a variety of TFF applications in biotechnology, molecular biology, protein chemistry, microbiology and immunology.

Omega™ T-Series Membrane Cassettes
T-Series membrane cassettes represent one of Pall’s latest advances in tangential flow filtration technology. These cassettes incorporate Pall’s proprietary Omega membrane with improvements in materials and design to optimize separation efficiency. Omega T-Series cassettes are available in our successful and long-established Centramate™ and Centrasette™ screen channel formats.

Omega™ C & F Series Cassettes
The long-established C & F Series TFF cassettes incorporate Omega UF membrane or Supor TFF MF membranes. These cassettes are available with Centramate, Centrasette, Maximate™ or Maxisette™ membranes, in both screen and suspended screen formats.

Centramate™ Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassettes
Centramate™ TFF cassettes are perfect for laboratory-scale and development applications in TFF. Small area format (0.019 m2) can be used with Centramate™ LV Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassette holders to process volumes of a few milliliters to several liters.

The larger, 0.1 m2 area cassettes fit in various Centramate holders where up to five cassettes can be stacked to process volumes from < 1 L to > 50 L. Applications developed on a Centramate cassette can be easily scaled up by stacking cassettes in a Centramate holder or by switching to the Centrasette cassette format with identical membrane, path length and channel format.

Centrasette™ Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassettes
Centrasette TFF cassettes are available in the same range of membrane and screen formats as Centramate cassettes, but with a larger footprint and membrane area. These are ideal for pilot-scale or production-scale work in various tangential flow filtration applications, including concentration and diafiltration by the biopharmaceutical industry. These cassettes are available in several formats with membrane area of 0.5 m2 and 2.5 m2. Cassettes may be stacked in holders to build systems with membrane areas > 80 m2.

Maximate™ Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassettes
Maximate TFF cassettes are available in the same membranes and screen and suspended screen formats as the Centramate/Centrasette cassettes. They offer the opportunity to simulate the performance of the larger Maxisette cassette on a smaller scale. Maximate cassettes have distinct benefits that make them advantageous as a development tool for larger-volume TFF processes.

Maxisette™ Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassettes
Maxisette TFF cassettes offer the same benefits as the Maximate cassette for much larger volume processes.  The volumetric flow rate required is 40% lower compared to Centrasette cassettes.  The larger porting (almost 50% bigger) in the Maxisette provides lower resistance to high feed low rates which results in lower pressure drops and easier cleaning. The cassettes are offered in both screen and suspended screen formats with Omega UF or Supor TFF MF membranes.

Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassette Holders

Designed for optimum performance and product recovery, Pall® TFF holders are available in a variety of sizes to meet every application requirement.

Centramate™ LV Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassette Holder
The stainless steel Centramate LV holder can accommodate up to two Centramate 0.019 m2 cassettes.  The holder can be incorporated in to a system consisting of a reservoir, pump and range of accessories such as tubing, valves, fittings, and pressure gauges. It is typically used with the Minim™ II Tangential Flow Filtration System and can also be incorporated into a Minimate™ TFF System.

Centramate PE Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassette Holder
The Centramate PE holder has a polyethylene manifold with ¼ in. NPT-threaded ports sandwiched between 304 stainless steel outer plates. It is recommended for use in applications where metal contact must be avoided. The Centramate PE holder is ideal for applications in which 0.1 m2 cassettes are used as single-use components so that cleaning and cleaning validation can be eliminated. It can accommodate up to four screen channel cassettes. The holder is available with either two or three pressure gauge fitting kits. The addition of a pump and reservoir (Ultralab System) completes the system.

Centramate Stainless Steel (SS) Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassette Holder
The Centramate stainless steel cassette holder (316L) comes with ½ in. sanitary flanges on feed and permeate ports. Up to five 0.1 m2 screen channel cassettes can be accommodated. The holder is available with either two or three pressure gauge fitting kits. The addition of a pump and reservoir (Ultralab System) completes the system. A Centramate SS Holder is also incorporated into the Centramate™ 500 S benchtop Tangential Flow Filtration System.

