疫苗佐剂过滤

疫苗制造商越来越多地使用佐剂来激发生物体对抗原的免疫反应。例如现已在欧洲上市的流行性 H1N1 疫苗。佐剂是指添加到疫苗配方中以增强、加快和/或延长机体对疫苗的免疫反应的物质。佐剂是一种非常复杂的化合物组群,包括具有固有免疫刺激特性的单一合成物(如 MPL 或 QS21)以及脂质体、微粒子或铝盐等抗原载体,而且常常是两者的组合。

这些佐剂或佐剂疫苗所具有的特性,再加上特定的工艺操作条件,为除菌过滤带来一定挑战。某些佐剂的颗粒特性使得这些产品难以过滤并导致滤膜的过早堵塞。此外,其较低的表面张力也会降低过滤器的细菌截留能力,并导致工艺验证过程中的细菌挑战试验失败。

颇尔生命科学部门始终致力于研究流体佐剂给除菌过滤带来的挑战,在如何挑选滤膜、制定提高滤器的过滤能力的工艺条件方面会给出合理的策略和建议,极大提高细菌截留挑战验证的通过率,从而有效避免返工,节约经济成本。

疫苗佐剂的可滤过性

某些佐剂(如铝盐、脂质体和乳胶)的颗粒尺寸可能会因为过大而无法通过除菌级滤膜的微孔,或导致膜的过早堵塞,从而降低过滤器容量。此类佐剂或佐剂疫苗所引起的通量衰减与膜结构、有效孔径尺寸分配以及总的孔隙度有关。为含佐剂后的产品选择恰当的过滤器来提高过滤器的容量。预过滤是改善通量的一个有效方式,它可有效清除尺寸较大的乳胶液滴或脂质体,防止它们堵塞除菌级滤膜。颇尔科学实验室服务小组可帮助客户进行可行性(可滤性)试验、选择合适的过滤介质,并考察压力、温度和流量等会对过滤器的通量和容量产生很大影响的工艺参数。

细菌截留验证

0.2 微米的除菌级膜式过滤器在清除细菌方面十分有效,高度可靠。工艺验证期间,通过使用工艺流体或合适的替代流体中的小型细菌——缺陷假单胞菌进行的高滴度的细菌挑战得到确认。少数情况下,会出现滤膜高效的细菌截留效率会降低,出现细菌透过的“最坏情况”。研究多种流体和挑战条件下现场和实验室细菌截留验证数据表明,除菌过滤验证期间,低表面张力的流体,例如多种佐剂和佐剂疫苗,在高挑战条件下具有更高的细菌渗透风险1。在进行试验的特征性溶液中,脂质体悬浮液的风险最高,其次是脂质乳剂,最后是表面活性剂溶液。缺陷假单胞菌负载量超过 1 x 108 CFU/厘米2(> 最低所需挑战密度的 10 倍)时,以及加载速率超过 1 x 105 CFU/分钟时,都会增加细菌渗透的风险。对脂质体、脂质和表面活性剂溶液而言,细菌挑战在使用恒定工艺流量情况下的风险比使用恒定压力条件的风险更大,因此我们建议在恒定压力条件下对低表面张力的佐剂和佐剂疫苗进行验证研究和操作1

为进行进一步研究,我们的全球验证服务团队通过公认的可促进微生物取得突破性发展的工艺条件,并利用脂质体载体挑战流体2,对颇尔和竞争对手的多个整体式过滤器进行了缺陷假单胞菌挑战性研究。研究数据说明了此类挑战流体可能会对测试过滤器的微生物清除性能产生的影响。结论是,颇尔的最新一代除菌级过滤器——Fluorodyne® EX 系列——提供最高等级的安全性,值得推荐2

颇尔科学实验室服务

若想成功对佐剂和佐剂疫苗进行除菌过滤,我们建议过滤器用户充分考虑工艺最初阶段细菌截留效率降低的风险,即设计配方时的过滤工作条件和顺序,以及制定除菌过滤验证时的细菌挑战试验方案。进行过滤性能研究时应同时对多个用于细菌截留的候选膜进行试验,从而找出能在“最坏情况”验证条件下提供全面细菌截留能力,同时还能提供最高过滤容量以实现工艺最经济的候选膜。由于具体操作条件会对细菌截留有所影响,因此必须在按比例扩大期间保持工艺一致性,并在设计工艺时充分考虑到可扩展性问题。凭借这种积极有效的验证方式,颇尔生命科学部门愿意与您共同验证最合适的过滤器,以确保您的疫苗产品实现无菌化。立即咨询

链接与参考信息

1Onraedt, A.;Folmsbee, M.;Kumar, A.;Martin, J. (2010)。佐剂疫苗的除菌过滤:确保过滤器认证获得成功。《BioPharm International》2010 年 10 月副刊。

2 采用胆固醇脂质体载体的 0.2 微米除菌级过滤器的细菌渗透:数据对比。

3 Folmsbee, M.;Moussourakis, M. (2012)。包含溶液的脂质体和相关脂质的除菌过滤:增强已成功的过滤器认证。《PDA 药物科学与技术杂志》,66,161-167。
疫苗
疫苗
疫苗培养和生产溶液
应用
应用
疫苗生产平台
总污染物控制
总污染物控制
可在生产过程中确保最高产品安全性的先进技术
立即联系我们
立即联系我们
与疫苗专家一同讨论您的要求

Vaccine Adjuvant Filtration

Vaccine manufacturers are increasingly using adjuvants to boost the immune response to an antigen. Examples are the pandemic H1N1 vaccines now available in Europe. Adjuvants are substances added to vaccine formulations to enhance, accelerate and/or prolong the immune response to a vaccine. Adjuvants are a very heterogeneous group of compounds, including single compounds with intrinsic immuno-stimulating properties (e.g. MPL or QS21) and antigen carriers such as liposomes, microparticles or aluminum salts, and often are a combination of both.

