针头过滤器选择指南——第 4 部分,共 4 部分

选择最适用于您的分析应用的过滤器时,请考虑以下几点:

第 4 部分:最佳孔径率

假设:需要延长柱的使用寿命并降低因泵送系统中的颗粒造成的维护成本,从而提高经济性、获得更多分析结果。鉴于这个假设,应根据柱装填尺寸确定过滤器的孔径。如下所示,柱装填颗粒会互相接触。理想情况下,您不希望污染进入装填颗粒之间的空间。此种空间(标记流路)确认如下。思路是确定空间有多大,并去除相应尺寸的微粒。

例如,从 3 微米装填尺寸开始,按下图所示绘制几个精心设计的正三角形。外接一个侧边为 0.75 微米的正三角形,以确定能够通过柱的最大颗粒。

  分析样品制备

分析样品制备应用

分析样品制备产品

分析样品制备网络广播和播客

分析样本制备产品选择指南
过滤漏斗选择指南
过滤夹具选择指南
压力应用产品选择指南
针头过滤器选择指南

颇尔首选在线实验室检测


现在放大图片,仔细查看。使一系列边长不到 0.75 微米的等边三角形可视化。下图展示了一个直角三角形,其短边描述了球体半径。角度是 60º 或 30º 的一半。此新直角三角形的水平侧长 0.375 微米(0.75 微米的一半)。在例 0.58 中,计算 30º 正切值可给出相反边与相邻边的长度比。这就意味着三角形的短边等于 0.58 x 0.375 或 0.217 微米。巧合的是,这也是颗粒的半径。因此,如果柱装填直径是 3 微米,流动路径就是 0.43 微米。

当 HPLC 柱的装填尺寸小于等于 3 微米时,您应使用 0.2 微米过滤器,因为 0.45 微米过滤器可能会让颗粒通过,从而堵塞 HPLC 柱。

您是否关注精确的颗粒滞留量?

对于使用 3 微米以上填料柱的液体层析系统,针头过滤器和流动相膜的过滤行业标准是 0.45 微米。对于 3 微米或以下填料柱、微孔柱,或关注微生物生长时,则建议使用 0.2 微米过滤器。一旦为应用选定最佳孔径额定值,您就必须要过滤器供应商提供准确的孔径额定值。如“延长 HPLC 柱寿命”中所述,准确的孔径额定值对于选择合适、经济的过滤器至关重要。

附加信息

Syringe Filter Selection Guide - Part 4 of 4

Consider the following when choosing the best filter for your analytical application:

Part 4: Optimal Pore Size Rating

Assumption: it is desirable to extend the life of your column and reduce maintenance due to particulate in the pumping system thereby giving more analyses per dollar spent. Given this assumption, the filter pore size should be determined based on the column packing size. As you can see below, the column packing particles touch each other. Ideally, you would not want contamination to fit into the space between the particles of packing. This space (labeled Flow Path) is identified below. The idea is to find out how large that space is and remove particles that size.

For example, start with a 3 µm packing size and draw a few well-placed equilateral triangles as suggested in the figure below. Determine the largest particle capable of fitting through the column by circumscribing an equilateral triangle with a side length of 0.75 µm.

  Analytical Sample Preparation

Analytical Sample Preparation Applications

Analytical Sample Preparation Products

Analytical Sample Preparation Webcasts and Podcasts

Analytical Sample Preparation Product Selection Guide
Filter Funnel Selection Guide
Filter Holder Selection Guide
Product Selection Guide for Pressure Applications
Syringe Filter Selection Guide

Pall Preferred Online Lab Community

Now enlarge the diagram and look further. Visualize a series of equilateral triangles whose side length gets down to 0.75 µm. The figure below illustrates a right triangle whose short side describes the radius of the sphere. The angle is one half of 60º, or 30º. The horizontal side of this new right triangle has a length of 0.375 µm (half of 0.75 µm). Calculating the tangent of 30º gives the ratio of the length of the opposite side over the adjacent side, in this case 0.58. This means that the short side of the triangle is equal to 0.58 x 0.375 or 0.217 µm. Coincidentally, this is also the radius of the particle. So, if the column packing is 3 µm in diameter, the flow path is 0.43 µm.

When an HPLC column has a packing size of 3 µm or smaller, you should use a 0.2 µm filter because a 0.45 µm filter may let particles through that will plug the column.

Are You Concerned About Accurate Retention of Particulate?

For liquid chromatography systems using columns with larger than 3 µm packings, the filtration industry standard is 0.45 µm for syringe filters and mobile phase membranes. For columns with 3 µm or smaller packings, microbore columns, or when concerned about microbial growth, a 0.2 µm filter is recommended. Once the best pore size rating is chosen for the application, you must rely on the filter manufacturer to provide an accurate pore size rating. As described in, “Prolonging HPLC Column Life,” accurate pore size rating is important to the economics of the appropriate filter choice.

Additional Information