振动膜式过滤器 (VMF)

PallSep 振动膜过滤技术是一项适用于高要求工艺流程的使能技术,这种工艺需确保聚合物阻隔工艺的安全性,但复杂生物分子混合物的进料量很大,且粘度会有所提高。PallSep 过滤装置体现出膜过滤领域的重大创新。

在所有膜工艺中,会在膜表面产生剪力以抵消膜污垢带来的影响。利用 PallSep 技术,通过进料流体,由膜元件水平振动(每秒 50 次以上)产生剪切力。该剪力大于传统切向流过滤 (TFF) 通常产生的剪力,限于膜表面上方的小型边界层且不适用于多数液体。这意味着,液体可以最低压降(甚至是跨膜压力分布)通过开放式流动路径以极其温和的方式处理成高悬浮固体水平 (>60% w/v)*。

Biotech PallSep PS 50 装置由 0.2 微米聚醚砜 (PES) 膜元件(0.2、1 或 5 m2 的膜面积)的囊式堆叠构成,膜元件安装在扭杆上。小型电机产生的动能可有效转换成堆叠内的振动能量,而堆叠的振荡则受变频器控制。Biotech PallSep 装置通常用于 2 至 100 L 流体体积的工艺开发。

生物技术 VMF 系统的主要应用涉及鉴定细胞匀浆以及源自难以通过传统 TFF 或离心分离进行处理的植物和动物的提取物。应用实例包括直接处理未经预处理的菌丝发酵液以及从化学细胞裂解的重组细菌系统(用于生产治疗性疫苗)中回收细胞壁片段。

Vibrating Membrane Filters (VMF)

PallSep™ Vibrating Membrane Filtration Technology is an enabling technology for difficult processes where the security of a polymeric barrier process is required, but where feed materials are very high in complex mixtures of biomolecules and viscosities may be elevated. PallSep filtration units represent a significant innovation in membrane filtration.

In all membrane processes, shear forces are generated above the membrane surface to counteract the effects of membrane fouling. With PallSep technology, shear is generated by horizontal vibration of the membrane elements through the feed fluid over fifty times per second. The shear, which is higher than that typically generated in conventional tangential flow filtration (TFF), is limited to a small boundary layer above the membrane surface and not applied to the bulk of the fluid. This means that fluids may be processed in a very gentle manner, through an open flow path with minimal pressure-drop (even transmembrane pressure distribution) to high suspended solids levels (>60% w/v)*.

The Biotech PallSep PS 50 device consists of an encapsulated stack of 0.2 micron polyethersulfone (PES) membrane elements (0.2, 1 or 5 m2 membrane area), which are mounted on a torsion bar. Kinetic energy from a small motor is efficiently converted to vibrational energy in the stack whose oscillation is controlled by a frequency converter. The Biotech PallSep device is typically used for process-development work with fluid volumes between 2 and 100 L.

The principal applications for the Biotech VMF system involve characterization of cell homogenates and extracts from plants and animals sources that are difficult to process by either conventional TFF or centrifugation. Examples are direct processing of mycelial fermentation broths without pretreatment and recovery of cell wall fractions from chemically-lysed recombinant bacterial systems used to produce therapeutic vaccines.