航空航天、国防、船舶

军队的环境解决方案

与污染及有害废弃物处理相关的花费巨大。 加上日益严格的法规,以不仅能保护并conserve我们的自然资源,并且能减少合规性对底线影响的方式解决环境相关问题十分关键。(更多

注目产品

电子设备冷却剂

当今复杂的电子系统(飞行控制、目标获取及火控雷达)均依赖高性能电子设备冷却剂以确保正常运作。为最大限度提升这些系统的热导性,冷却剂需与高能量电子部件直接接触。除散热外,冷却剂还可隔绝相邻部件,以避免电弧及部件燃耗。冷却剂纯度对维持高介电强度来说十分关键。如颗粒、水、溶剂及空气等系统污染物将降低冷却剂的绝缘性,导致流动性下降及/或电子部件失效。您可通过便携式液体净化器延长这些高性能电子设备冷却剂的寿命并/或进行回收利用。

燃油

如今的先进燃油可实现飞机发动机在无焦化条件下更清洁的燃烧。但即便如 JP-8 + 100 等一流燃油也终将受到水污染。事实上,水可能是比颗粒污染更严重的问题,因为水分可导致腐蚀,可能堵塞燃油管,甚至引起发动机喘振。不幸的是,少量水分即可导致问题。分散剂和添加剂令这种情况更加糟糕,因为其降低了水与燃油之间的表面张力,使水分变得更难清除。

为防止“游离水”导致维护及性能问题,将其从燃油中分离变得十分重要。颇尔正通过高质量聚结器解决这一十分重要的关键问题。

还有与此相关的颇尔出版物——改进燃油中的悬浮水清除

液压及润滑油

颗粒污染及水分可能对液压及润滑油的物理及化学特性产生严重的负面影响。这些特性对液体的有效使用寿命十分关键,失去这些特性可能导致系统性能下降,并加速机械及化学损耗。以下是对不利后果的简单描述:

液体污染物可以多种形式出现,并导致以下后果:

颗粒
  • 喷嘴及阀门腐蚀
  • 滑阀粘连
  • 密封圈磨损
  • 泵磨损
  • 汽缸划痕
  • 液体降解
  • 冻结
  • 聚合作用(导致粘度变化及固体生成)
  • 氧化及酸形成
  • 添加剂沉淀
空气/气体
  • 形成泡沫
  • 气穴导致泵的损坏
  • 系统响应缓慢,散装模块减少
  • 液体温度升高,液体氧化
溶剂(除油剂)
  • 系统部件腐蚀
  • 阀门粘滞
  • 冲蚀磨损

为减少这些不利影响,达成修复并再次利用仅含少量水分的海陆空交通工具废弃燃油的军事目标,颇尔开发出燃油净化系统,其利用独特旋流盘和真空脱水技术形成油雾可从液压液体中快速清除颗粒物质、有害水分、气体及氯化溶剂(如除油剂),可避免过度真空及加热导致的液体损害或性能降低。处理过的燃油可恢复至与新燃油相同或更佳的状态,因而可再次使用而非丢弃。此方法不仅最终成效十分环保,多个军事案例还显示其可实现十分富有吸引力的成本节约——据美国军方推断,通过使用颇尔燃油净化系统回收液压液体,其每年可节省约 2 百万美金。在另一事例中,USAF 开展了针对新的或使用过的液压油的颇尔净化技术评估。这项飞机液压油净化研究似乎显示——通过重复使用液压油,USAF 每年可节省 3 千万美元。

在最低限度上,颇尔燃油净化技术至少可有效解决含油废水问题。

机床冷却剂

为最大限度提升运转系统的性能,所有使用到的液体应不含颗粒污染物——尤其是冷却剂,而这意味着需要频繁的更换液体。但您可通过一种名为一次性分级孔过滤的卓越的颇尔技术降低机床冷却剂的更换频率,并显著延长其寿命。颇尔的 Profile 过滤器采用分级孔技术,可在单一元件内实现有效的预过滤和过滤,且寿命比相似等级的普通过滤器长三至十倍。

