通过了解过滤的作用加强食品安全管理

由颇尔公司 Kathleen S. Berry* 提供
下载 PDF 版本
运用HACCP1 原理管理工艺食品安全,通过采用积极计划分析、识别、控制、监测、纠正、核对并记录工艺中的关键控制点进行实现。如果系统中的关键控制点无法按要求运行,将对食品安全造成不利影响。即使在没有正规的 HACCP 程序的情况下,安全食品的生产也有赖于精心挑选和维护的设备的正常运转以满足工艺要求。

 

过滤是在不同生产阶段中为食品产品提供关键保护的工艺步骤。一些过滤仅用于清除对产品的感官特性造成影响的粗颗粒或细颗粒,而其他过滤步骤则可影响产品的物理、化学和微生物安全性。

返回顶部

 












物理污染物清除

物理安全是指不存在可能引起消费者损伤的颗粒。常见的例子包括损坏的紫外线灯具或玻璃包装掉落的玻璃碎片,或含移动零件的泵或设备掉落的金属碎片。这些污染物可能导致产品召回而造成极大损失。虽然可以采取积极措施发现并限制这种情况的发生并同时利用检测设备作为质量保证计划的一部分以找出此类污染物,但作为最后屏障的最后精纯过滤步骤可提供额外的安全保障。预防物理污染物的另一个领域涉及到厨用蒸汽过滤。许多食品加工过程采用直接蒸汽注入进行快速加热和烹饪、对设备产品接触表面进行消毒或灭菌、蒸汽去皮以及为 CIP 系统供应热水等。这一领域也需要清除颗粒,如蒸汽管道的铁锈和碎屑,可通过过滤来实现2

返回顶部

化学污染物清除

化学安全性指的是食品产品不含有有害化学污染物(如清洁剂)或因疏忽造成产品中残留的其他超标食品厂添加剂。

在这些不良结果可能因化学处理设备发生故障而导致(这些设备的运行需要测试用高品质空气或或“无颗粒”水)的情况下,适当的公用水过滤对预防这些不良结果起着间接但十分重要的作用。

另一个确保免受不良化学成分危害的日益重要的安全方面涉及有关工厂设备的食品接触合规性的验证,其中包括过滤装置。现有和快速涌现的全球法规可确保过滤装置的有害析出物不会污染食品或对消费者的健康造成不良影响。遵守这些法规并持续记录合规性是过滤供应商所起的关键作用。

返回顶部

微生物质量

微生物质量是目前为止过滤所保障的最常见的食品安全方面。通过采用正确选择的过滤装置可减少生物负载或实现产品的商业无菌。例如无菌工艺正是依靠除菌空气过滤器、无菌缓冲罐和填充剂维持流程和包装步骤中的无菌状态。此外,原料通常在无菌条件下添加到无菌环境中,在热敏性成分会因加热处理而遭到破坏的情况下则要选择除菌液体过滤器用以清除微生物。在不同类型的瓶装水应用中(不采用热处理),装瓶步骤之前采用除菌过滤并结合控制良好的相应下游操作可保证瓶装饮料的微生物安全性。就某些干燥粉末状产品而言,对在制造过程中与这些粉末接触的空气进行适当的过滤可以减少或清除有害微生物,这些微生物随后可能以重组形式大量滋生。

返回顶部

保障水质量

水通常是食品产品中病原体的主要来源。随着水资源的日益匮乏以及水资源再利用和再循环需求的不断增长,食品厂必须特别重视他们的工厂用水质量,视其来源和此前用途而定。

在生产设备用水与食品材料直接接触或可能因设备发生故障而导致污染的情况下,其处理工艺值得深思熟虑。工艺水(视其具体用途而定)应被充分过滤以清除任何可能污染终端产品的微生物或寄生物。涉及特殊安全挑战的一个例子就是原料或粗加工新鲜农产品的生产,其中收获后的洗涤或冷却用水必须严格监测以确保质量和避免交叉污染。过滤可确保微生物水平得到控制。

