常见问题:细胞疗法和再生医学

什么是再生医学?

再生医学是创新药物治疗的广义定义,可帮助机体修复、更换、重建和再生受损或病变细胞、组织和器官。全世界科学家致力于能够实现以下成果的一系列研究活动:心脏病发作后修复受损心肌,为烧伤患者换皮、脊髓损伤后恢复运动以及促进糖尿病患者的胰腺组织再生以产生胰岛素。再生医学旨在通过支持和刺激人体的自然愈合以延长健康寿命并提高生活质量。

这一广泛学科涵盖了各种研究领域,包括细胞疗法、组织工程、生物材料工程、生长因子和移植科学。


返回顶部

什么是细胞疗法?

FDA 将细胞疗法定义为“通过施用经体外处理和改变的自体、异体或异种细胞来预防、治疗、治愈或缓解疾病或人体创伤。”1细胞疗法旨在修复、更换或重建受损组织或器官,其目的与再生医学有所重叠。

细胞治疗可采用干细胞移植形式(如造血干细胞移植),用于重建白血病、淋巴瘤或其它血液疾病患者的血液和免疫系统。

激发人体自身免疫系统来对抗癌症的疗法被称为过继免疫治疗。这种细胞疗法在对抗癌症方面应用最为广泛。一种过继免疫治疗人为地增加了患者体内的 T 杀手细胞数量(白细胞的一种形式)并涉及患者 T 细胞的收集、体外扩增及回输至患者体内。这种疗法可极大增加 T 细胞数量并增强患者的抗癌免疫力。

无论是何种细胞疗法,生产治疗性产品可能需要几种复杂技术来改变或操纵细胞。细胞工程技术可包括:

  • 细胞繁殖
  • 细胞扩展
  • 细胞选择
  • 细胞药物治疗
  • 细胞生物学特性改变

返回顶部

什么是干细胞?为什么其作用重大?

干细胞是一种细胞(成体或胚胎),能够通过细胞分裂无限更新并保留其普通或非特化功能状态,同时又能维持分化为更特化的子细胞类型的能力。

干细胞的全能性、多能性和专能性分类体现了干细胞分化为特化细胞类型的巨大潜能。干细胞代表了从胚胎干细胞到成体干细胞的统一或广泛细胞类型。主要区别因素是可塑性,即干细胞分化成多种特化细胞类型的能力。

全能干细胞被称为身体的“主”细胞,因为它们具有分化成构成人体加胎盘的 216 种特化细胞类型的能力。受精卵就是全能细胞的一个例子。

多能干细胞是高度多功能细胞,能够分化出体内任何特化细胞类型,除了发育成胎儿的所需细胞类型外。胚胎干细胞就是多能干细胞。

专能干细胞可以分化出几种特化子细胞,但只能分化成特定来源组织、器官或生理系统的细胞类型。例如,造血干细胞可以在循环系统中产生出多种类型的血细胞,但不能分化成脑细胞。造血干细胞是成体干细胞的一种,也属于专能干细胞。目前研究表明脐带血干细胞也是专能干细胞。

看看全能、多能和专能干细胞与人类发展延续的关系:

科学家们希望从干细胞研究中获取巨大效益并预言其将彻底改变医学实践。干细胞甚至可用来培育健康组织和器官以更换受损和病变的身体部位。了解细胞分化和人体发育的基础研究可让我们深入了解出生缺陷的发生机制。传统药物开发过程中也可以使用干细胞。刺激分化成特化肝细胞的干细胞可在候选药物评估中用于毒理学筛选。虽然人们已看到细胞疗法的临床益处,但揭开干细胞的全部潜能将需要进行持续几十年的专门研究。每一天,我们都向着实现细胞疗法和再生医学的目标前进一步。


返回顶部

什么是胚胎干细胞?

