水处理的基本原理

 
颇尔中空纤维过滤系统
一个多世纪以来,传统的水处理厂提供了消费者保护的第一道防线。现在,快速混合、凝结和絮凝、沉淀或多介质过滤等旧技术,再也不能确保居民饮用水供应不会受到隐孢子虫、兰伯氏贾第虫和各种水传播病毒等污染物的影响。

针对家用、商用、工业用或农业用的各种水源加工规范都有很大不同。家庭用水消费者希望他们获得的水源安全、无色、无浑浊、无难闻的味道或气味。工业用户通常希望水源中不含氯、铁、锰和溶解气体。农业部门则认为不含钠、氯化物和硒等元素的水源才是优质水源。只有一种水处理方法能经济有效地满足每一位用户的不同需求,这种方法就是膜过滤。

膜技术作为当前可用的最有效和最经济的水处理方法,正在世界范围内迅速获得认可。所需纯化程度通常决定了适合特定应用的过滤水平:

  • 微滤是从液体中去除悬浮颗粒和细菌的理想选择。微滤膜是一种通常在 20 至 100 磅/平方英寸的压力条件下发挥作用的多孔膜。微滤技术在医药行业中可用于细胞富集、在酿造业中可用于啤酒的冷灭菌。
  • 超滤可去除油脂、胶体颗粒和其他水溶性污染物,可用于工业用水的回收。它还可以有效处理成分迥异的废液,最多可减少高达 98% 的待处理或排放的废物量。石油和天然气工业所生产的水可经过有效的除油处理以便回收利用。超滤膜可去除胶体、糖类和许多有机生物固体。
  • 纳滤膜经设计具有 100 至 1000 分子量的截留能力。由于 200 的分子量相当于约 1 纳米的大分子,因此这些膜被称为纳滤膜。应用压力要求在 75 至 450 磅/平方英寸之间(远低于利用反渗透膜实现类似流量所需)。离子选择性是纳滤的显著特点。单价阴离子盐(例如氯化物)能够通过该膜,而多价阴离子盐(例如,硫酸盐或磷酸盐)则被截留。纳米过滤器可用于处理地表水,以去除腐殖酸和富里酸等有机水物质 (MOW),从而防止形成不需要的消毒副产物(例如,三卤甲烷)。纳滤技术可从废液中实现 98% 的水回收率。它被视为先进的水纯化技术。
  • 反渗透与渗透工艺相反,所需应用压力在 400 至 2,000 磅/平方英寸之间。反渗透系统可用于通过海水生产饮用水。由于膜技术的进步,在处理工业用水以回收副产品的过程中,反渗透的使用变得越来越普遍。现在水的再用和排放,可以达到超出最严格的政府法规所规定的质量水平。

Fundamentals of Water Processing

 
Pall Hollow Fiber Filtration System
For more than a century, conventional water treatment plants provided a first line of consumer protection. Now, older technologies such as rapid mix, coagulation and flocculation, sedimentation, or multi-media filtration can no longer ensure that a community's drinking water supply will not be infiltrated by such contaminants as Cryptosporidium, Giardia lamblia and a variety of water-borne viruses.

The specifications for processed water which reaches the domestic, commercial, industrial, or agricultural user are extremely varied in character. The domestic consumer demands a product that is not only safe, but also colorless and free of turbidity, unpleasant taste or odor. For the industrial user, it is generally required that the product be free of chlorides, iron, manganese and dissolved gases. For the agricultural segment, quality may mean the absence of sodium, chlorides, selenium and other elements. Only one water treatment method can effectively and economically address the diverse requirements of every user - membrane filtration.

Membrane technology is rapidly gaining acceptance throughout the world as the most effective and economical water treatment method available. The degree of purification required generally determines what level of filtration is appropriate for a particular application:

  • Microfiltration is ideal for removing suspended particles and bacteria from liquids. Microfiltration membranes are the most porous and normally operate at pressures between 20 to 100 psig. Microfiltration technology is used in the pharmaceutical industry for cell harvesting and in the brewing industry for the cold sterilization of beer.
  • Ultrafiltration removes oils, colloidal solids and other soluble pollutants and allows for recycling of industrial waters. It works well on waste streams with compositional variability reducing, by up to 98%, the amount of waste to be treated or discharged. Produced waters from the oil and gas industries can be effectively treated to remove oil and recycle the water. Ultrafiltration membranes will remove colloids, sugars, and many organic biological solids.
  • Nanofiltration membranes have been developed that have retention capabilities of between 100 and 1000 molecular weight. Since a molecular weight of 200 equates to a large molecule of about 1 nanometer, these membranes are called nanofiltration membranes. Applied pressure requirement is between 75 and 450 psig, (far less than needed to achieve similar flow with reverse osmosis membranes). Ion-selectivity is a significant feature of nanofiltration. Salts with monovalent anions (e.g., Chlorides) are able to pass through the membrane, while salts with polyvalent anions (e.g., Sulfates or Phosphates) are retained. Nanofilters are used for processing surface waters to remove Matter Organic Water (MOW) such as humic and fulvic acids in order to preclude the formation of unwanted disinfection by-products (e.g., Trihalomethane). Nanofiltration technology can achieve a 98% recovery of water from waste. It is considered to be the state of the art in water purification.
  • Reverse Osmosis is the reversal of the osmosis process through applied pressures ranging from 400 to 2,000 psig. Reverse osmosis systems are used to produce drinking water from sea water. Because of the advances made in membrane technology, the use of reverse osmosis is becoming commonplace in the treatment of industrial waters for recovery of by-products. Reuse or discharge of water that will exceed the quality levels of even the most stringent government regulations is now attainable.