返回顶部

了解过滤性能

过滤领域没有针对清除等级和清除性能制定统一标准,这往往导致过滤器的不当选择。过滤器截留等级通常划分为“标称”,“绝对”或除微生物级(甚至为除病毒级)。标称和绝对截留等级指的是只清除颗粒,不可用于描述关键微生物清除要求。过滤器制造商通过测试规定颗粒清除效率,这些测试记录了细/粗测试粉尘或乳胶珠等标准化颗粒的清除程度,而这些硬质球形颗粒通常与微生物形态没有多大关系。无论是标称还是绝对,颗粒过滤器按上游和下游颗粒计数的比率规定清除效率,通常表示为给定粒径的测试比率。即使是用于生成此数据的方法,如所采用的单通或多通挑战测试、颗粒类型以及挑战材料的数量也必须严格监控以了解颗粒级过滤器的真正性能。

过滤设备的食品接触合规性标称过滤器只能清除部分污染物,不可应用于满足非常重要的清除要求,最多可作为下游最终过滤器的良好预过滤器。即使在标称过滤器的范围内,清除等级也可以从最高的 99% 的清除效率(Beta 100 比率)向下划分。例如,有些标称的过滤器只能清除 60% 的清除效率范围,意味着清除所有给定微米级颗粒的 60%。此外,标称额定过滤器有时由纤维、非固定孔隙结构介质构成,这些材料往往在压力上升或波动时卸载污染物。绝对过滤器通常被理解为可清除 99.9% 或以上的颗粒,虽然“绝对”一词的使用通常不太严格。更准确来说应该指的是清除效率和具体测试清除比率。99.9% 的清除效率意味着每 1000 个颗粒到达过滤器时,只有一个颗粒可以通过(Beta 1000 比率)。应用于关键应用的高端绝对过滤器可清除 99.98% 的给定微米级颗粒,意味着每 5000 个颗粒到达过滤器时,只有一个颗粒可以通过(Beta 5000 比率)。表 1 说明了这些概念。

表 1 - 颗粒清除性能

 
测试比率1 流入颗粒计数 截留颗粒 流出颗粒计数 清除效率2
Beta 10 5000 4500 500 90%
Beta 20 5000 4750 250 95%
Beta 100 5000 4950 50 99%
Beta 1000 5000 4995 5 99.9%
Beta 5000 5000 4999 1 99.98%
 

 

   

 

1 测试比率 = 流入颗粒计数/流出颗粒计数
2 清除效率 =(流入颗粒计数 – 流出颗粒计数)x 100 / 流入颗粒计数

相比之下,微生物学验证过滤器甚至比绝对级颗粒过滤器具有更高的清除等级。此类过滤器的清除效率被表示为模型微生物的滴度降,根据其近似大小选定以表示过滤器的性能。经验证的微生物过滤器应由展示测试特性的性能数据提供支持:挑战过滤器的微生物数量(挑战级别对性能产生影响!)、微生物的种类和大小、验证无菌空气过滤器时的测试环境的湿度和空气流速等等。此外,一些过滤器制造商提供特定微生物类型和过滤器对特定液体的清除性能的相关数据。只有对所做测试的特性进行仔细分析,才能评估过滤器的真正性能。在这方面,从过滤器制造商那里申请验证指南将阐明更多信息,否则仅靠简单的数据表无法清晰说明。

减菌过滤器可降低微生物水平。例如,0.45 微米级膜过滤器挑战沙雷氏菌(0.45 微米级膜过滤器常用的模型微生物)时可能标明可减少 106 个单位的微生物。要特别注意所标明的清除程度、挑战水平及所用测试微生物类型。显然,最终的滤出质量将很大程度取决于流入微生物量和具体应用。