即使先进的过滤系统也无法无限期延长机床冷却剂的寿命。需要废弃处理时,颇尔已准备好为您提供一种冷却剂浓缩解决方案,可将您的处理费用降低 95%。如需了解有关这一成本控制“效率专家”的更多信息,请了解我们的含油废水分离系统。

含油废水

这是一个事实:巨额金钱被用于处理含油废水,而废水中高达 95% 的成分仅仅是水!另外,这种具有潜在危险的废水的治理法规正变得日趋严格。解决方案?颇尔的 Clarisep 含油废水分离器。通过先进的超滤处理,Clarisep可从含油废水中分离乳剂及颗粒。从而将必须场外处理的废水量减少 95%。由于分离后的水性质温和,因此可在本地处理,从而大幅降低您的处理成本。

电镀

控制电镀解决方案污染可延长电镀液体的有效使用寿命,不仅可减少被退回的电镀零件数量,还可防止污染并最大限度减少废水流量。虽然有许多过滤技术可用,但优选的过滤技术应该有一个较短的投资回收期、能提供所需的流体清洁度、本身不会形成很多废物流、所需维护成本低、不需要使用研磨助滤剂(如硅藻土),以达到所需的镀浴清洁度。根据电镀应用,反冲洗或分级孔径过滤系统可用于降低流体污染水平。颇尔已开发出可满足所有这些要求的独特产品:反冲洗过滤系统一次性分级孔径过滤

颇尔通过提供专门针对污染预防合规性环境保护的尖端解决方案积极应对超越当前及预期法规、同时大幅降低成本的军事战略。

坚持环保政策是颇尔企业使命的基石。正是由于我们对这一使命的承诺,我们得以令我们的军事客户相信我们保持着时刻的警觉以解决您的成本敏感性环保问题。

Environmental Solutions for the Military

The costs associated with pollution and the disposal of hazardous wastes are astronomical.  Combined with increasingly more stringent regulations, it is critical that these environmentally related issues be addressed in ways that will not only protect and conserve our natural resources but also reduce the impact of compliance on the bottom line. (more)
 

Items of Interest

Electronic Coolants

Today's sophisticated electronic systems (flight control, target acquisition and fire control radar) rely on high-performance Electronic Coolants to ensure proper operation. To maximize the heat transfer characteristics of these systems, the coolants come in direct contact with the high-energy electronic components. In addition to the dissipation of heat, the coolants insulate adjacent components preventing electrical arcing and component burnout. The purity of these coolants is critical to maintaining this high dielectric strength. System contaminants such as particulate, water, solvents and air reduce the insulating characteristic of the coolant resulting in fluid breakdown and/or electronic component failure. You can extend the life and/or recycle these high-performance electronic coolants with the Portable Fluid Purifier.

Fuels

Today's advanced fuels enable aircraft engines to burn cleaner with virtually no coking. But even state-of-the-art fuels such as JP-8 + 100 will eventually become contaminated with water. In fact, water can be a bigger problem than particulate contamination because it causes corrosion, can plug fuel lines, and may even cause engines to stall. Unfortunately, it doesn't take much water to cause a problem. And exacerbating the situation are detergents and additives that make water even more difficult to remove because they lower the interfacial tension between the water and the fuel.

To prevent maintenance and performance problems caused by "free water", it is essential to separate it from the fuel. Pall is addressing this critically important issue with high quality Coalescers.

Also available is the related Pall publication, Improve Suspended Water Removal from Fuel.