Centrasette™ LV Stainless Steel Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassette Holder
The Centrasette 5 holders are manufactured using highly-polished 316L stainless steel. They are ideal for use in pilot and process-scale applications where membrane areas from 0.5 m2 to 2.5 m2 can be installed. The holder incorporates ¾ inch sanitary flanges on the feed, retentate and permeate ports for easy connection into a sanitary system and to minimize system hold-up volume.

Centrasette™ 5 Stainless Steel Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassette Holder
The Centrasette 5 holders are manufactured using highly-polished 316L stainless steel. They are ideal for use in pilot and process-scale applications where membrane areas from 0.5 m2 to 5 m2 can be installed per holder. The holders are also available in auto-torque format with hydraulic system including stainless steel pistons and pump to maintain optimal and uniform compression on the installed cassettes.  Both two and three pressure gauge fitting kits are available.

Centrasette™ P Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassette Holder
The Centrasette P holder has a polypropylene manifold and end plate. These holders are designed for product metal contact is not desirable or prohibited by your application.  The manifold and end plates are housed between stainless steel plates to supply the necessary rigidity when operating at high pressures.  Luer fittings on the ¾ inch sanitary polypropylene ports can be used for connecting to plastic pressure transducers.  The economical plastic manifold and end plate can be used as single-use components so that cleaning or cleaning validation can be eliminated. This can also help prevent sample cross contamination. 

Maximate™ Stainless Steel Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassette Holders
The Maximate holder is manufactured using highly-polished 316L stainless steel.  It is ideal for use in development and pilot-scale applications, especially those that may scale into a system incorporating the Maxisette format. Up to six 0.18 m2 screen channel cassettes can be accommodated. The holder incorporates ¾ inch sanitary flanges on the feed, and retentate ports and ½ inch flanges on the permeate ports for easy connection into a sanitary system and to minimize system hold-up volume. Sanitary fitting kits with either two or three pressure gauges are available for system assembling. The addition of a pump and reservoir completes the system.

Maxisette™ Stainless Steel Tangential Flow Filtration Membrane Cassette Holders
Maxisette holders are designed for optimal performance in a large-scale production environment. All the wetted surfaces are electropolished 316 L stainless steel. The smaller footprint makes it ideal for use in process skids and manufacturing suites. The feed flow direction is from bottom to top, allowing air to be easily expelled from the system.  The holders are available in auto-torque format with hydraulic system for minimal and uniform compression on the installed cassettes.

Fitting Packages and Components

Complete fittings kits consisting of filtrate manifold, pressure gauges, valves, hose connectors, gaskets and clamps are available for most cassette holders. Ordering a complete fitting kit with the cassette holder simplifies installation into a system and avoids potential delays in starting your process due to missing components.

Hollow Fibers

Pall’s Microza polymeric hollow fiber membranes are made from durable fibers available in a wide variety of ratings, polymers and sizes. Applications are as diverse as cell broth clarification, long-term sterility maintenance in critical mammalian cell culture perfusion, concentration and purification of bulk enzyme solutions, filtration of solutions of buffers and active ingredients to remove endotoxin and concentration and diafiltration of recombinant protein solutions.

Available ratings span the range from low molecular-weight ultrafiltration through to microfiltration. All Microza membranes are supplied as self-contained modules, with no additional requirement for housings, enabling simplicity of system design. Modules are available that can be autoclaved, and many can be steamed, facilitating aseptic operation through the use of Steam-In-Place (SIP). Microza membranes have surfaces that minimize entrapment and facilitate cleaning.

All Microza membranes are manufactured in a single step, and are not composed of laminates. Membranes and modules are subjected to rigorous quality control to ensure consistency of performance, durability in service and module integrity for the most demanding applications.

Ultrafiltration Hollow Fiber Modules

Microza ultrafiltration modules comprise a unique, double-skinned proprietary membrane surface over a dense, highly porous internal layer support for excellent flow characteristics, and outstanding fiber durability in long-term service. Microza UF membranes are resistant to flow in both directions, so there is no risk of delamination or membrane rupture if back-pressure is applied. In fact, in many installations, backpulsing can be used to maintain flux during extended run times.

