入口气体污染可导致涡轮机械性能退化

问题区域

入口气体的液体和固体污染会腐蚀、侵蚀和污染涡轮和压缩机叶片,从而降低其效率和缩短使用寿命。以下是涡轮机叶片中发现的污染类型示例。

典型的涡轮机叶片


返回顶部

腐蚀

腐蚀是指机器部件与污染物之间的化学反应所导致的材料损耗。
污染物可以通过气流、燃料系统或水/蒸汽喷射系统进入
燃气涡轮机。盐、无机酸、钠和钒等元素以及气体(包括
氯和硫氧化物)与水组合,可以导致腐蚀(尤其是在

返回顶部

腐蚀

腐蚀是指通过悬浮于气流中的硬颗粒磨除材料。导致腐蚀的颗粒的直径通常大于等于 10 微米。直径在 5 至 10 微米之间的颗粒会落在结垢和腐蚀之间的过渡区。

已仔细研究并记录了涡轮机和压缩机叶片的腐蚀情况。(1)人们普遍认为,当颗粒直径和密度、旋压和气体速度增加,而叶片尺寸减小时,腐蚀损坏将加剧。涡轮机和压缩机制造商通过增加后缘厚度、安装现场可更换防护罩以及使用改进的合金,最大限度地减少了腐蚀。然而,他们都建议使用更细的入口过滤,以防止硬颗粒进入涡轮机。

返回顶部

结垢

结垢是指颗粒和液滴附着到涡轮机叶片的表面。这会在很短的时间内降低流动能力和效率。污垢可通过清洁消除,但这往往需要停机。污染是一个严重的问题,特别是在粘性烃气溶胶普遍存在的石油和天然气行业。传统上,设计涡轮机时并没有就其耐受含微粒气流沉积的情况作相应调整。虽然可以预测某些涡轮机叶片的沉积轨迹,但实际的结垢情况很大程度上依赖于进气清洁度——除非受控,否则不断变化。

返回顶部

叶片结垢机理

涡轮机中主要的颗粒传送机理是惯性碰撞、湍动涡流扩散和布朗运动。

图 1:叶片污染物沉积


定子/转子

对于惯性碰撞,颗粒惯性会导致其轨迹在流体改变方向的区域偏离流动流线。这会导致颗粒碰撞叶片表面(图 1)。因这种机理导致的质量流量(到达日期)会随粒径的减小而减小,对于小于 1 微米的颗粒,惯性会变得非常小。

对于湍动涡流扩散,颗粒在湍流边界层的漩涡中被夹带,并朝着叶片表面被扫除。受边界层粘滞力的影响,小颗粒(0.1-1.0 微米)速度放缓并被捕获。

在布朗运动中,极小的颗粒(0.1 微米及以下)被随机地运送到涡轮机表面。由于布朗运动,降低颗粒(气溶胶)的尺寸和密度可增加沉积速率。

涡轮叶片上还有另一类因温度梯度(热泳)导致的极小颗粒(0.01-0.1 微米)沉积——在低温应用中通常可以忽略不计。这在石油和天然气行业操作中非常典型。

由于气流中广泛分布的颗粒和液滴(0.1-10 微米),几乎所有上述机理都可以控制涡轮叶片的结垢。(2)

低熔点共晶体的形成是流体催化裂化装置中所使用的功率恢复热气膨胀机中的一种重要结垢机理。(3)

图 2:压缩机结垢及其对燃气涡轮机性能的影响(参考 3)


返回顶部

涡轮机功率降级

沉积的主要降级影响是流体堵塞叶片通路的喉部。(4)通过涡轮机喷嘴的气流减少会导致气体输出损失。图 2 说明了结垢对典型燃气涡轮机的效率和输出的影响。为尝试弥补输出损失,涡轮机会消耗额外的燃料,这样便增加了点火温度并导致不必要的热耗率上升(同样如图 2 所示)。

通常,会在功率损耗达到 10% 时,关闭涡轮机以进行清洗。这种停机可能频繁发生并需付出昂贵代价。图 3——基于一个主要运营商和两大涡轮机制造商的实地研究——给出了涡轮机结垢的一些重要信息。(5)燃气涡轮机是一种单轴机,功率输出约为 50 兆瓦,压力比约为 10:1,入口温度为 871°C (1600°F)。

