离子交换层析

离子交换层析根据表面电荷分离化合物。分子分为阴离子(带负电荷)或阳离子(带正电荷)。某些分子(例如,蛋白质)可能同时具有阴离子和阳离子基团。带正电荷的支撑层(阴离子交换剂)会结合具有负电荷的化合物;相反带负电荷的支撑层(阳离子交换剂)会结合带正电荷的化合物

离子交换填料又分为强离子交换填料或弱离子交换填料。强离子交换填料可以在很宽的 pH 值范围内被电离。而弱离子交换填料则在较窄的 pH 值范围内被电离。四种最常见的离子交换化学物质如下:

产品选择表

 

离子交换剂的类型

常见缩写

配体

颇尔产品

强阴离子 Q

弱阴离子 DEAE 二乙胺基乙基
强阳离子 S
酸基
弱阳离子 CM 羧甲基
 
  层析

层析产品

层析应用
亲和层析
表面活性剂清除
HCIC
羟基磷灰石层析
离子交换层析
分子排阻层析

层析选择指南

层析柱

颇尔首选在线实验室检测

颇尔 提供离子交换填料、预装柱及离子交换膜。在许多领域,层析树脂都是层析应用的首选,但是在一些情况下,填料类方法也有其局限性(例如纯化病毒或大分子)。而层析膜的耐用、可放大和经济的特点已经得到广泛证明。并且由于其比填料具有更快的流速面而在此类应用中表现更好。

所用流速

Mustang膜层析产品的设计运行流速为每分钟至少 10 个柱体积。缓冲液选择、pH、容量和洗脱条件的初步优化均可在此流速下实施。更快的平衡、上样和清洗流速将可以提供好的处理量;而对于某些工艺,较慢的结合和洗脱流速则可以提供更好的分辨率。由于Mustang膜的开放式结构不需要扩散至孔洞,因此通常可以实现较高的流速。

所用缓冲液

将离子交换填料被加入到离子强度较低的缓冲液中,在这些条件下,带电的大分子将被带相反电荷的固定相保留。带有与固定相电荷相同电荷的大分子将会顺利流过,不会结合。使用其他的低离子强度缓冲液对离子交换填料进行清洗,以彻底洗出任何剩余的未结合物质,然后使用盐浓度不断增加的缓冲液陆续洗脱结合物质。随着流动相离子强度的不断增加,盐离子将竞相与离子交换填料上的电荷相结合,并置换结合的大分子,从而允许它们从填料中洗脱。为了降低难度,请在阳离子交换中使用阴离子(带负电)缓冲液(Mustang S 膜),并在阴离子交换中使用阳离子(带正电)缓冲液(Mustang Q 膜)。

所用 pH

虽然 pH 不会影响强离子交换矩阵的电荷,但是会影响溶液中大分子上的电荷。正确选择离子交换层析中的操作 pH 可最大限度提高污染环境中目标分子的分辨率。在某些情况下,选择 pH 的目的在于提供最大程度的目标分子结合和最小程度的污染结合(正离子模式)。目标分子的洗脱将通过不断提高盐浓度来完成。而在其他情况下,选择 pH 的目的在于提供最大程度的污染结合和最小程度的目标分子结合或不结合(负离子模式)。目标分子将顺利流过,污染则通过结合至矩阵被分离。只需仔细选择离子交换矩阵和操作 pH 即可最大限度地同时提高产量和纯度。然而,在单个步骤中实现 100% 的纯度是从未达到过的,这就是为什么必须连续组合使用多个步骤的原因,以充分利用目标分子和背景污染之间不同的化学性质。

洗脱所用盐

结合之后,通过选择合适的洗脱盐浓度,避免目标分子随也已经与离子交换矩阵相结合的污染一同洗脱。洗脱盐离子必须使用 0 至 1.0 M 范围中的梯度或步骤置换固定相上来自带电基团的其他分子。

常用阳离子的置换有效性为:Ca2+ > Mg2+ > Na+ > K+ > NH4+

常用阴离子的置换效果排序:PO43- > SO42- > COO- > Cl-

这些排序与霍夫迈斯特序有关,但最强的洗脱盐并不总是最好的。理想情况下,应对几种盐进行测试,并且在确定最佳洗脱条件时往往会涉及到试验和错误。由于氯化钠或氯化钾在实验室中非常容易得到,因此大多数用户在开始时都会使用它们。但也可使用氯化钙或氯化镁。对于某些蛋白质,这些盐实际上可能是一个更好的选择。无论选择的洗脱盐如何,必须对纯度、稳定性以及目标分子活动产生的影响进行评估。

Ion Exchange Chromatography

Ion exchange chromatography separates compounds based on net surface charge. Molecules are classified as either anions (having a negative charge) or cations (having a positive charge). Some molecules (e.g., proteins) may have both an anionic and cationic group. A positively-charged support (anion exchanger) will bind a compound with an overall negative charge. Conversely, a negatively-charged support (cation exchanger) will bind a compound with an overall positive charge.