The SP and VIP modules have polysulfone (PS) membrane and are available in 4 kDa, 6 kDa and 10 kDa molecular weight cut-offs and in a range of sizes from 170 cm2 (0.18 ft2) to more than 5 m2 (54 ft2). They meet the specification for biological tests listed in the current revision of USP for class VI plastics at 121ºC (250 ºF). The modules can be autoclaved, steamed or chemically sanitized for used in a range of pharmaceutical applications. Production size modules may be hot water sanitized up to 95 ºC (203 ºF). Polysulfone membranes exhibit excellent resistance to pressure, temperature and aggressive cleaning regimes. They are compatible with a wide range of cleaning agents such as 5000 ppm sodium hypochlorite or 4% sodium hydroxide. PS membranes have very low affinity and adsorption characteristics resulting in high product recoveries, and long module service life.

The AP and AV series ultrafiltration modules feature polyacrylonitrile (PAN) membranes. They are available in 6 kDa and 13 kDa molecular weight cut-offs and in a range of sizes from 170 cm2 (0.18 ft2) to more than 12 m2 (130 ft2). They are rated for continuous operation up to 50 ºC (122 ºF) and meet the specifications for biological tests listed in the current revision of USP for Class VI plastics at 121 ºC (250 ºF). PAN membranes are ideally suited to bulk-process applications, such as the purification of enzymes. They exhibit high-strength, coupled with high flux rates, minimizing installation size. PAN has a low fouling characteristic for these applications, simplifying cleaning.

Microfiltration Hollow Fiber Modules

Microza micofiltration membranes have smooth inner and outer membrane skins with a highly porous symmetrical support structure, giving high-flow rates. These modules can also be backflushed.

The UJP and UMP series of Microza hollow fiber microfiltration modules feature a unique, proprietary, low protein-binding membrane of a specially resilient polyvinylidenedi fluoride (PVDF). They are available in 0.2 μm and 0.65 micron fiber ratings and sizes ranging from 0.02 m2 (0.21 ft2) to 4.0 m2 (43 ft2) for process scaling from laboratory to production. Inner-diameter of fibers, at 1.1 mm and 1.4 mm, reduce the possibility of cells accumulating and plugging the fibers. The modules may be sterilized by Steam-In-Place (SIP) or autoclaved. Microza HF modules meet specifications for biological tests listed in the current revision of USP for Class VI plastics at 121°C.

For clarification, concentration or use as part of a perfusion system, the Microza MF modules are designed to meet the pharmaceutical requirements for product recovery from cell culture/fermentation broths of bacterial, mammalian, insect and other cells. Microza MF modules are easily cleaned and reusable, making them a cost-effective process tool. 

Vibrating Membrane Filters (VMF)

PallSep™ Vibrating Membrane Filtration Technology is an enabling technology for difficult processes where the security of a polymeric barrier process is required, but where feed materials are very high in complex mixtures of biomolecules and viscosities may be elevated. PallSep filtration units represent a significant innovation in membrane filtration. In all membrane processes, shear forces are generated above the membrane surface to counteract the effects of membrane fouling. With PallSep technology, shear is generated by horizontal vibration of the membrane elements through the feed fluid over fifty times per second. The shear, which is higher than that typically generated in conventional tangential flow filtration (TFF), is limited to a small boundary layer above the membrane surface and not applied to the bulk of the fluid. This means that fluids may be processed in a very gentle manner, through an open flow path with minimal pressure-drop (even transmembrane pressure distribution) to high suspended solids levels (>60% w/v)*. The Biotech PallSep PS 50 device consists of an encapsulated stack of 0.2 micron polyethersulfone (PES) membrane elements (0.2, 1 or 5 m2 membrane area), which are mounted on a torsion bar. Kinetic energy from a small motor is efficiently converted to vibrational energy in the stack whose oscillation is controlled by a frequency converter. The Biotech PallSep device is typically used for process-development work with fluid volumes between 2 and 100 L.

The principal applications for the Biotech VMF system involve characterization of cell homogenates and extracts from plants and animals sources that are difficult to process by either conventional TFF or centrifugation. Examples are direct processing of mycelial fermentation broths without pretreatment and recovery of cell wall fractions from chemically-lysed recombinant bacterial systems used to produce therapeutic vaccines.