The properties of these adjuvants or adjuvanted vaccines, in combination with specific process operating conditions, may create some challenges for sterilizing filtration. The particulate character of some adjuvants can make these products difficult to filter and cause premature plugging of the filter membranes. In addition, their low surface tension may reduce a filter’s bacterial retention capacity and may lead to a failing bacterial challenge test during process validation.

Scientists at Pall Life Sciences have been studying the sterilizing filtration challenges presented by influent adjuvants and have developed strategies and recommendations for membrane filter selection and process conditions that may enhance filter capacity and avoid costly rework by increasing the chance of passing the bacterial retention challenge validation.

Filterability of Vaccine Adjuvants

The particulate size of some adjuvants (e.g. aluminum salts, liposomes and emulsions) may be too large to pass through the pores of a sterilizing grade filter membrane, or may be at levels that cause premature plugging of the filter membrane, reducing filter capacity. The flux decays seen with such adjuvants or adjuvanted vaccines may be a function of the filter membrane structure, its’ effective pore size distribution and total porosity. Filter capacity can be maximized by selecting the appropriate filter for the adjuvanted product. Pre-filtration can be a useful procedure for improving throughput by removing larger emulsion droplets or liposomes that otherwise plug the sterilizing membrane. Pall Scientific and Laboratory Services groups help customers conducting feasibility (filterability) trials, selecting appropriate filter-media grades and reviewing process parameters such as pressure, temperature and flux which can all have a large impact on the filter throughput and capacity.

Bacterial Retention Validation

Sterilizing grade membrane filters rated at 0.2 micron are typically effective in removing bacteria with a high degree of assurance. During process validation, this is confirmed by a high titer bacterial challenge using a small model bacterium, Brevundimonas diminuta, in the process fluid or an appropriate surrogate. On rare occasions, "worst case" conditions may be such that the membrane’s normally high efficiency of bacterial removal is reduced to a level where some bacterial penetration can occur. A review of field and laboratory bacterial retention validation data for a variety of fluids and challenge conditions suggests that low surface tension fluids, such as many adjuvants and adjuvanted vaccines, present a higher risk of bacterial penetration under the high challenge conditions applied during sterilizing filtration validation 1. Among the characterized solutions examined, liposome suspensions represent the highest risk followed by lipid emulsions and finally surfactant solutions. B. diminuta bacteria loading above 1 x 108 CFU/cm2 (> 10 times the minimum required challenge density) increases the chance of a penetrative event, as does a loading rate of greater than 1 x 105 CFU/min. For liposome, lipid and surfactant solutions, bacterial challenges using constant flow for the process may present a higher risk than using constant pressure and we would hence recommend conducting validation studies and operating processes of low surface tension adjuvants and adjuvanted vaccines at constant pressure 1.

For further investigation, our global validation services team coordinated B. diminuta challenge studies on several integral Pall and competitor filters under process conditions recognized to facilitate microbial breakthrough, using a liposome carrier challenge fluid 2. The data illustrates the influence this type of challenge fluid may have on the microbial removal performance of the tested filters. As a conclusion, Pall’s latest generation of sterilizing grade filters, the Fluorodyne® EX range, are recommended to deliver the highest levels of safety 2.

Pall Scientific and Laboratory Services

For the successful sterilizing filtration of adjuvants and adjuvanted vaccines, we recommend filter users consider the risk of reduced bacterial retention efficiency very early in the process, i.e. when designing the formulation, the filtration operating conditions and sequence, and when drafting the sterilizing filtration validation bacterial challenge test protocol. Several membrane candidates for bacterial retention should be tested along with filterability studies, to arrive at the candidate offering both complete bacterial retention under "worst case" validation conditions and providing the highest filtration capacity for superior process economy. Due to the impact of operating conditions on bacterial retention, it is important to maintain process consistency during scale-up and to design the process with scalability in mind. With this pro-active approach, Pall Life Sciences is pleased to work with you to qualify the most appropriate filter to ensure sterilization of your vaccine product. Inquire today

Links and References

1Onraedt, A.; Folmsbee, M.; Kumar, A.; Martin, J. (2010). Sterilizing filtration of adjuvanted vaccines: ensuring successful filter qualification. Supplement to BioPharm International October 2010.

2 Bacterial Penetration of 0.2 μm Sterilizing-Grade Filters with a Cholesterol Liposome Carrier: A Comparison of Data.

3 Folmsbee, M.; Moussourakis, M. (2012). Sterilizing filtration of liposome and related lipid containing solutions: enhancing successful filter qualification. PDA Journal of Pharmaceutical Science and Technology, 66, 161-167.
Solutions for vaccine development and manufacturing
Vaccine Manufacturing Platforms
Total Contaminant Control
Total Contaminant Control
Technologies that ensure the highest product safety during the manufacturing process
Contact Us Now
Contact Us Now
To discuss your requirements with a VACCINES specialist