生物制药

疫苗生产平台



疫苗是一系列药物的统称,包括一些最古老的通过生物方法制成的化合物。早在 1796 年,Edward Jenner 就向世人推出了 Smallpox 疫苗。19 世纪末,Louis Pasteur 研发出了首款活减毒细菌(家禽霍乱病)和病毒(狂犬病)疫苗。

疫苗是一系列药物的统称,包括一些最古老的通过生物方法制成的化合物。早在 1796 年,Edward Jenner 就向世人推出了 Smallpox 疫苗。19 世纪末,Louis Pasteur 研发出了首款活减毒细菌(家禽霍乱病)和病毒(狂犬病)疫苗。

疫苗中含有一种抗原,能引起机体产生免疫反应,因此往往可加强生物体对抗或治疗疾病的能力。这些抗原可以是减毒(弱毒)活微生物,例如在 MMR(麻疹、腮腺炎、风疹)病毒疫苗中,也可以是灭活微生物(细菌、病毒),或是生物体的组成部分(蛋白质、多糖),例如 DTaP(白喉、破伤风、无细胞百日咳)疫苗。

疫苗的生产方式取决于组成疫苗的抗原的类型。由于抗原类型多种多样,相应地也会有很多不同的疫苗生产工艺。尤其对人用疫苗而言,生产工艺已针对不同需求量身定制,并通常在专用设施中进行。然而,通过充分利用现有设施及设备并定期跟踪记录的方法来实现工艺和技术的标准化,可在成本节约和加快上市时间方面带来诸多优势。动物疫苗的生产通常按照这种平台方式进行,可在适用于多种产品的设施中进行生产。

疫苗可归类为几种常规的抗原组和生产方式,其中可能会存在一些标准化工艺: 疫苗生产平台的标准化对于新疫苗和大型开发阶段中的疫苗理念的适用程度正在日益增加。可能的标准化装置操作步骤包括:
  • 上游,在特征明显的宿主细胞系或重组系统中产生疫苗抗原,在生物反应器中调整适应高细胞浓度,从而实现高产量
  • 下游,使用功能强大且模块化的灵活纯化技术
  • 抗原提供和配置,包括结合、折叠进病毒样颗粒或病毒颗粒中,或利用乳胶和脂质体等佐剂和佐剂系统
此外,缓冲液和培养基制备、灭活以及其他工艺步骤也可标准化。为充分利用这些功能,推荐使用一次性生产技术,这些技术可提高工艺灵活性、降低多种产品的交叉污染风险、尽可能加强污染和无菌控制,从而在更低成本 C 级环境中进行生产。有关颇尔 Allegro™ 一次性系统如何提高您生产装备的灵活性和标准化程度的更多信息,请单击此处

Vaccine Manufacturing Platforms



Vaccines are a group of pharmaceuticals that include some of the oldest biologically-made compounds. The Smallpox vaccine was introduced by Edward Jenner as early as in 1796 and Louis Pasteur created the first live attenuated bacterial (Chicken Cholera) and viral (Rabies) vaccines at the end of the 19th century.

Vaccines are a group of pharmaceuticals that include some of the oldest biologically-made compounds. The Smallpox vaccine was introduced by Edward Jenner as early as in 1796 and Louis Pasteur created the first live attenuated bacterial (Chicken Cholera) and viral (Rabies) vaccines at the end of the 19th century.

A vaccine contains an antigen that is capable of inducing an immune response in a living organism and as such, typically enhances the organisms ability to fight off or minimize disease. These antigens can be live attenuated (weakened) microorganisms such as in the MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella) virus vaccine, inactivated microbes (bacteria, virus) or parts thereof (proteins, polysaccharides) such as the DTaP (Diphtheria, Tetanus, acellular Pertussis) vaccine.

The way a vaccine is manufactured, depends on the type of antigen that makes up the vaccine. As there are many different types of antigens, there are correspondingly many different vaccine manufacturing processes. Especially in human vaccines, manufacturing processes have been customized and often are carried out in dedicated facilities. Standardization of the processes and technologies in a way that makes maximum use of existing facilities and equipment, and of a regulatory track record, could, however, bring many benefits in term of cost reduction and speed-to-market. Animal vaccine manufacturing has typically worked according to this platform approach, with manufacturing in multi-product facilities.

Vaccines can be classified into general antigen groups and manufacturing methods, in which some element of process standardization may exist: Vaccine manufacturing platform standardization is increasingly applicable to new vaccines and vaccine concepts in the large developments pipeline. Possible standardized unit operation steps include:
  • Upstream, producing the vaccine antigen in a well-characterized host cell line or recombinant system, adapted for high cell densities in bioreactors, leading to high yields
  • Downstream, by using modular, flexible and robust purification technologies
  • Antigen presentation & formulation, involving conjugation, folding in virus-like-particles or virosomes, or making use of adjuvants and adjuvant systems like emulsions and liposomes
Furthermore, buffer & media preparations, inactivation, and other process steps can be standardized. To maximally take advantage of these capabilities, single-use manufacturing technologies are recommended, allowing for increased flexibility in the process, low cross-contamination risk with multi-products, maximum containment and aseptic control, allowing manufacturing in lower cost class C environments. For more information on how Pall Allegro™ Single-use Systems can increase the flexibility & degree of standardization in your manufacturing suites, click here.