例如,当减菌过滤器的有效清除性能可确保下游加热设备能实现理想的整体杀灭微生物效果时,其对食品安全提供了间接贡献。在超高温灭菌奶的加工过程中使用切向流膜过滤器可减少无菌处理设备上游的细菌孢子。

通过降低超高温灭菌设备的微生物负载不仅可最大程度地减少因加热导致的质量下降,还可实现总滴度降目标。

FDA 无菌工艺生产无菌药品指南 (2004)3 虽然只是提供药品参考资料和无约束力建议,也可应用于关键食品工业应用。该指南描述了用于除菌压缩气体的疏水性、可完整性检测的膜过滤器的使用。此外,该指南还描述了拥有 0.2 微米或更小额定孔径的一般除菌级过滤器。这些过滤器应被验证具有对工艺物料流中的活性微生物的可再生清除性能,可在最差生产条件(液体在每平方厘米有效过滤面积中挑战 107 个特定测试生物体)下获得无菌流出液。此用途最常用的模型微生物是缺陷假单胞菌 ATCC 19146,这种胞菌体积极小,平均粒径仅为 0.3 微米。以典型的 10 英寸滤芯的过滤面积计算,这相当于大于 1010 的滴度降低值或大于 10 的滴度降 (LRV)。保守的验证方法在满足此要求之外还提供了安全系数。

对比颗粒清除和微生物清除性能,“绝对级” Beta 5000 颗粒清除过滤器具有 99.98% 的挑战过滤器颗粒清除效率,而除菌级液体过滤器则具有 99.99999999% 的挑战过滤器微生物清除效率!表 2 和表 3 将过滤器微生物性能与下游污染物的关系进行对比。

表 2 - 微生物清除性能

 
滴度降1 (TR) Log滴度降 (LRV) 挑战水平2 (CFU/cm2) 过滤面积 (cm2) 流入微生物量 (CFU) 流出微生物量 (CFU) 清除效率4
106  6 125/cm2 8000 106  1 99.9999 %
106  6 1.25 x 105/cm2 8000 109  103  99.9999 %
106  6 1.25 x 107/cm2 8000 1011  105  99.9999 %
>1011 大于10000 1.25 x 107/cm2 8000 1011  0(除菌)3 >99.999999999 %
 
1 滴度降 = 流入微生物量 / 流出微生物量
2 菌落形成单位 (CFU) / 厘米2
3 在流出液含有 0 个微生物的情况下(无菌流出液),用 1 作为下游负载值来计算滴度降值和产生的清除效率,因为用 0 无法进行除法运算。
4 清除效率 =(流入微生物量 – 流出微生物量)x 100 / 流入微生物量


表 3 - 污染物 LRV 性能和比率

 
Log滴度降 (LRV) 流入微生物量
(CFU/Liter)
流出微生物量
(CFU/Liter)
污染物比率
6 100000 0.1 1 CFU/10 Liters
11 100000 0.000001 1 CFU/ 1000000 Liters
 

FDA 指南 (2004) 中也描述了应用于关键设备(如包含无菌材料的存储罐)空气过滤的膜过滤器以及作为无菌边界层或供应无菌气体的过滤器的使用。HEPA4 过滤器通常被推荐应用于无菌处理室的过滤,可清除空气中至少 99.97% 的孔径超过 0.3 微米的颗粒。

PDA 技术报告 40 气体除菌过滤5中将关键应用描述为“工艺流体与无菌最终产品或相关设备关键表面直接接触”。

用于此类关键应用的除菌气体过滤器的清除性能不应只体现在干燥气体,也应体现在潮湿气体方面。液体细菌挑战测试为这些过滤器展现了最坏情况。根据过滤机制的运行方式,气体流中气体分子的布朗运动(图 1)导致过滤介质中的夹带颗粒及其捕获物互相撞击(图 2、3),比起液体流通过过滤器时显得更加容易(图 4)。这称为扩散拦截。气体过滤通常都比液体过滤更容易实现,因此气体中给定的过滤清除等级往往比液体中同一过滤器的性能要求更为严格。例如,0.2 微米的微生物学验证除菌级过滤器可清除液体中此尺寸范围的细菌,但在液体则可清除病毒(纳米尺寸范围)等体积更小的颗粒。在相关例子中,3 微米的颗粒级液体过滤器可作为应用于干燥气体的更严格过滤器,一般可清除 1/5 至 1/10 近似范围内的颗粒尺寸。