胚胎干细胞是胚胎衍生出来的一类细胞,具体是由受孕约五天后形成的内细胞团空心胚泡分化而成。胚胎干细胞是最原始的干细胞,因此对于新的细胞疗法和组织再生而言意义最长远。

胚胎干细胞是多能干细胞,意味着其能够分化出机体所需的 200 多种细胞类型中的任何一种。了解和控制胚胎干细胞的分化和生长需要多年的深入研究。在实验室中培育这些细胞是一个耗时而艰苦的过程。科学家们必须密切监测胚胎干细胞,时时查看以确保干细胞持续生长并防止不受控制或自发分化。

当今研究所用的胚胎干细胞大多数是从体外受精产生的过剩胚泡中提取。威斯康星大学麦迪逊分校在他们的干细胞研究网站上发布了引人注目的图像。


返回顶部

什么是成体干细胞?

成体干细胞是存在于身体不同部位的非特化细胞,因来源组织不同而具有不同职能。成体干细胞能够自我更新并分化出子细胞,这些子细胞只能分化成来源身体部位的细胞类型。

现有数据表明成体干细胞属于专能干细胞,意味着其只能分化成某些特定细胞类型。但是最近的科学研究表明成体干细胞可能比原先认为的具备更高可塑性。干细胞可塑性是指一个组织干细胞分化成另一个组织特化细胞类型的能力。例如,骨髓基质细胞已知可分化成骨细胞、软骨细胞、脂肪细胞和其他类型的结缔组织细胞(预期),但他们也可以分化成心肌细胞和骨骼肌细胞(最初并未在预期当中)。

可分化出所有血细胞和免疫细胞的造血干细胞是当今人们了解最多的成体干细胞。40 多年来,从骨髓中提取的造血干细胞一直是白血病和其他血液疾病的“救命良药”。造血干细胞主要存在于骨髓中,也被发现少量存在于外周血中。相比于其他组织的成体干细胞,造血干细胞相对比较容易获得。

间充质干细胞也存在于骨髓中。间充质干细胞是能够形成脂肪、骨、软骨、韧带、肌肉、皮肤和神经等多种组织细胞的混合细胞群。

造血和间质干细胞的分化:4

新生儿脐带血中含有大量造血干细胞。研究发现这些干细胞比其他成体干细胞较不成熟,这意味着它们能够在培养基中增殖更长时间并分化成出更多类型的组织。关于脐带血干细胞是多能还是专能干细胞及其可塑性程度的研究正在持续进行。

以前经常被丢弃的脐带血已逐渐成为造血干细胞的另一个来源,用以治疗白血病、淋巴瘤和其他致命血液疾病。脐带血也被用来救治婴儿型克拉伯病患儿,这是一种溶酶体贮积症,可导致幼儿进行性神经系统恶化和死亡。

尽管有成体干细胞来源——骨髓、脐带血或其他组织,这类细胞的数量仍然极少。这就使得分辨、分离和纯化工作变得极具挑战性。科学家们目前正在试图确定人体内存在多少种成体干细胞以及它们的所在位置。


返回顶部

干细胞的来源是什么?

20 世纪 50 年代到 60 年代期间,Thomas、Storb 及其他科学家就利用从骨髓移植的专能干细胞进行实验,促使干细胞移植在 20 世纪 70 年代用于治疗恶性血液疾病。这项研究创造了“干细胞”一词。1998 年,威斯康星大学的 James Thompson 教授首次成功分离出人体多能细胞。这些细胞从体外受精诊所获得的多余胚胎中分离得到。随后,科学家们从各种成人组织中分离出干细胞,但这些细胞是专能而非多能干细胞。

成体干细胞被发现存在于骨髓、外周血和脐带血。最近,科学家们在脂肪、骨骼肌、皮肤、血管、视网膜、肝、胰腺和脑中发现了干细胞。成体干细胞极为罕见且难以分辨、分离和纯化。


返回顶部

细胞疗法目前被如何应用?其未来的潜在用途是什么?

