航空航天、国防、船舶

洁净空气系统为发动机提供零能见度下的保护

零能见度时的沙尘浓度给直升机带来了挑战
安全和发动机保护

零能见度时的沙尘浓度对于直升机而言是一种危险条件。在沙地环境中,源自直升机旋翼的下洗流会在飞机起飞和降落的过程中扬起大片灰尘,将飞机完全吞没。在沙漠降落过程中已测得的空气粉尘浓度高达 2.5 g/m3。

在这种条件下,发动机可能会卷入大量沙尘。这种在近地面飞行过程中由旋翼洗流引起的剧烈、吞没式尘云会导致:

  • 由飞机与地面障碍物碰撞导致的飞行安全风险
  • 有时就在运行几十小时后就会由于部件的损坏而导致发动机的拆换。
  • 由于障碍性不平或斜坡地形导致的侧翻风险

零能见度时的沙尘浓度让直升机的安全和发动机的保护面临挑战“在最近的军事行动中,零能见度时的沙尘浓度让直升机面临的挑战超过了其他所有威胁的总和。”
-旋翼及机翼部的 Lt. Col. Steve Colby 表示(2005 年) 

  

 

零能见度时的沙尘浓度的影响结果
对没有保护措施的发动机造成的影响

进入发动机进气口的粉尘颗粒尺寸的分布与参考硅基实验室试验用污染物类似:ISO 粗试验粉尘。这种特殊的试验粉尘极为精细,12% 的颗粒在 0 到 5 微米之间,中值粒径为 30 微米。对于一架中型直升机,这可能意味着每分钟有多达一公斤(2.2 磅)的粉尘进入发动机! 

这就解释了为什么在沙漠行动中,未受保护的 CH-47 支奴干发动机会在降落不超过十四 (14) 次之后就不得不因侵蚀受损而被拆下。

 Centrisep EAPS 可在零能见度时的沙尘浓度条件下清除粉尘“直升机零能见度时的沙尘浓度问题每年需花费 1 亿美元,掉电会导致大量硬件损耗及人员伤亡。”
(美国空军中央司令部) 

 

洁净空气系统可以在零能见度情况下分离发动机吸入的沙尘

洁净空气系统最初就是设计来防止极端的情况经大量风洞测试证明,此款先进的发动机保护系统可以在空气粉尘浓度高达 5 g/m3 的条件下,保持出色的粉尘分离效率(96%或更高)。

洁净空气系统可以在高浓度沙尘条件下工作,并保护下游的关键部件并且不会增加维修工作量。

注意事项:浸油型 阻挡式过滤器 的制造商给出的建议是:“在沙尘较多的环境中运行时,须根据与此类环境的接触时间和程度频繁地对过滤器总成进行维修。因此,应在运行限制范围内,最大程度地减少或避免进入可能导致“零能见度时的沙尘浓度”的环境中进行任意类型的操作。

洁净空气体统经过沙尘挑战试验

抗尘测试是直升机发动机合格认证的一部分,在风洞中进行。洁净空气系统保护下的发动机啊

将浓度为 1.5 g/m3 的 SAE 粗试验粉尘送入发动机进气口,同时使发动机以最大连续功率持续运行 10 小时。总共156公斤沙尘被吸入到洁净空气系统10 小时后,发动机通过测试,且因侵蚀造成的功率损失仅为 3%。值得一提的是,对于未受保护的发动机而言,只需不到上述粉尘量的二十分之一就足以使发动机因受到侵蚀而造成严重的功率损失。

在整个 10 小时的测试过程中,未对过滤器或发动机进行任何维护。
概述
终极直升机发动机保护
洁净空气系统-直升机发动机终极保护系统
为什么选择洁净空气系统?
为什么选择洁净空气系统?
洁净空气系统为直升机发动机提供终极保护
应用
应用
50 多种个不同设计已通过认证
它如何工作?
它如何工作?
洁净空气系统培训方案
设计和测试
设计和测试
颇尔的设计和工程专业知识
洁净服务
洁净空气系统-修理和支援服务
维护保养指南和全球联系方式

PUREair Protection Against Brownout Conditions

Brownouts Challenge Helicopter
Safety and Engine Protection

Brownout is a dangerous condition for helicopters. In a sandy environment, the downwash from a helicopter’s rotor kicks up a cloud of dust during take off and landing, completely engulfing the aircraft. Concentrations of dust up to 2.5 g/m3 of air have been measured during desert landings.

Under these conditions the engine can ingest vast quantities of sand. The intense, blinding dust clouds that are stirred up by rotor wash during near-ground flight cause:

  • Flight safety risks from aircraft and ground obstacle collisions
  • Component damage that leads to engine removal, sometimes after just a few dozen hours of operation
  • Rollover risks due to obstructed uneven or sloped terrain

Brownouts Challenge Helicopter Safety and Engine Protection “Brownouts have claimed more helicopters in recent military operations than all other threats combined.”
-Lt. Col. Steve Colby in Rotor & Wing, 2005) 



Consequences of Brownouts
on Unprotected Engines

The particle size distribution of the dust penetrating the engine air intakes is similar to a reference silica based laboratory test contaminant: ISO Coarse Test Dust. This particular test dust is extremely fine, with 12% of the particles between 0 and 5 microns and a median particle size of 30 microns. For a medium size helicopter, this could mean as much as one kilogram (2.2 lbs) of dust getting into the engine per minute!  

This explains why in desert operations, unprotected CH-47 Chinook engines did not survive more than fourteen (14) landings before their removal for erosion damage.

 Centrisep EAPS Removes Dust in Brownout Conditions“Helicopter Brownout is a $100 million per year problem, leading to significant hardware loss, injuries, and fatalities.”
(USAF Central Command) 


PUREair Removes Dust in Brownout Conditions

The PUREair system was initially designed to respond to hazardous brownouts. It maintains excellent dust separation efficiencies (96% or better) at concentrations of up to five g/m3 of air, as proven by extensive wind tunnel testing.

The PUREair system can handle very high dust concentrations and increase the erosion life of critical turbine components by substantial amounts compared to an unprotected engine, without introducing any additional maintenance burden on the operator.

Note: The manufacturers of oil wetted IBFs advise the following “When operating in an environment of high sand and dust levels, frequent servicing of the filter assembly may be required based on the time exposure and severity of the environment. Any operations in an environment that can result in “brownout” conditions should therefore be minimized or avoided to the maximum extent possible within the constraints of the operation.”

PUREair System Excels in Dust Endurance Test

As part of a qualification of a helicopter engine, a dust endurance test was carried out in a wind tunnel. The engine was protected by a PUREair system.

The engine was to run continuously for 10 hours at maximum continuous power with SAE Coarse Test Dust at a concentration of 1.5 g/m3 supplied to the engine’s air intake. A total of 156 kg (343 lbs.) of dust was fed into the PUREair intakes. Upon completion of the 10 hours, the engine survived the test with only a 3% power loss due to erosion. Note that less than 1/20th of this total dust fed into an unprotected engine would have been enough to cause severe power loss through engine erosion.

No maintenance was carried out on the filter or the engine throughout the entire 10 hour test.
The Ultimate in Helicopter Engine Protection
PUREair - The Ultimate in Helicopter Engine Protection
Why PUREair?
Why Choose PUREair?
PUREair systems offers the ultimate in helicopter engine protection
More than fifty different designs have been certified
How Does It Work?
How Does it Work?
Pall PUREair system training program
Design and Testing
Design and Testing
Pall's design and engineering expertise
PUREair Services
PUREair - Repairs and Support Services
Maintenance guidelines and global contact details