除菌空气过滤器由于管道湿气凝结、波动压力或上游气流干燥设备发生故障而润湿的情况下,将降至在液体中的清除等级(图 4)。除非这些过滤器经验证可充分清除液体中的细菌,否则无法确保关键空气应用得到有效保护。使用疏水性过滤器可预防润湿及空气流堵塞,然而,由于过滤器疏水程度不同(取决于过滤介质的特定类型和处理),我们不能确保所有疏水性过滤器性能一致,更加无法确保他们在长期多次蒸汽循环中一直保持疏水性。

疏水性以 CWST(临界润湿表面张力)表示,由跌落试验以及根据固体表面的已知表面张力对液体的接触角进行测量而确定。过滤介质的 CWST 以达因/厘米为单位进行测定,较低的值指示疏水性增加,取决于介质的结构材料和表面粗糙度。

返回顶部

 

图 1 - 气体分子处于随机运动——或布朗运动——状态。

图 2 - 气体中的小颗粒或悬浮微粒在运动中的气体分子的撞击下产生移动。

图 3 - 由于布朗运动,扩散拦截是干燥气体中的关键过滤机制。体积较过滤器孔径小数倍的颗粒被拦截。

图 4 - 扩散拦截无法在潮湿条件下起作用。

过滤器完整性监测

最后,对过滤器完整性的正确监测是保证过滤器持续发挥应有功能的重要因素。过滤器完整性检测设备可测量并记录过滤器的完整性是否遭到破坏。这类完整性检测仅适用于亚微米级微生物过滤器。

颗粒过滤器性能可由压差设备监测。颗粒清除过滤器的压差应随着污染物负载的增加出现持续且可预见的上升。压差的突然下降或无压力升高可能显示过滤器正在卸载污染物或已损坏。

在制药产业中,微生物过滤器的完整性检测通常在使用前和使用后进行。食品加工厂通常不在过滤前后进行例行完整性检测,但应考虑这种做法的价值。使用前检测可记录运输或安装过程中可能发生的任何损坏。过滤器安装于滤壳中后,也可通过在线监测记录任何可能的分流状况或系统泄漏。使用前监测可提供批次完整性记录。一种特殊情况是在汽蒸后、生产前进行过滤器完整性监测。由于汽蒸是过滤器可能承受的唯一最具损坏性可能的压力条件,因此进行汽蒸后完整性检测有其意义。

完整性检测设备(图 5)针对液体或气体滤膜过滤器而设计。深层过滤器不可进行完整性检测。有许多类型的完整性检测,其中用于液体滤膜过滤器的测试操作最简单,用于气体过滤器的测试需进行更专业的步骤。完整性检测的价值与过滤器的微生物清除性能相关。

返回顶部

结论

总之,过滤是生产工艺中的重要步骤,并会影响到食品安全。用户应对过滤机制及过滤术语的复杂性有所认识,谨慎升级使用的各种过滤产品,并依赖过滤器生产商的专业经验帮助自己进行正确的选择。

 

* K.S. Berry,全球营销经理,颇尔食品与饮料

 

返回顶部

参考资料及脚注

 

1 危害分析与关键控制点
2 3-A 产生烹调蒸汽的惯例方法,编号 609-03
3 业界指南:通过无菌工艺生产的药品除菌过滤产品——目前的优良生产实践,九月2004
4 高效颗粒空气
5 PDA 技术报告 40 (TR 40),气体除菌过滤

 

返回顶部

Enhancing Food Safety Management by Understanding the Role of Filtration

by Kathleen S. Berry*, Pall Corporation
Download PDF version
Food Safety in a process managed under HACCP1principles is achieved by applying a proactive program to analyze, identify, control, monitor, correct, verify and document critical control points in the process. If a critical control point in the system fails to perform as required, this can result in adverse effects that can impact food safety. Even in the absence of formal HACCP procedures, the production of a safe food product is contingent upon the proper functioning of carefully selected and maintained equipment to satisfy process requirements. 