骨髓移植已在过去 40 年中用于帮助白血病、淋巴瘤、再生障碍性贫血或遗传代谢性疾病患者恢复血液和免疫系统。遗憾的是,寻找匹配捐赠者成为异体骨髓移植的主要限制因素。

脐带血 (UCB) 干细胞已逐渐成为骨髓移植的替代疗法,容易获取且可马上用于治疗。脐带血移植可实现较低的并发症发生率,特别是接受无关供体移植患者常见的移植物抗宿主病。脐带血移植的匹配要求也比骨髓移植较宽松,增加发现患者合适供体的可能性。直到最近,脐带血移植才因低干细胞剂量而局限用于小儿患者。但在 2004 年,研究人员证明结合两个脐带血单位的干细胞能够增加细胞剂量,从而将此拯救生命的造血干细胞疗法应用于成人患者。

除了恢复血液和免疫系统,科学家们预测干细胞还将用于更换受损或病变组织和器官。关于修复心脏发作后或充血性心脏衰竭期间的受损或即将死亡的心肌的临床试验正在持续进行。持续进行的糖尿病研究重点在于了解如何将干细胞培养成为能够分泌胰岛素的胰岛细胞类型。修复使人非常衰弱的脊髓损伤也是研究者再造神经元、髓鞘和神经细胞的目标。

随着基础研究的进行,研究人员希望了解细胞如何复制和分化成特化子细胞,这可能有助于了解导致出生缺陷的先天性细胞异常。通过了解细胞信号通路也可以让我们明白干细胞如何能够在损伤部位存活繁殖并开始修复受损或病变的组织。

利用干细胞作为药物输送系统是研究人员的另一个目标。干细胞可能能够将化疗药物直接输送至靶向癌细胞。干细胞也可培育成肝细胞或其他组织,用于筛选新的候选药物以实现药物开发的安全性。使用人类细胞和/或组织可为毒理学测试提供比目前使用的传统动物模型更好的模型。

癌症疫苗(一种过继免疫治疗)正处在临床试验阶段,用于治疗前列腺癌、乳腺癌、卵巢癌和大肠癌。将患者肿瘤细胞与树突状细胞结合可产生疫苗以发现并摧毁癌细胞。其他过继免疫治疗可以人为地增加癌症患者体内 T 杀手细胞(白细胞的一种形式)的数量。这涉及患者 T 细胞的收集、体外扩增及回输至患者体内。这种疗法可极大增加 T 细胞数量并增强患者的抗癌免疫力。


返回顶部

实现这些潜在用途之前必须克服哪些障碍?

细胞疗法从基础研究实验室发展到广泛应用于临床之前必须克服几个技术障碍。科学家必须能够:
  • 了解和控制未分化细胞分化成特化细胞的机制。这包括分辨开关启动和调控细胞分化的基因所需的复杂信号。
  • 分辨、分离和纯化不同成体干细胞类型。纯化和/或扩增的干细胞将可满足安全、有效的治疗方法的需求。
  • 控制干细胞分化成治疗疾病所需的目标细胞类型,例如可产生用于治疗的足够数量的正确干细胞或分化细胞。
  • 了解如何提供患者相容性干细胞移植以避免免疫系统产生排斥反应。
  • 一旦干细胞已被移植到患者体内,证明临床症状得到改善及细胞的正常发育和功能。干细胞必须成为患者自体组织的一部分并学习如何作为患者的自然体细胞之一来发挥功能。

返回顶部

参考文献

  1. Application of Current Statutory Authorities to Human Somatic Cell Therapy Products and Gene Therapy Products, Notice, Oct 14, 1993 (Federal Register).(Notice from the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, Center for Devices and Radiological Health, U.S. Food and Drug Administration.)
  2. Where are adult stem cells?Research in Focus – Stem Cell Therapy from the Medical Research Council (MRC) funded through the UK Government through the Office of Science and Technology (OST).
  3. Weiss, Rick.The Power To Divide.National Geographic Magazine, 2005-7-13:p13.
  4. Stem Cell Information; The official National Institutes of Health resource for stem cell research:http://stemcells.nih.gov/info/basics/basics4.asp
  5. International Society of Stem Cell Research:http://www.isscr.org/

返回顶部

current_page : medical/frequently-asked-questions-cell-therapy-38848
first : medical
remaining : frequently-asked-questions-cell-therapy-38848
second :
isCurrentPageInSitemap : Yes
sectiontoshow : medical

Frequently Asked Questions: Cell Therapy and Regenerative Medicine

What is regenerative medicine?

