航空航天、国防、船舶

洁净空气系统保护发动机不受外来物的损伤

什么是 FOD?

FOD 让直升机的安全和发动机的保护面临挑战“外物损伤 (FOD) 是指因外物造成的任意损伤,这种损伤可以从物理或经济角度表达,可能会或可能不会使产品的安全要求和/或性能特性降级。”(国家航空航天标准 412)。

通常,外物损伤由鸟击、石头、冰雹、冰或留在跑道上的螺栓和金属屑引起。 任何上述因素都可能导致发动机‘叶片脱落’——零件裂开后高速飞出。

据估计,航空业每年要为 FOD 造成的以下情况付出约 40 亿美元的成本:

  • 要付出昂贵代价的重大飞机损伤
  • 工作人员、飞行员及乘客伤亡事故

洁净空气系统保护发动机不受外来物的损伤

洁净空气系统可以为发动机提供对于外来物损伤的极大保护,因为鹅卵石,冰雹,冰或者螺栓几乎不可能穿过涡旋管。对于一些应用,推荐在洁净空气系统的上游和或下游加装防护网。

洁净空气系统按照FAR要求完成鸟,石头或冰雹的撞击的实验 鸟击或巨大的外来物会对洁净空气系统造成损伤,但碎片不会被吸入发动机

结果

在1991年海湾战争期间,在同样的工作条件下,CH-47支奴干直升机上装有洁净空气系统的发动机所受到的侵蚀损伤要远远小于没有安装洁净空气系统的发动机。

例如:对于装有洁净空气系统的CH-47直升机,平均发动机拆换率仅为1.2台/1000飞行小时而没有安装洁净空气系统的CH-47直升机,平均发动机拆换率为 25台/1000飞行小时
概述
终极直升机发动机保护
洁净空气系统-直升机发动机终极保护系统
为什么选择洁净空气系统?
为什么选择洁净空气系统?
洁净空气系统为直升机发动机提供终极保护
应用
应用
50 多种个不同设计已通过认证
它如何工作?
它如何工作?
洁净空气系统培训方案
设计和测试
设计和测试
颇尔的设计和工程专业知识
洁净服务
洁净空气系统-修理和支援服务
维护保养指南和全球联系方式

PUREair Protection Against Foreign Object Damage (FOD)

What is FOD?

FOD Challenges Helicopter Safety and Engine Protection"Foreign Object Damage (FOD) is any damage attributed to a foreign object that can be expressed in physical or economic terms that may or may not degrade the product's required safety and/or performance characteristics". (National Aerospace Standard 412).

Most frequently, FOD damage is caused by bird strikes, stones, hail, ice, or bolts and metal shavings left on runways.  Any of these can cause an engine to ‘throw a blade’ – to break apart in a way where parts fly off at high speed.

It is estimated that FOD costs the aerospace industry some US$4 billion per year causing:

  • Expensive, significant damage to aircraft
  • Death and injury to workers, pilots and passengers

PUREair Engine Protection Against Foreign Object Damage (FOD)

It is physically impossible for a pebble, hailstone, ice or bolts to penetrate the vortex tubes, therefore the PUREair system offers formidable protection against engine Foreign Object Damage. In some applications, fitting mesh screens upstream or downstream of the main PUREair system may be recommended.

The PUREair units are tested on FAR specification equipment for bird strikes, stones, hail, etc.  A bird strike or large foreign objects could significantly damage the PUREair system, but the debris would not be ingested by the engine.


During the first Gulf War in 1991, the CH-47 Chinook helicopters protected by the PUREair system suffered less FOD and engine erosion damage than the CH47 helicopters operating in the same environment with no engine protection.

Example:  For a protected CH-47 helicopter, the average removal rate was 1.2 engines per 1000 flight hours. For the CH-47s not fitted with a PUREair system, the average removal rate was 25 engines per 1000 flight hours.
The Ultimate in Helicopter Engine Protection
PUREair - The Ultimate in Helicopter Engine Protection
Why PUREair?
Why Choose PUREair?
PUREair systems offers the ultimate in helicopter engine protection
More than fifty different designs have been certified
How Does It Work?
How Does it Work?
Pall PUREair system training program
Design and Testing
Design and Testing
Pall's design and engineering expertise
PUREair Services
PUREair - Repairs and Support Services
Maintenance guidelines and global contact details