 

Filtration is a process step that can provide critical protection of food products during various manufacturing stages. While some filtration is geared solely to removing coarse or fine particles that only impact the sensory attributes of a product, other filtration steps influence physical, chemical and microbiological safety.

Top

 












Physical Contaminant Removal

Physical safety refers to the absence of particles that could cause injury to the consumer. Examples are glass shards from damaged UV lights or glass packaging, or plastic and metal fragments from pumps or equipment with moving parts. These contaminants can be the cause of costly product recalls. Although proactive measures can identify and limit such occurrences, and while detection equipment can be implemented to find such contaminants as part of a quality assurance program, a final polishing filtration step as a last barrier can serve as an additional safety measure. Another area of protection from physical contaminants involves culinary steam filtration. Many food processes utilize direct steam injection for flash heating and cooking, sanitizing or sterilizing product contact surfaces on equipment, steam peeling, hot water creation for CIP systems, etc. There are requirements for removing particles, such as rust and debris from steam lines, which are achieved by filtration2.

Top

Chemical Contaminant Removal

Chemical safety describes a situation wherein food products are free of unwanted chemical contaminants, such as cleaning agents, or uncontrolled amounts of other food plant chemicals inadvertently ending up in the product.

Where such upsets may be caused by malfunctioning chemical handling devices, which require instrument quality air or "particle-free" water for their operation, proper utilities filtration plays an indirect but important role in safeguarding against such upsets.

Another very important and growing aspect of ensuring safety from undesirable chemical components relates to the verification of food contact compliance concerning plant equipment, which includes filtration devices. Existing and rapidly emerging global regulations ensure that unwanted extractables from filtration devices cannot contaminate foods and adversely affect consumer health. Meeting these regulations and documenting compliance on an ongoing basis is a key aspect of a filtration supplier's role.

Top

Microbiological Quality

Microbiological quality is by far the most common food safety aspect safeguarded by filtration. By applying properly selected filtration devices, bioburden reduction or commercial sterility of a product is achieved. Aseptic processes, for example, rely on sterile air filters on aseptic surge tanks and fillers to maintain sterility within the process and during the packaging step. Additionally, where ingredients are aseptically dosed into a sterile environment, sterile liquid filters are selected to provide microbiological removal where heating would otherwise destroy heat sensitive ingredients. In various types of bottled water applications, where no heat treatment is involved, sterilizing filtration prior to the bottling step, used in conjunction with corresponding well-controlled downstream operations, assures the microbiological safety of the bottled beverage. In certain dry powdered products, proper filtration of the air that comes into contact with these powders during manufacturing can reduce or eliminate unwanted microbes, which could later thrive in reconstituted form.

Top

Securing Water Quality

Water is often an important source of pathogens found in food products. With the increasing scarcity of water supplies and the growing need to reuse and recycle water, food plants must pay special attention to their plant water quality, depending on its source and its previous history of use.

Where production plant water comes into direct contact with food materials or could cause contamination due to equipment malfunctioning, careful consideration must be given to its treatment. Process water, depending on its particular use, should be adequately filtered to remove any microorganisms or parasites that could contaminate the end product. An example involving special safety challenges is in the production of raw or minimally processed fresh produce, where water used in post-harvest practices such as washing or cooling must be carefully monitored for quality and the avoidance of cross-contamination. Filtration can ensure microbial levels are controlled.