图 3:对于 10:1 压力比涡轮机,因沉积导致的功率下降(参考 2)

该图(图 3)清楚地表明,输出损耗直接与入口气体的污染水平成比例。当气体污染达到 549 ppm 时,只需运行 20 小时即可使输出降至 90%。对于中等范围的污染 (58 ppm),250 小时后会发生 10% 的损失。要将输出保持在 90-100% 的范围内,就需要进行清洁。当气体进一步由颗粒过滤器进行清洁后 (19.5 ppm),则 540 小时之后才会发生 10% 的功率损失。

返回顶部

入口气体过滤

利用当前在滤除气体中固体颗粒和聚结气溶胶方面的技术进步,可以以非常经济的方式对过滤涡轮机入口气体进行过滤,以达到所含污染不超过 0.01 ppm 的水平(粒径界限 0.3 微米)。这样便绝对地消除了腐蚀。结垢应实质上已得到控制,可确保在运行未超过 20,000 小时(超过普通工厂的停机时间)的情况下将功率损耗限制在 10% 以内。这可以通过图 3 右上方线条进行推测。
对于腐蚀控制,颗粒过滤器和液气聚结器均为机械隔膜,不会将腐蚀性蒸汽和气体从燃料气体中分离出来。然而,大多数腐蚀性盐类可以被液态气溶胶溶解和携带。大部分气溶胶的尺寸在 0.1-0.6 微米之间,完全可通过细液体/气体聚结器清除。精细过滤可减少而不是消除腐蚀。

返回顶部

解决方案

使用清洁燃料的燃气涡轮机叶片的典型设计使用寿命超过 45,000 小时,并且大修间隔最少为 25,000 小时。(4)这可以通过一系列高效水力旋流器和颗粒床过滤器来实现,但前提是床过滤器不会向下游传递任何介质。在实践中,介质过滤器可帮助减少结垢,但下游沙粒释放可以增加因过滤器下游介质迁移造成的腐蚀。

颇尔提供单级液体/气体聚结器,以防止压缩机和涡轮机发生效率损失。This coalescer rated at 0.3µm (99.98% efficient by aerosols count method)(6) will consistently give an effluent of less than 0.01 ppm (liquids and solids).这便将涡轮机在 25,000 小时或更长操作时间内的功率损失限制在 10% 以内。结果,在制造商预估的时间(例如,25,000 小时)内,不会发生因腐蚀和结垢造成的叶片检修。

对用于 FCC 装置功率恢复列中的热气膨胀机,颇尔建议采用多孔不锈钢反吹过滤器。此绝对额定值为 1 微米的滤芯甚至可提供更精细的过滤(因存在滤饼构造)。清除效率超过 99.9%(按重量计)。

返回顶部

参考文献

  1. M. Menguturk,D. Gunes,M. Erten 和 E.F. Sverdrup,“多级涡轮机腐蚀,” ASME 论文 86-GT-238,发表于 1986 年 6 月 8-12 日在德国西部杜塞尔多夫举办的 ASME 国际燃气涡轮机会展上。
  2. R.A. Wenglarz,“PFBC 电厂涡轮机沉积物评估”, Trans.ASME,工程杂志,动力,第 103 卷,1981 年 7 月,第 552-560 页。
  3. D.H. Linden,“FCCU 动力回收系统中的可受控催化剂沉积物”,油气杂志,1986 年 12 月 15 日。
  4. M.K. Pulimood,“燃气轮机进气过滤的现场经验”, ASME 论文 81-GT-193,ASME 燃气轮机产品会展上提交,1981 年 3 月 9-12 日,得克萨斯州休斯敦。
  5. R.A. Wenglarz,“PFBC 电厂的加固型涡轮机”,1982 年 AIAA/ASME 流体、等离子、热物理和热传递联合会议,密苏里州圣路易斯市,1982 年 6 月 7-11 日。
  6. K. Williamson,S. Tousi 和 R. Hashemi,“气体/液体聚结器性能最新发展”,首届年度会议上提交,美国过滤协会,马里兰州大洋城,1988 年 3 月 21-25 日。

返回顶部

Inlet Gas Contamination Causes Degradation in Turbo Machinery Performance

Problem Area

Liquid and solid contamination in inlet gas can corrode, erode, and foul turbine and compressor blades, thereby reducing their efficiency and service life. The following are examples of the types of contamination found in turbine blades.