Ion exchange matrices can be further categorized as either strong or weak. Strong ion exchange matrices are charged (ionized) across a wide range of pH levels. Weak ion exchange matrices are ionized within a narrower pH range. The four most common ion exchange chemistries are shown here:

Product Selection Table

 

Type of Ion Exchanger

Common Abbreviation

Functional Group

Pall Product

Strong Anion Q Quarter-
nary Amm-
onium
Weak Anion DEAE Diethy-laminoethyl
Strong Cation S Sulfonic
Acid
Weak Cation CM Carboxy-methyl
 
  Chromatography

Chromatography Products

Chromatography Applications
Affinity Chromatography
Detergent Removal
HCIC
Hydroxyapatite Chromatography
Ion Exchange Chromatography
Size Exclusion Chromatography

Chromatography Selection Guide

Chromatography Columns

Pall Preferred Online Lab Community

Pall offers ion exchange resins, pre-packed columns, and membranes. In many areas, chromatography resins are the media of choice for chromatography applications, but in some cases where resin-based methods have limitations (e.g., purification of viruses or large molecules) membranes have proven to be a robust, scalable, and economic alternative. Membranes perform well in such applications because of their faster flow rates compared to resins.

What Flow Rate to Use?

Mustang membrane chromatography devices are designed to run at flow rates of at least 10 column volumes per minute. Initial optimization of buffer selection, pH, capacity, and elution conditions can all be performed at this flow rate. Faster flow rates for equilibration, loading, and washing will give better throughput; a slower flow rate during binding and elution may give better resolution for some processes. The open structure of Mustang membranes does not require diffusion into pores, and therefore normally permits high flow rates.

What Buffer to Use?

Typically, ion exchange chromatography matrices are loaded in low ionic strength buffers. Under these conditions, charged macromolecules will be retained by the stationary phase bearing the opposite charge. Macromolecules bearing the same charge as the stationary phase will simply flow through without binding. The ion exchange matrix is washed with additional low ionic strength buffer to completely wash out any remaining unbound species, and the bound species are differentially eluted by buffers containing increasing amounts of salt. As the ionic strength of the mobile phase increases, salt ions compete for binding to the charges on the ion exchange matrix, displacing the bound macromolecule, and allowing them to elute from the matrix. To avoid difficulty, use anionic (negatively-charged) buffers for cation exchange (Mustang S membrane), and cationic (positively-charged) buffers for anion exchange (Mustang Q membrane).

What pH to Use?

Although pH does not influence the charge of a strong ion exchange matrix, it will influence the charge on the macromolecules in solution. The operating pH in ion exchange chromatography is selected to maximize the resolution of the target molecule from the contaminant background. In some cases, a pH is selected to provide maximum binding of the target molecule and minimum binding of the contaminants (positive mode). Elution of the target molecule is accomplished by increasing the salt concentration. In other cases, a pH is selected to provide maximum binding of the contaminants and minimal or no binding of the target molecule (negative mode). The target molecule ends up in the flow through, and the contaminants are separated away by binding to the matrix. Through careful selection of both the ion exchange matrix and the operating pH, both yield and purity can be maximized for a single step. However, it is never possible to achieve 100% purity in a single step, which is why multiple steps must be sequenced together to take advantage of the variety of chemical differences between the target molecule and background contaminants.

What Salt to Use for Elution?

After binding, salt concentrations for elution are chosen so the target molecule does not co-elute with contaminants that have also bound to the ion exchange matrix. Ions of the eluting salt must displace other molecules from the charged groups on the stationary phase with either a gradient or step in the 0 to 1.0 M range.

The effectiveness of displacement for commonly used cations is: Ca2+ > Mg2+ > Na+ > K+ >NH4+

The order of displacement effectiveness for commonly used anions: PO43- > SO42- > COO- > Cl-

These rankings correlate with the Hofmiester series, and the strongest eluting salt is not always best. Ideally, several salts should be tested, and finding optimum elution conditions often involves trial and error. Most users will start with either NaCl or KCl simply because they are readily available in the lab. However, CaCl2 or MgCl2 may be used. For some proteins, those salts may actually end up being a better choice. Regardless of eluting salt selection, the effect on the purity, stability, and activity of the target molecule will have to be assessed.

 

Top