Top

Understanding Filtration Performance

The absence of standards regarding removal ratings and removal performance in the filtration world often causes the improper selection of filters. Filter retention ratings are often stated to be "nominal", "absolute", or microbial (even viral). Nominal and absolute retention ratings refer to the removal solely of particles and should not be used to describe critical microbiological removal requirements. Particle removal efficiencies stated by filter manufacturers are based on tests, which document the degree of removal of standardized particles such as fine or coarse test dust or latex beads, usually hard spherical particles which have little to do with the morphology of microorganisms. Whether nominal or absolute, particle filters state removal efficiencies as the relationship between an upstream and a downstream particle count, expressed as a Beta ratio at a given particle size. Even the methods used to generate this data, such as the use of single pass or multiple pass challenge tests, type of particles, and the amount of challenge material must be looked at carefully in order to understand the true performance of a particle-rated filter.

Food contact compliance of filtration equipmentNominal filters provide only partial removal of contaminants and should never be used when critically important removal requirements exist. They can at best, be good prefilters for downstream final filters. Even within the nominal filter realm, removal ratings can range anywhere from 99 % removal efficiency (Beta 100 ratio) on downwards. Very nominal filters might, for example, only remove in the 60 % removal efficiency range, meaning 60 % of all particles at a given micron size. Additionally, nominally rated filters sometimes consist of fibrous, non-fixed pore structure media, which tend to unload contaminants under rising or fluctuating pressures. Absolute filters are often understood to remove 99.9% or greater of particles, although the term "absolute" is often used loosely. It is more precise to refer to removal efficiencies and specific Beta removal ratios. A 99.9% removal efficiency means, that for every 1000 particles which hit the filter, only 1 particle passes through (Beta 1000 ratio). High-end absolute filters for critical applications remove 99.98% of particles at a given micron rating, which means that for every 5000 particles which hit the filter, only 1 particle passes through (Beta 5000 ratio). Table 1 illustrates these concepts.

Table 1 - Particle Removal Performance

 
Beta Ratio1 Influent Particle Count Particles Retained Effluent Particle Count Removal Efficiency2
Beta 10 5000 4500 500 90%
Beta 20 5000 4750 250 95%
Beta 100 5000 4950 50 99%
Beta 1000 5000 4995 5 99.9%
Beta 5000 5000 4999 1 99.98%
 

 

   

 

1 Beta Ratio = influent particle count/ effluent particle count
2 Removal Efficiency = (influent particle count – effluent particle count) x 100 / influent particle count

By contrast, microbiologically validated filters exhibit much higher removal ratings even than absolute rated particle filters. The removal efficiency of such filters is expressed as a titer reduction of model microbes, selected by virtue of their approximate size to express the performance of the filter. A validated microbial filter should be backed up by performance data showing the nature of the testing: the amount of microbes challenged to the filter (challenge level has an impact on performance!), the type of microorganisms, their size, the humidity and air flow rate of the test environment when validating sterile air filters, and so on. In addition, some filter manufacturers provide data on specific microorganism types and the filters' removal performance in specific liquids. It is only when carefully analyzing the nature of the testing done, that one can evaluate the true performance capability of the filter. In this respect, requesting a validation guide from a filter manufacturer will illuminate much information that would otherwise not be apparent from a simple data sheet.

Bioburden reduction filters provide a reduction in microbial levels. For example, a 0.45 micron rated membrane filter may claim a reduction of 106 when challenged with Serratia marcescens (a commonly used model organism for 0.45 micron rated membrane filters). It is important to pay special attention to the stated degree of removal, the challenge level, and the type of test microorganisms used. Obviously the resulting filtrate quality will be highly dependent on the incoming microbial load and on the application.

One example of a situation, in which bioburden reduction filters contribute indirectly to food safety is when their effective removal performance ensures that downstream heating equipment achieves the overall desired microbial kill effect. In the use of crossflow membrane filters in UHT milk processing, bacterial spore reduction upstream of the aseptic processing equipment is achieved.