Regenerative medicine is a broad definition for innovative medical therapies that will enable the body to repair, replace, restore and regenerate damaged or diseased cells, tissues and organs. Scientists worldwide are engaged in research activities that may enable repair of damaged heart muscle after a heart attack, replacement of skin for burn victims, restoration of movement after spinal cord injury and regeneration of pancreatic tissue to produce insulin for people with diabetes. Regenerative medicine promises to extend healthy life spans and improve the quality of life by supporting and activating the body’s natural healing.

This broad field encompasses a variety of research areas including cell therapy, tissue engineering, biomaterials engineering, growth factors and transplantation science.


Top

What is cell therapy?

The FDA defines cell therapy as, “The prevention, treatment, cure or mitigation of disease or injuries in humans by the administration of autologous, allogeneic or xenogeneic cells that have been manipulated or altered ex vivo.”1 The goal of cell therapy, overlapping with that of regenerative medicine, is to repair, replace or restore damaged tissues or organs.

Cell therapy may take the form of a stem cell transplant such as a hematopoietic cell transplant that is used to restore the blood and immune system of patients with leukemia, lymphoma or other blood disorders.

Activation of the body’s own immune system to fight cancer is referred to as adoptive immunotherapy. This type of cell therapy is most commonly used in the fight against cancer. One type of adoptive immunotherapy treatment artificially increases the number of T killer cells (a form of white blood cell) in the patient and involves collection of patient T cells, ex vivo expansion, then reinfusion to the patient. The result is an increase in the number of T cells and a stronger patient immune response to the cancer.

Regardless of the type of cellular therapy, production of the therapeutic product may require several complex techniques to alter or manipulate the cell. Cell engineering techniques may include:

  • Propagation of cells
  • Expansion of cells
  • Selection of cells
  • Pharmacological treatment of cells
  • Alteration of biological characteristics of cells

Top

What are stem cells and why are they important?

A stem cell is a cell (either adult or embryonic) that is capable of indefinite renewal through cell division and retention of its generic or unspecialized state while at the same time maintaining its potential to give rise to daughter cells of a more specialized type.

Classification of stem cells as totipotent, pluripotent and multipotent describes the breadth of the stem cells’ ability to create specialized cell types. Stem cells represent a continuum or spectrum from embryonic stem cells to adult stem cells. The primary distinguishing factor is plasticity - the stem cell's capacity to differentiate into multiple specialized cell types.

Totipotent stem cells are known as the “master” cells of the body because they have the capacity to differentiate into the 216 specialized cell types that comprise the human body plus the placenta. A fertilized egg is an example of a totipotent cell.

Pluripotent stem cells are highly versatile cells and can give rise to any specialized cell type in the body except those needed to develop a fetus. Embryonic stem cells are pluripotent.

Multipotent stem cells can give rise to several specialized daughter cells but are limited to the particular tissue, organ or physiological system of origin. For example, hematopoietic stem cells can produce many types of blood cells in the circulatory system but cannot differentiate into a brain cell. Hematopoietic stem cells are an example of adult stem cells and are multipotent. Stem cells from umbilical cord blood are also multipotent based on evidence to date.

Take a look at totipotent, pluripotent and multipotent stem cells as they relate to the human development continuum:

Scientists expect enormous benefits from stem cell research and anticipate that it will revolutionize the practice of medicine. Stem cells may even lead to the creation of healthy tissues and organs for replacement of damaged and diseased body parts. Basic research to understand cell differentiation and human development may lead to a greater understanding of how birth defects occur. Stem cells may also be used during development of traditional pharmaceuticals. Stem cells stimulated to differentiate into specialized liver cells could be used for toxicology screening during the evaluation of drug candidates. Although the clinical benefits of cell-based therapies are already being seen, unlocking the full potential of stem cells will take decades of dedicated research. With each day, we move closer to realizing the promises of cell therapy and regenerative medicine.


Top

What are embryonic stem cells?

Embryonic stem cells are derived from embryos, specifically the inner cell mass of a blastocyst, a hollow ball of cells that forms approximately five days after conception. Embryonic stems cells are the most primitive stem cells and as a result contain the most long-term promise for novel cell therapies and tissue regeneration.