Typical Turbomachine Blades


Top

Corrosion

Corrosion is the loss of material caused by chemical reaction between machine components and
contaminants which can enter the gas turbine through the gas stream, fuel system or water/steam
injection system. Salts, mineral acids, elements such as sodium, vanadium, and gas, including
chlorine and sulphur oxides in combination with water, can cause corrosion, especially in the

Top

Erosion

Erosion is the abrasive removal of material by hard particles suspended in the gas stream. Particles causing erosion are normally 10 microns or larger in diameter. Particles with diameters between 5 and 10 microns fall in a transition zone between fouling and erosion.

Erosion of turbine and compressor blades has been well studied and documented.(1) It is generally agreed that erosion damage increases with increasing particle diameter and density, flow turning and gas velocity, and with decreasing blade size. Turbine and compressor manufacturers minimize erosion by increasing trailing edge thickness, installing field replaceable shields and using improved alloys. Nevertheless, they all recommend fine inlet filtration to prevent hard particles from entering the turbines.

Top

Fouling

Fouling is the adherence of particles and droplets to the surface of the turbomachine blading. This degrades flow capacity and reduces efficiency in a short period of time. Fouling can normally be reversed by cleaning, but it often requires downtime. Fouling is a serious problem, particularly in the oil and gas industry where sticky hydrocarbon aerosols are universally present. Traditionally, no accommodation has been made in designing turbines to tolerate deposition tendencies of particulate-laden gas streams. Although the deposition trajectories can be predicted for some turbine blades, the actual fouling is very much dependent on inlet gas cleanliness which varies unless it is controlled.

Top

Mechanism of Blade Fouling

The primary mechanisms of particle delivery in turbines are inertial impaction, turbulent eddy diffusion and Brownian motion.

Figure 1: Contaminant Deposition of Blades


Stator / Rotor

For inertial impaction, particle inertia cause its trajectory to deviate from flow streamlines in the area where flow changes direction. This causes particles to impact on blade surfaces (Figure 1). Mass flux (arrival date) due to this mechanism decreases with decreasing particle diameters and inertia becomes very small for particles smaller than 1 micron.

For turbulent eddy diffusion, particles become entrained in eddies of turbulent boundary layers and are swept toward the blade and vane surfaces. Small particles (0.1-1.0µm ) are slowed and trapped by the viscous drag forces of boundary layers.

In Brownian motion, very small particles (0.1µm and finer) are randomly transported to the turbine surfaces. Decreasing particle (aerosol) size and density increase the deposition rate due to Brownian motion.

There is another type of very small particles (0.01-0.1µm) deposition on the turbine blades caused by temperature gradient (Thermophoresis) which is usually negligible in low temperature applications. This is typical in oil and gas industry operations.

Because of the broad distribution of particles and droplets in gas streams, (0.1-10µm) almost all of the above mechanisms govern the fouling of turbine blades.(2)

The formation of low melting point eutectics is an important fouling mechanism in power recovery hot gas expanders used in fluid catalytic cracking units.(3)

Figure 2: Compressor Fouling And Its Effect On Gas Turbine Performance (Ref. 3)


Top

Turbine Power Degradation

The primary degradation effect of deposition is flow blockage at the throats of vane and blade passages.(4) This reduction in gas flow through the turbine nozzle results in a loss of gas turbine output. Figure 2 illustrates the effects of fouling on typical gas turbine efficiency and outputs. In attempting to compensate for the loss in output, turbines consume additional fuel which increase firing temperature and generate undesirable increases in heat rate, also shown in Figure 2.