By delivering lowered microbial loads to the UHT equipment, not only is quality degradation due to heating minimized but the target overall logarithmic reduction values are accomplished.

The 2004 FDA Guidance Document for Industry on Sterile Drug Products produced by Aseptic Processing3, while referencing drug products and offering nonbinding recommendations, can be applied to critical food industry applications. It describes the use of hydrophobic, integrity testable membrane filters for sterile compressed gas. Further, it describes sterilizing grade filters in general, to have a rated pore size of 0.2 micron or smaller. They should be validated for reproducible removal of viable microorganisms from a process stream, resulting in sterile effluent under worst-case production conditions when liquid challenged with 107 specific test organisms per cm2 of effective filtration area. The common model microorganism used for this purpose is Brevundimonas diminuta ATCC 19146, with mean diameter of 0.3 micron, due to its small size. Based on the filtration area of a typical 10 inch filter cartridge, this equates to a titer reduction of >1010 or a logarithmic reduction value (LRV) of >10. Conservative validation methodology provides a margin of safety beyond this requirement.

To contrast particle removal from microbial removal performance, while an "absolute-rated" Beta 5000 particle removal filter exhibits a removal efficiency of 99.98% of particles challenging a filter, a sterilizing grade liquid filter exhibits a removal efficiency of >99.99999999% of microorganisms challenged to the filter! Tables 2 and 3 compare filter microbial performance and its relation to downstream contamination.

Table 2 - Microbial Removal Performance

 
Titer Reduction1 (TR) Log Reduction Value (LRV) Challenge Level2 (CFU/cm2) Filter Area (cm2) Influent Microbial Load (CFU) Effluent Microbial Load (CFU) Removal Efficiency4
106 6 125/cm2 8000 106 1 99.9999 %
106 6 1.25 x 105/cm2 8000 109 103 99.9999 %
106 6 1.25 x 107/cm2 8000 1011 105 99.9999 %
>1011 >11 1.25 x 107/cm2 8000 1011 0 (sterile)3 >99.999999999 %
 
1 Titer Reduction = influent microbial load / effluent microbial load
2 Colony Forming Units (CFU) / cm2
3 In cases where the effluent contains 0 microorganisms (sterile effluent), a downstream load of 1 is used to calculate the titer reduction and resulting removal efficiency, as otherwise no division through 0 is possible
4 Removal Efficiency = (influent microbial load – effluent microbial load) x 100 / influent microbial load


Table 3 - LRV Performance and Rate of Contamination

 
Log Reduction Value (LRV) Influent Microbial Load
(CFU/Liter)
Effluent Microbial Load
(CFU/Liter)
Rate of Contamination
6 100000 0.1 1 CFU/10 Liters
11 100000 0.000001 1 CFU/ 1000000 Liters
 

The 2004 FDA Guidance Document also describes the use of membrane filters for air filtration on critical equipment such as tanks containing sterilized materials, and filters acting as sterile boundaries or supplying sterile gases. HEPA4 filters are typically referenced mainly for aseptic processing room filtration, and exhibit at least a 99.97% removal of particles in gas greater than 0.3 micron in diameter.

Critical applications are described in PDA Technical Report 40 for Sterilizing Filtration of Gases5 as those applications in which "process fluids are in direct contact with sterile final product or critical surfaces of the associated equipment".

For sterilizing gas filters on such critical applications, the removal performance should be exhibited not only in dry, but also in moist gas. Liquid bacterial challenge testing represents a worst case condition for these filters. Due to the way filtration mechanisms work, Brownian movement of gas molecules in gas streams (Figure 1) causes impingement of entrained particles on the filter media and their capture (Figures 2, 3), much more easily than when liquid streams pass through a filter (Figure 4). This is called diffusional interception. Filtration of gases is always easier to achieve than filtration of liquids, so that a given filtration removal rating in a gas is always tighter than the same filter's performance in a liquid. As an example, a 0.2 micron microbially validated sterilizing grade filter removes bacteria in this size range in liquids but removes much smaller particles such as viruses (in the nanometer size range) in gas. In a related example, a 3 micron particle-rated liquid filter would perform as a much tighter filter on dry gas, generally removing particles in the approximate range of 1/5 to 1/10 of the particle size.