Embryonic stem cells are pluripotent, meaning they have the ability to differentiate into any of the 200-plus cell types required by the body. Understanding and controlling embryonic stem cell differentiation and growth will require years of intensive research. Growing these cells in the laboratory is a time-consuming and painstaking process. Scientists must monitor embryonic stem cells closely and provide constant care to ensure continued growth and prevent uncontrolled or spontaneous differentiation.

Most embryonic stem cells used for research today have been donated from excess blastocysts created during in-vitro fertilization. The University of Wisconsin-Madison presents fascinating images on their Stem Cell Research web site.


Top

What are adult stem cells?

Adult (Somatic) stem cells are unspecialized cells that are found in different parts of the body and, depending on the source tissue, have different properties. Adult stem cells are capable of self-renewal and give rise to daughter cells that are specialized to form the cell types found in the original body part.

Adult stem cells are multipotent, meaning that they appear to be limited in the cell types that they can produce based on current evidence. However, recent scientific studies suggest that adult stem cells may have more plasticity than originally thought. Stem cell plasticity is the ability of a stem cell from one tissue to generate the specialized cell type(s) of another tissue. For example, bone marrow stromal cells are known to give rise to bone cells, cartilage cells, fat cells and other types of connective tissue (which is expected), but they may also differentiate into cardiac muscle cells and skeletal muscle cells (this was not initially thought possible).

Hematopoietic stem cells that give rise to all blood and immune cells are today the most understood of the adult stem cells. Hematopoietic stem cells from bone marrow have been providing lifesaving cures for leukemia and other blood disorders for over 40 years. Hematopoietic stem cells are primarily found in the bone marrow but have also been found in the peripheral blood in very low numbers. Compared to adult stem cells from other tissues, hematopoietic stem cells are relatively easy to obtain.

Mesenchymal stem cells are also found in the bone marrow. Mesenchymal stem cells are a mixed population of cells that can form fat cells, bone, cartilage and ligaments, muscle cells, skin cells and nerve cells.

Hematopoietic and stromal stem cell differentiation:4

Umbilical cord blood from newborns is a rich source of hematopoietic stem cells. Research has found that these stem cells are less mature than other adult stem cells, meaning that they are able to proliferate longer in culture and may contribute to a broader range of tissues. Research is ongoing to determine whether umbilical cord stem cells are pluripotent or multipotent and the extent of their plasticity.

Cord blood, which traditionally has been discarded, has emerged as an alternative source of hematopoietic stem cells for the treatment of leukemia, lymphoma and other lethal blood disorders. It has also been used as a life-saving treatment for children with infantile Krabbe’s disease, a lysosomal storage disease that produces progressive neurological deterioration and death in early childhood.

Regardless of the adult stem cells' source – bone marrow, umbilical cord blood or other tissues – these cells are present in minute quantities. This makes identification, isolation and purification challenging. Scientists are currently trying to determine how many kinds of adult stem cells exist and where they are located in the body.


Top

Where do stem cells come from?

Multipotent stem cells for transplant from bone marrow were used experimentally from the 1950’s and 1960's with the work of Thomas and Storb and others, leading to stem cell transplant in the 1970's for hematologic malignancies. This work coined the term “stem cell.” The first human pluripotent cells were isolated in 1998 by Dr. James Thompson at the University of Wisconsin. These cells were isolated from excess embryos obtained from in-vitro fertilization clinics. Subsequently, scientists have isolated stem cells from a variety of adult tissues, but these are multipotent, not pluripotent.

Adult stem cells have been found in the bone marrow, peripheral blood and umbilical cord blood. More recently, scientists have found stem cells in fat, skeletal muscle, skin, blood vessels, retina, liver, pancreas and the brain. Adult stem cells are extremely rare and difficult to identify, isolate and purify.


Top

How is cell therapy being used today and what are the potential uses in the future?

Bone marrow transplants have been used for the past 40 years to regenerate the blood and immune systems of patients with leukemia, lymphoma, severe aplastic anemia or inherited metabolic diseases. Unfortunately, the major limitation with allogenic bone marrow transplants is the availability of matched donors.

