颇尔呼吸系统过滤器及流感防护

2009 年 5 月 7 日

尊敬的客户:

流感几乎成为人们每日关注的焦点之一。 甲型 H1N1 流感病毒变异后可能导致的流感大爆发引起了公众和医疗保健专家的重视。在这种情况下,颇尔被问到以下问题:“颇尔呼吸系统过滤器能否防止受感染患者的病毒进入呼吸系统,继而经由呼吸机传播至医院的环境空气中?”

为了充当细菌和病毒通过呼吸系统传播的屏障,过滤器必须能够有效地阻断不同潜在的传播途径。

传染性生物体可能存在于患者的唾液或支气管分泌物中。咳嗽或气道抽吸可产生含有传染原小液滴的喷雾。在通过干燥通道时,液滴的液体层干燥后会形成更小的飞沫。 飞沫可能含有传染性生物体,并且可长时间在空气中传播。因此,传染性生物体可通过空气中飞沫或液体分泌物传播出去。

颇尔公司已进行了广泛的验证工作以证明颇尔呼吸系统过滤器可充当这些传播途径的有效屏障。

对呼吸过滤器进行所有已知病原体的验证测试是不可能的,也没有必要为了证明其有效性而这样做。颇尔呼吸系统过滤器已通过多种临床相关细菌(包括: 结核杆菌1绿脓杆菌2枯草杆菌3金黄葡萄球菌4)和病毒(包括人类免疫缺陷病毒5和丙型肝炎病毒6)测试。此外,这些过滤器细菌也已接受了细菌(缺陷假单细菌7)和病毒(MS-2 噬菌体7)生物体测试——分子排阻的黄金标准。这些研究均证实颇尔呼吸系统过滤器可提供有效的污染液体屏障并具有至少 99.999% 的空气细菌和病毒清除效率。

鉴于流感病毒的大小(80-120 纳米)以及其在无生命表面上的生存率并利用这些研究​​作为指导,我们没有理由认为颇尔呼吸系统过滤器不能同样有效地阻断流感病毒的传播。

我们相信以上信息对您大有帮助。更多详情,请联系您当地的颇尔代表。

此致,

Joseph S. Cervia 医师(医学博士、工商管理硕士、美国内科医师协会会员、美国儿科学会会员、美国感染病学会会员)
临床医药和临床儿科教授
爱因斯坦医学院
医疗总监
生物医学部高级副总裁
颇尔 Medical


1 Aranha-Creado, H. 等.Infect Control Hosp Epidemiol 1997, 18:252 - 254
2 Willie B. Krh.-Hyg. +Inf.verh. 1990, 12:24
3 Wilkes A.R. 等.Brit J Anaesthesia 1999, 82:461 - 462
4 Rosales M & Dominguez V. 2nd International Conference on Prevention of Infection, Nice, France, 1992-05-04-05
5 Lloyd G et al.Centre for Applied Microbiology and Research, 1997.
6 Lloyd G et al.Anaesthesia and Intensive Care 1997, 25:235-238.
7 Pan L. etal.颇尔 Corporation Technical Report BCF2, 1995

Pall Breathing System Filters and Protection Against Influenza

May 7, 2009

Dear Customer:

Influenza is in the headline news almost every day.  The potential occurrence of a flu pandemic after mutation of the H1N1 virus causes concerns to the public and to healthcare professionals. In this context Pall has been asked the question: “Do Pall Breathing System Filters protect against the spread of virus from an infected patient into the breathing system, and in turn, via the ventilator into the ambient air of the hospital?”

In order to act as a barrier to the transmission of bacteria and viruses via the breathing system, a filter must effectively block different potential routes of transmission.

Infective organisms may be contained in a patient’s saliva or bronchial secretions. Coughing or airway suctioning can generate a spray of small droplets containing the infective agent. During passage through dry air, the liquid coating of the droplet may dry out and form an even smaller droplet nucleus.  Droplet nuclei may contain the infectious organism, and may remain airborne for prolonged periods of time. Thus, infectious organisms may be transmitted via airborne droplet nuclei or liquid secretions.

Pall Corporation has conducted extensive validation work to show that Pall Breathing System Filters act as a barrier to these routes of transmission.

Validation testing of breathing filters with all known pathogens is not possible, nor is it necessary in order to demonstrate their efficacy. Pall Breathing System Filters have been tested with a variety of clinically relevant bacteria (including:  Mycobacterium tuberculosis1, Pseudomonas aeruginosa2, Bacillus subtilis3, Staphylococcus aureus4) and viruses (including, Human Immunodeficiency Virus5 and Hepatitis C Virus6). In addition, these filters have been subjected to testing with bacterial (Brevundimonas diminuta7) and viral (MS-2 bacteriophage7) organisms that represent gold standards for exclusion on the basis of size. These studies have demonstrated that Pall Breathing System Filters offer an effective barrier to contaminated liquids, and have an airborne bacterial and viral removal efficiency of at least 99.999%.

Given the size of the influenza virus (80-120 nm), its survival rate on inanimate surfaces, and using these studies as a guide, there would be no reason to expect that Pall Breathing System Filters would not be equally effective in preventing the passage of influenza virus.

We trust this information is helpful to you. For further details, please contact your local Pall representative.


Dr. Joseph S. Cervia, M.D., M.B.A., FACP, FAAP, FIDSA
Clinical Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Medical Director
Senior Vice President, Biomedical Division
Pall Medical

1 Aranha-Creado, H. et al. Infect Control Hosp Epidemiol 1997;18:252 - 254
2 Willie B. Krh.-Hyg. +Inf.verh. 1990;12:24
3 Wilkes A.R. et al. Brit J Anaesthesia 1999; 82:461 - 462
4 Rosales M & Dominguez V. 2nd International Conference on Prevention of Infection, Nice, France, 4-5th May 1992
5 Lloyd G et al. Centre for Applied Microbiology and Research, 1997.
6 Lloyd G et al. Anaesthesia and Intensive Care 1997;25:235-238.
7 Pan L. et al. Pall Corporation Technical Report BCF2, 1995