 

Hydraulic and Lube Oils

Particulate contamination and water can have serious adverse effects on the physical and chemical properties of hydraulic and lubricant fluids. The loss of these properties, central to useful service life of the fluid, can result in inefficient system performance and accelerated mechanical and chemical wear processes. Here is a brief look at the detrimental effects:

Fluid contamination can take several forms and can have the following effects:

Particulate
  • Erosion of nozzles and valves
  • Valve spool sticking
  • Seal wear
  • Pump wear
  • Cylinder scoring
  • Fluid degradation
Water
  • Freezing
  • Polymerization (causing viscosity change and solids generation)
  • Oxidation and acid formation
  • Additive precipitation
Air/Gases
  • Foaming
  • Pump damage due to cavitation
  • Sluggish system response, reduced bulk modules
  • Increased fluid temperature, fluid oxidation
Solvents (degreasers)
  • System component corrosion
  • Valve stiction
  • Erosive wear

To reduce these adverse effects and also to meet the military goal of reconditioning and reusing waste oil from land, air and sea-based vehicles that contain only a small volume of water, Pall has developed Oil Purification Systems which utilize unique spinning disk and vacuum dehydration technologies to create a fine aerosol for rapid removal of particulate matter and undesirable water, gases, and chlorinated solvents (such as degreasers) from hydraulic fluids, without damaging or altering the fluid due to excessive vacuuming or heating. The result is processed oil that's restored to a condition equal to or better than new, and which can be reused instead of discarded. And while the end result is very friendly to our environment, it also offers very attractive cost savings as demonstrated by several military examples including one in which the U.S. Army concludes that it will save approximately $2 million a year by recycling hydraulic fluids using Pall Oil Purification Systems. In yet another case, the USAF conducted an evaluation of Pall purification technologies on new and used hydraulic fluids. This Aircraft Hydraulic Fluid Purification study appears to indicate that the USAF can save $30 million a year through the reuse of hydraulic fluids.

The bottom line is that Pall oil purification technologies are providing a serious assault on oily waste problems.

 

Machine Tool Coolants

To maximize performance of an operating system, all fluids involved should be free of particulate contamination -- particularly coolants, which often means frequent fluid changes. But you can reduce how often you replace machine tool coolants and significantly extend their life through a superior Pall technology called Disposable Graded Pore Filtration. Pall's Profile filters which utilize graded pore technology provide effective prefiltration and filtration in a single element and last three to ten times longer than a normal filter of similar rating.

Even advanced filtration systems can't extend the life of machine tool coolants indefinitely. When the time comes for disposal, Pall is ready with a solution that will concentrate the coolant to such an extent, it will reduce your disposal costs by as much as 95%. To learn more about this cost-containment "efficiency-expert", check out our Oily Wastewater Separation Systems.

Oily Wastewater

It's a fact: Huge sums of money are being spent to dispose of oily wastes when up to 95% of the waste volume is just plain water! Additionally, regulations governing the disposal of this potentially hazardous waste are becoming even more strict. The solution? Pall's Clarisep Oily Wastewater Separators. Through state-of-the-art Ultrafiltration, Clarisep separates emulsions and particulates from the water in oily wastes. The result is a reduction of up to 95% in the volume of waste that must be disposed off-site. Because the separated water is rendered benign, it can be disposed of locally, and that will significantly reduce your disposal costs.

Plating

Controlling plating solution contamination can prolong the useful service life of the plating fluid, thus preventing pollution and minimizing waste stream volumes in addition to decreasing the number of plated parts rejected. Though many filtration technologies are available, the one chosen should have a short payback period, provide the required fluid cleanliness, not be a significant waste stream contributor itself, require low maintenance and not require the use of an abrasive filter aid, such as diatomaceous earth, to achieve the desired plating bath cleanliness. Depending on the plating application, a backwashable or graded pore disposable filtration system can be employed to reduce the level of contamination of a fluid. Pall has developed unique products that meet all of these criteria: Backwashable Filtration Systems and Disposable Graded Pore Filtration.

Pall is aggressively meeting military strategies to exceed current and anticipated regulations while significantly reducing costs, with cutting edge solutions designed specifically for Pollution Prevention, Compliance and Conservation.

Adherence to environmental policies is a cornerstone of Pall's corporate mission. And it is through our commitment to this mission that we can assure our customers in the military that we are vigilant in our campaign to meet your cost-sensitive, environmental concerns.