Sterile air filters that wet out due to moisture condensation in pipelines, fluctuating pressures, or malfunctioning of upstream air drying equipment, revert to their removal rating in liquids (Figure 4). Unless these filters are validated for sufficient bacteria removal in liquids, it is questionable whether sufficient protection is afforded in a critical air application. Use of hydrophobic filters prevents wetting out and the resulting blockage of air flow, however, as filters vary in their degree of hydrophobicity, depending on the specific type and treatment of the filter media, one cannot assume that all hydrophobic filters are equal, and further, that they will remain constantly hydrophobic even with multiple steaming cycles over time.

Hydrophobicity is expressed in terms of CWST (critical wetting surface tension), which is determined by a drop test and the measurement of the contact angle of a liquid with known surface tension on a solid surface. Measured in dynes/cm, with lower values indicating increased hydrophobicity, CWST of filter media is dependent on materials of construction and surface roughness of the media.

Top

 

Figure 1 - Gas molecules are in a state of random motion, or Brownian movement.

Figure 2 - Small particles or aerosol droplets in the gas are struck by the moving gas molecules and displaced.

Figure 3 - Due to Brownian motion, diffusional interception is the key filtration mechanism occurring in dry gas. Particles many times smaller than the filter pore size are intercepted.

Figure 4 - Diffusional interception does not work under moist conditions.

Filter Integrity Monitoring

Finally, the proper monitoring of filter integrity is an important assurance that a filter is continuing to do what it is expected to do. Filter integrity test devices measure and document whether an integrity breach to the filter has occurred. Such integrity tests only make sense in sub-micron microbial filters.

Particle filter performance is monitored by virtue of differential pressure devices. Differential pressure should constantly and predictably rise across a particle removal filter, as it loads with contaminants. A sudden drop, or no pressure rise at all, would either indicate the filter is unloading contaminants or has actually been damaged.

In the pharmaceutical industry, microbial filters are often monitored for integrity both pre- and post-use. Food manufacturing plants often do not routinely integrity test before and after filtration but should consider the value of doing so. Pre-use monitoring documents any damage that may have occurred during shipment or installation. In situ monitoring can also document any potential bypass situations or system leaks once the filter is installed in its housing. Post-use monitoring provides a record of batch integrity. A special case is to monitor filter integrity after steaming a filter but before production. As steaming is the single most potentially damaging stress situation that a filter can undergo, a post-steaming integrity test makes good sense.

Integrity test devices (Figure 5) are designed for use either on liquid or gas membrane filters. Depth filters cannot be integrity tested. There are many types of integrity tests, with those used on liquid membrane filters requiring the simplest handling, and those used on gas filters requiring more specialized procedures. Integrity test values are linked to microbial removal performance.

Top

Conclusion

In summary, filtration is a key step in the manufacturing process, which impacts food safety. Users should be aware of the intricacies of filtration mechanisms and filtration terminology, critically evaluate the various filtration products they use and rely on the proven expertise of filtration manufacturers to assist with their proper selection.

 

* K.S. Berry, Global Marketing Manager, Pall Food and Beverage

 

Top

References and Footnotes

 

1 Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points
2 3-A Accepted Practices for a Method of Producing Culinary Steam, Number 609-03
3 Guidance for Industry: Sterile Drug Products Produced by Aseptic Processing—Current Good Manufacturing Practice, Sept. 2004
4 High Efficiency Particulate Air
5 PDA Technical Report 40 (TR 40), Sterilizing Filtration of Gases

 

Top