It is customary to shutdown the turbine at the point of 10% power loss for cleaning. This downtime can be frequent and costly. Figure 3, which is based on field studies by a major operator and two major turbine manufacturers, gives some interesting information on turbine fouling.(5) The combustion turbine was a single shaft machine with about 50 MW power output, a pressure ratio of about 10:1 and inlet temperature of 871°C (1600°F).

Figure 3: Power Drop Due to Deposition for 10:1 Pressure Ratio Turbine (Ref. 2)

This graph (Figure 3) clearly shows that the output loss is directly proportional to inlet gas contamination level. It would only take 20 operating hours to drop the output to 90% with 549 ppm contamination in gas. For middle range contamination (58 ppm), a 10% loss occurred after 250 hours. The clean up was necessary to maintain the output within the 90-100% range. When the gas was further cleaned up by a granular filter (19.5 ppm), the 10% power loss was delayed to 540 hours.

Top

Inlet Gas Filtration

With the current advances in filtering solid particles and coalescing aerosols from gases, the turbine inlet gas can economically be filtered to contain no more than 0.01 ppm with a particle size cut-off at 0.3µm. That absolutely eliminates erosion. Fouling should virtually be controlled to limit 10% power loss in no less than 20,000 operating hours which is beyond normal plant shutdown. That can be extrapolated from the upper-right line on Figure 3.
Regarding corrosion control, particle filters and liquid gas coalescers are mechanical septa and do not separate corrosive vapor and gases from fuel gas. However, most of corrosive salts are dissolved and carried by liquid aerosols. Most aerosols are between 0.1 - 0.6µm and are quite removable by fine liquid/gas coalescers. That should reduce, not eliminate, corrosion as a bonus of fine filtration.

Top

Solution

A typical blade design lifetime for gas turbines operating with clean fuels is greater than 45,000 hours and a minimum of 25,000 hours between major overhauls.(4) That can be achieved by a series of efficient hydrocyclones and granular bed filters, provided that bed filters do not pass any media downstream. In practice, the media filters may help reduce fouling, but sand particle releasing downstream can increase erosion due to media migration downstream of filters.

Pall offers a single stage liquid/gas coalescer to protect compressors and turbines from loss in efficiency. This coalescer rated at 0.3µm (99.98% efficient by aerosols count method)(6) will consistently give an effluent of less than 0.01 ppm (liquids and solids). That limits the turbine power loss to less than 10% in 25,000 hours or longer operating time. As a result, the overhaul of blades due to erosion and fouling will not happen during the manufacturers' predicted list (e.g. 25,000 hours).

For hot gas expanders as used in FCC unit power recovery trains, Pall recommends a porous stainless steel blowback filter. The filter elements rated at 1µm absolute provide even finer filtration due to the presence of cake formation. Removal efficiencies are in excess of 99.9% by weight.

Top

References

  1. M. Menguturk, D. Gunes, M. Erten, and E.F. Sverdrup, “Multistage Turbine Erosion,” ASME Paper 86-GT-238, presented at the ASME International Gas Turbine Conference and Exhibit, Dusseldorf, West Germany, June 8-12, 1986.
  2. R.A. Wenglarz, “An Assessment of Deposition in PFBC Power Plant Turbines,” Trans. ASME, J. of Eng., Power, Vol. 103, July 1981, pp 552-560.
  3. D.H. Linden, “Catalyst Deposits in FCCU Power Recovery Systems Can Be Controlled,” Oil and Gas Journal, December 15, 1986.
  4. M.K. Pulimood, “Field Experience with Gas Turbine Inlet Air Filtration,” ASME Paper 81-GT-193, presented at ASME Gas Turbine Conference Products Show, March 9-12, 1981 Houston, Texas.
  5. R.A. Wenglarz, “Rugged Turbines for PFBC Power Plants,” presented at 1982 AIAA/ASME Joint Fluids, Plasma, Thermophysics and Heat Transfer Conference, St. Louis, Missouri, June 7-11, 1982.
  6. K. Williamson, S. Tousi, and R. Hashemi, “Recent Development in Performance of Gas/Liquid Coalescers,” presented at The First Annual Meeting, American Filtration Society, Ocean City, Maryland, March 21-25, 1988.

Top