Stem cells from Umbilical Cord Blood (UCB) have emerged as an alternative to bone marrow transplants, providing an easily obtainable and readily available source of treatment. UCB transplants may result in a lower incidence of transplant complications, specifically graft-versus-host disease, common in patients receiving a transplant from an unrelated donor. UCB transplants also have less stringent requirements for donor matching compared to bone marrow transplants, increasing the likelihood that an appropriate donor can be found for patients. Until recently, UCB transplants were limited to pediatric patients due to the low cell stem cell dose. But in 2004, researchers demonstrated that combining stem cells from two UCB units could increase the cell dose to extend this lifesaving hematopoietic treatment to adult patients.

In addition to regenerating the blood and immune systems, scientists anticipate that stem cells will be used to replace damaged or diseased tissues and organs. Clinical trials are ongoing to repair scarred or dying heart muscle after a heart attack or during congestive heart failure. On-going research in diabetes is focused on understanding how stem cells might be trained to become the type of pancreatic islet cells that secrete needed insulin. Repair of debilitating spinal cord injuries is also a goal of researchers through the regeneration of neurons, myelin and nerve cells.

As basic research continues, researchers hope to learn how cells replicate and give rise to specialized daughter cells, which may provide insight into inborn cell errors that cause birth defects. Understanding cell signaling pathways can also provide clues to how stem cells are able to hone in on the site of injury to initiate repair of damaged or diseased tissues.

Harnessing stem cells for use as drug delivery systems is another goal of researchers. Stem cells may be able to bring chemotherapeutic agents directly to the targeted cancerous cells. Stem cells may also be used to generate liver cells or other tissues that can be used in screening new drug candidates for safety in pharmaceutical drug development. Using human cells and/or tissues may provide a better model for toxicology testing than the traditional animal models in use today.

Cancer vaccines, a type of adoptive immunotherapy, are in clinical trials for prostrate, breast, ovarian and colorectal cancers. Combining tumor cells from the patient with dendritic cells can lead to a vaccine that will seek out and destroy the cancerous cells. Other adoptive immunotherapies can artificially increase the number of T killer cells (a form of white blood cell) in a cancer patient. This involves collection of patient T cells, ex vivo expansion, then reinfusion to the patient. The result is an increase in the number of T cells and a stronger patient immune response to the cancer.


Top

What obstacles must be overcome before these potential uses will be realized?

Before cell therapies move from basic research laboratories and into widespread use in the clinic, several technical obstacles must be overcome. Scientists must be able to:
  • Understand and control the mechanism of turning undifferentiated cells into specialized cells. This involves identifying the complex signals needed to turn the genes on and off that initiate and govern the differentiation of cells.
  • Identify, isolate and purify different adult stem cell types. Purified and/or expanded stem cells will be required for safe, efficacious treatments.
  • Control the differentiation of stem cells to target cell types needed to treat disease such that sufficient quantities of the correct stem cell or differentiated cell can be generated for treatment.
  • Learn to make stem cell transplants patient-compatible to avoid rejection by the immune system.
  • Demonstrate clinical improvement and normal cell development and function once stem cells have been transplanted into the patient’s body. Stem cells must become integrated with the patient’s own tissues and learn to function as one of the patient’s natural body cells.

Top

References

  1. Application of Current Statutory Authorities to Human Somatic Cell Therapy Products and Gene Therapy Products, Notice, Oct 14, 1993 (Federal Register). (Notice from the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, Center for Devices and Radiological Health, U.S. Food and Drug Administration.)
  2. Where are adult stem cells? Research in Focus – Stem Cell Therapy from the Medical Research Council (MRC) funded through the UK Government through the Office of Science and Technology (OST).
  3. Weiss, Rick. The Power To Divide. National Geographic Magazine, July 13, 2005: p13.
  4. Stem Cell Information; The official National Institutes of Health resource for stem cell research: http://stemcells.nih.gov/info/basics/basics4.asp
  5. International Society of Stem Cell Research: http://www.isscr.org/

Top